We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb location if you can put up with a tiny room and dont mind hiking to car park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wheelhouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Wheelhouse to your Saves list
The Wheelhouse
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   West Wharf, Mevagissey, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 36 Mevagissey B&B and Inns
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“superb location if you can put up with a tiny room and dont mind hiking to car park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

what a really great find I'm 6' 2" and solidly built but if you forgive the room size which is only for changing and sleeping then you'll love the views straight into the fishing harbour. The room was clean tidy and very acceptable as the view is everything, the staff where exceptional a real stand out group of youngsters that were really genuinely good. We booked into the restaurant and oh my god we have never eaten fish as fresh it was literally walked around the harbour wall by the hotelier who has a licence in trade fish.

Room Tip: in the season remember this is a proper fishing village and can be a mare to park but we want to mov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    27
    11
    4
    8
See reviews for
8
46
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Made a second visit here in two weeks as we wanted to take friends. Rooms very clean, views fantastic (and windows cleaned as promised!), breakfast superb, housekeeping very good indeed, local restaurants excellent and a very enjoyable local golf course, Porthpean which enjoys some wonderful views out to sea. We will be back!

Room Tip: Go for room 3 - spacious with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is our second visit.We thought it was great first time but even better this time.The staff are lovely and very helpful.The breakfast was the best we have ever had at a b&b.Mary the housekeeper does a great job the room was spotless and we had fresh towels every day.We hope to go back next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 which is quite small but ok if youre just using it as a base
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

-Terrible access - no parking by hotel - 200 Metres away in pay and display car park
-Stairs go up outside of building, then down dingy dark narrow staircase inside - very claustrophobic and no good if you have bad joints or cannot do stairs
-Rooms small and 'en suite' miniscule shower/ toilet - so small my husband could not sit on the toilet straight as the room was so small
-Double bed = two delapidated singles, all saggy, pushed together - This made us particularly angry as it is a real negative not to have a double bed and we had checked over the phone that it would be a proper bed
-No manager available to complain to
- Food was ok but very slow and expensive - far better restaurants such as posh fish and chip restaurant along promenade
- Far better hotels up the road, please avoid this one at all cost
+ The only positive is the view, but we were woken up by the fishermen starting work in the small hours of the morning, just below us
- Far better to stay up the road, overlooking the bay, with parking, with lovely large beautifully kept rooms and great service at a different hotel altogether
-If staying Mevigissy, do visit the free aquarium - fantastic

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very warm welcome from young staff member on arrival and throughout stay. Lovely quiet location at end of harbour, with beautiful views from bedroom window across fishing boats and out to sea. Had 2 night stay in late October, found the room to be warm, cosy and extremely clean. The double bed was as comfy as ours at home, the thick pillows/ duvet and crisp white sheets were a welcome change from the one thin pillow and old blanket you so often get in Guest houses. All the facilities were extremely clean and well maintained. The shower room whilst small was again spotless with plenty of hot water. As soon as we went down for breakfast the first morning, our room was cleaned, with fresh towels and tea making facilities stocked up.Had a very nicely cooked full english next morning, with very prompt and polite service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I recently had 2night stay thru Late rooms ,I had double room for 1paid £40per night ,room clean and bed comfy ,bathroom is tiny like on a boat ! But water hot ,very small sink so difficult to fill up kettle for tea etc,breakfast good Eggs and bacon cooked to order and fresh grapefruit , juice and cereal although, have to climb down outside staircase from upstairs not great on wet days .The car park is a long way from the guesthouse so can't bring a heavy bag and the overnight rate stops at 10am so have to get car quickly after breakfast to avoid any fine !Staff were pleasant although I agree with some of the previous comments not overly helpful and well just not that interested !The restaurant was good in the evening had good fish and chips ,£10 house Rose nice £5 for large glass

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

On being shown to our large double room we noticed how the double bed was in fact two singles pushed together. This we and my wife find very uncomfortable. On mentioning this to the young staff we were shown a smaller room. The en suit for this room was very very small and the bed was uncomfortable We decided not to stay. After asking to speak with a member of the management team to ask for a refund as we had paid on line. I was advised that no management were on site. I was advised that the management team would be able to refund me the next morning. Later that week still no refund on my card. So I phoned the management team. All I can say is they have refused to refund my card. I have only listed the major reasons for not staying there are several others. What I'll say is if you look a little further out of town you'll find better cheaper rooms with parking and on site helpful management.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wheelhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheelhouse

Address: West Wharf, Mevagissey, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Mevagissey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wheelhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Wheelhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheelhouse Mevagissey, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wheelhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.