We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return of Fawlty Towers” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Old Inn to your Saves list
The Old Inn
Mullion | Churchtown, Mullion TR12 7HN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Mullion B&B and Inns
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Return of Fawlty Towers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Having seen a photo of The Old Inn (judging a book by it's cover) we promtly booked a stay of 5 nights.
On the first evening we had a meal with 2 friends. We waited almost an hour before our meals arrived which had been speeded up after a quiet word with the manageress. Whilst waiting a drinks tray was put on the table by a surly waitress with the comment of 'I'll let you sort the drinks out' - 2 pints, 2 glasses of wine. 2 men, 2 women - not difficult to work out!

After more apologies we felt that a second chance was only fair.

Day 2. Returned to our room after a day out to find our room door wide open. The room had been servived. Manageress 'not available'.
Our evening meal was eagerly awaited, only to be dissapointed by the fact that the portions were half the size of the previous evening. When pointing this out to the waiter it was suggested we ordered desserts to make up for it. When asking whether we would be charged we received no answer. Naturally we were. During the course of the evening it was noticed that several customers were having to pursue staff to request service. Some tables were attended to by several staff whilst others none. Miss 'Surly' would only take drinks orders but deliver desserts with the comment of 'Let me guess which is which' - wrong. 'Oh usually only women eat this' - Thanks! No more evening meals.
Breakfasts were very ordinary to the extent by morning 3 we just ordered toast - can't get that wrong.
2 minutes later came the sound of toast being scraped! This was duly delivered to our table in a rack. One side burnt, the other side still white and soft with neat finger indentations on it where it had been held whilst being scraped!
Throughout our stay the manageress was 'unavailable' apart from the first evening. None of the staff seemed interested in the customers and rarely acknowledged our existance.
For many years I had thought Fawlty Towers had been based on a hotal in Torquay. How wrong I was

Room Tip: Take a tent with you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    38
    1
    1
    7
See reviews for
16
35
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed 2 nights over May Bank Holiday weekend. Good sized clean double room. Towels, soaps and shampoo supplied. Staff friendly and helpful. Full English breakfast was a great start to the day. Evening meals were also of a good standard with plenty to choose from. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed inMullion the week followingEaster and had diner here on Easter sunday and the following friday. The food is delicous and the staff friendly and welcoming. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012 via mobile

The welcome and service here is warm and friendly, and the beer's spot on. Think we caught them after a very busy weekend and the cooking was OK but there's better to be had elsewhere locally - up the road in Porthleven - for the same money. Our starters and puds were good but our main of fish was only OK - pretty overcooked with the strange addition of a lump of cold smoked salmon on top containing I think some kind of home made tartare sauce didn't work and served to make the rest tepid. A bit more care and attention in the kitchen could have make it a must revisit pub. Right now I'm thinking yes I'd go back but I'd stick to the steak and ale pie.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

only stopped for a drink but the service was very friendly and in a nice little part of cornwall with access to some nice coves near by, mullion, kynance, cadgwith. Hear the food is supposed to be very good so would want to try the food if in the area.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We recently celebrated our sons birthday and decided to give The Old Inn a try having not been there for about five years. Well, what a transformation....the previously ho-hum fare was replaced with an exciting and well varied menu with a set menu option for the cost concious.
Everything we had was delicious and beautifully prepared and the service was impeccable.....the welcome was warm, the real ale perfectly kept, and everyone was cheerful and helpful at all times. Well done!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syston United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed for two nights in Mullion for a family get together. We were made very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. All the staff were so helpful and smiled all the time. Their honesty was wonderful. We accidentally left some money in the room and this was returned immediately.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Inn

Address: Mullion | Churchtown, Mullion TR12 7HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mullion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mullion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Inn Mullion, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.