We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Cottage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halftides

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mullion
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Halftides
Save
You added Halftides to your Saves list
Laflouder Lane, Mullion TR12 7HU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Mullion B&B and Inns
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Magical Cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

This is such a beautiful cottage with very pretty furnishings,decor and lovely views.We specially liked the cornish cream tea set out for us on the table.Susie our hostess was absolutely charming with nothing too much trouble we even borrowed the hosepipe to rinse our dog Buffy who absolutely loved the sandy beaches nearby particularly Polurrian just a 5 min walk.There is a little space just outside the cottage to have breakfast with a pretty metal table and chairs then opposite Halftides there was our own large private garden and summerhouse with spectacular views of the coast.The whole area is wonderful with walks along the S.W.Coastal path straight from the cottage.A magical place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
38
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

The B&B can only be reached by a narrow private road that was in bad condition, the hedges were not cut and our car got some scratches. When we arrived at the B&B the welcome was less than friendly. Once in the room the first thing you see is the view of the sea , which is really great. The room however was a big disapointment: very small, furniture very very old, tiny shower room, but worst of all: not clean (the towels in the shower room were clearly not washed: there was red jam on them, floor was not hoovered,...).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ripplesMullion, Owner at Halftides, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
It is always disappointing to receive a poor review but doubly so when it is posted almost twelve months after the guest's visit and no complaint was made at the time. It is true my house is along an unmade road but beautiful locations often require a departure from the beaten track. As for the lack of welcome and dirty rooms (jam on the towels??) l am at my wits end to understand why this guest has given me such a belated and scathing review and in fact, find it rather suspicious. l would encourage readers to refer to the overwhelming majority of very positve reviews of my B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We've just returned from a two night stay at Halftides and thoroughly recommend it. Susie (and her lovely dog Ripples) is very welcoming and helpful, booking dinner for us in advance of our arrival on our first night at the local pub to ensure we had a reservation on a busy night. The house is in a beautiful position with outstanding coastal views. The bedrooms are very stylish with great quality crispy cotton sheets - we slept so well.

Susie's breakfast was fantastic - lovely fresh fruit, homemade jams and a perfect cooked breakfast.

We'll be back I hope.

Sue

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful 3 night stay with Susie at Halftides, Mullion. Her beautifully decorated house is situated high on the cliff with stunning views overlooking the sea. Rooms are light and very comfortable. There’s a lovely walk down to a quiet cove and then on to Mullion Harbour.

Susie is utterly charming, helpful, and funny. She’s a wonderful cook and we enjoyed a delicious fish dinner on our arrival. Her breakfasts too were brilliant – I loved the fresh summer fruit with mango and yoghurt, yum! Ask Susie for ideas on what to do – she knows the best places to visit and is happy to advise you. She recommended the brilliant New Barn restaurant at Trelowarren and a memorable circular walk from Manaccan around the Helford estuary. Don’t miss Kynance Cove near the Lizard – we visited it on our last day – magical. We would definitely return to Halftides. Thanks Susie for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Its all the things not mentioned that are best about this place. Susie's house looks over one the quietest sandy coves in Cornwall. Getting down the bumpy lane takes you from your busy life to Haltides life and if you come back at night there are curious badgers to be seen. Susie knows all the best places, so can save you from any disappointing excursions or restaurants, but don't forget her evening meals. Finally a big thank you for all the extra things Susie and Ripple the dog did to make our stay magic.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

I stayed in the wonderful Halftides house next to Susie"s lovely house where she does her bed and breakfast.
Myself and my friends had a wonderful time. Susie was so friendly and the caretaker John Paul was so helpful also. I so enjoyed it and i was made so welcome. Susie had lots of fun suggestions to do. It is a magnificent location, just to walk out of the house and down to such a beautiful beach as Polurrian, to be able to walk to Mullion, walk to Poldhu cove, Church cove, all my favourite beaches as i know the area well,was fantastic. I saw seals and dolphins while i was down there. It is a special house and a special location and i will definitely be going back. Also i couldn"t get back to London because of the snow and i was looked after so well.Thank you for making my holiday such a happy one!

Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

Not sure our car appreciated the long and very uneven track to reach it but the stunning location of Halftides was certainly worth the effort. As others have said, Susie was a very welcoming host but having read the rave reviews on this site, our overall feeling was one of slight disappointment. Perhaps we had been spoilt by coming here straight from the superb Beach House in Looe.

Although others have waxed lyrical about the breakfasts, we found them to be pretty ordinary with a somewhat limited choice of cereals, fruit juices etc. The table was shared which was fine for us as our fellow guests were charming but breakfast is not always a time when you want to socialise with people you don't know.

The bedroom ("Painted Lady") was OK but not en suite and the bathroom which was available to us had no shower although it did have a shower attachment and could easily have been converted with a wall bracket and curtain over the bath. Attention to detail in the bedroom too could be improved with several trailing cables, a kettle which could only be used on the floor as the cord wouldn't reach the table or window sill and a TV which could only be viewed from the bed through the bars of the brass bedstead.

The stunning location is indisputable but it is perhaps the little things that we tend to remember too.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Halftides, responded to this review, October 23, 2010
I am sorry that these guests did not enjoy their stay with me. It is true that the property is a little way from the main road down a lane but stunning coastal locations are rarely accessible by dual carriageway. My breakfasts are locally sourced from the highest quality, mainly orgainic ingredients. Having absorbed these guests' disappointment with my offerings, it was with a sigh of releif that i learned that they did not find the comnpany of their fellow guests at breakfast too oneous.
Anyone staying at a B&B should remember they are staying in someone's home. If you want a tarmac road to the door and a wide range of supermarket fruit juices and packet cearels at breakfast and to be left alone to consume them then the answer is very simple: stay at a good hotel. However, it will cost you two or three times as much as a homely B&B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Halftides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halftides

Address: Laflouder Lane, Mullion TR12 7HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mullion
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mullion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Halftides Mullion, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halftides, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.