We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best guesthouse in mevagissey - by far!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honeycombe House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mevagissey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Honeycombe House
Save
You added Honeycombe House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   61 Polkirt Hill, Mevagissey PL26 6UR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 36 Mevagissey B&B and Inns
stafford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“best guesthouse in mevagissey - by far!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

we have stayed here a number of times,and we intend to return many times in the near future as this guest house offers you stunning views,fantastic breakfast and the hosts of the honeycombe ian and val are such wonderful people.the best rooms in our opinion to stay in are the albert,the victoria and the wordsworth,you will not be diappointed which room you stay in as they are all wonderful and are of a very high standard. jo and harvey of stafford.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    24
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
142
19
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

Honeycombe house has the best views in Mevagissey. The owners looked after us so well, we felt very spoilt & they even left a bottle of bubbly in my room to celebrate my birthday with!!! The breakfast is amazing with lots of choice, rooms are spotlessly cleaned and well presented. The free parking is also very handy in Mevagissey and also the access via a different route than through the village. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definately return if we plan to stay in Mevagissey in the future!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

Ian and Val have a beautiful B&B with unbeatable views over Mevagissey. This is our second time with them. It is inspiring to have breakfast, which is excellent quality and choice, looking out over the harbour and watching the boats coming and going. Ian and Val are great hosts making you feel very relaxed and offering good advice on the area. The rooms are clean and well appointed. We were looked after very well, also catering for my early morning cycle training.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

We spent 2 nights and were delighted with the breakfast and astonishing view from the dining area. The tables overlook Mevagissey harbor and the lovely little park across the street. The room and bathroom were the usual small size we find in England, but perfectly spotless and thoughtfully planned. The lounge area provided interesting information about Mevagissey and the area. We have decided that staying at a B&B in a village/town is very advantageous because you can walk out for dinner/drinks. Mevagissey has a very good selection of places to eat - we had a nice pub dinner at the Fountain Inn. The Ship Inn provides serious local color, and excellent soup! We took a taxi service from St. Austell (to which we had taken a train from Heathrow) and therefore did not have a car, so the absence of a parking area didn't matter. This was quite liberating! We took a gorgeous long walk from Mevagissey to Portmellon and Chapel Point and Gorran Haven all the way to Dodman Point and back - highly recommended. You will be happy at Honeycombe House.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

Finding accommodation in peak season Cornwall was not easy. However, this place happened to have 1 free night for us. We booked two rooms.

Pros:
•Clean rooms
•Good breakfast
•One of our rooms had a great view over the harbour from the balcony. Check when booking
•Walking distance to town
•My sister was upgraded to a larger room without charge because it was available.

Cons:
•Strange electric toilet which was quiet noisy when used during night
•Thin walls so we were told to not let doors slam and watch loud TV upon checking in
•Parking was off street

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

We stayed there 2 nights in August 2009. It's the best B&B we ever stayed. Friendly houseowner, nice breakfast and fantastic views (take Victoria or Albert room !).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Cave
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

Karen and I have been visiting Mevagissey since 1964 and have tried many of the B and Bs on Polkirt Hill, allthough Honeycombe House was once the Top house on Polkirt Hill it has retained that title for us as being the Top for Cleanliness,Breakfast,Comfort and of course the fabulous view. Val and Ian are a great couple and make everyone welcom young or old.first timers and repeat clients.Long may they continue.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Honeycombe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeycombe House

Address: 61 Polkirt Hill, Mevagissey PL26 6UR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Mevagissey
Hotel Class:4 star — Honeycombe House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Honeycombe House is a family run Victorian house situated a few minutes walk from the centre of the 14th Century picturesque working fishing village of Mevagissey. It is situated near the top of Polkirt Hill enjoying the most stunning views over both the inner and outer harbours of the village and miles of Cornish coastline. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Honeycombe House Mevagissey, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honeycombe House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.