We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from the madding crowd!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Headlands Hotel

The Headlands Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mevagissey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Headlands Hotel
Save
You added The Headlands Hotel to your Saves list
Polkirt Hill, Mevagissey PL26 6UX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Mevagissey
great yarmouth
1 review
“Far from the madding crowd!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Oh the joy of being able to find a little piece of tranquility in Cornwall, and in August too. This hotel has fantastic views over the bay. It is near enough to the hub of the town to be convenient for all Mevagissey has to offer, yet far enough away to avoid the crowds. Our room was excellent, very clean , and with those great views ! The breakfast was superb, freshly cooked, and with quality ingredients. We found the couple running the Hotel to be friendly and attentive and yet discreet. We will return!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    1
    5
    5
See reviews for
4
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

A lovely comfortable and relaxing hotel with stunning views over the Headland. Rooms large with plenty of drawers ets. Shower room largest I've been in for a long time, a window too. The view from room 3 is breathtaking as is the view from lounge and dinning room. Breakfast was lovely, well cooked and very tasty. Sally is very welcoming, I think Andy is a little shy but you can have a laugh with him. All in all we really enjoyed our 3 nights here. Would return if we came back to Megavissy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

This is a friendly, clean and relaxing hotel at the top of Mevagissy, with the most fabulous uninterupted view out of the dining room picture window of the sea and local headlands.
The en-suite room was very comfortable with ample drawers etc, the bar was well stocked and relaxing and the owners and staff were very friendly.
We would certainly return to this hotel and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

What a nice hotel this is, the owners are very pleasant and helpful; the views from our bedroom were fantastic and such a pleasure to wake up in. Bathroom and room facilities were excellent and extremely clean. Breakfast was also outstanding with a good selection of food. You must remember however, that Mevagissy has a lot of hills and the climb up to the hotel is to be excepted for its location, but don't let this put you off, the hotel is well worth those steps and we will certainly stay at the Headlands again when we return to Mevagissy. Thank you, Lindon & Alsion

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

having stayed at the headland hotel we found the view to our room was fantastic,over looking the bay ,the breakfast was good, and the bar was nice.
unfortunatly we found the room was just basic pine furniture,the bathroom shelve was broken and the toilet seat was loose having to tighten it myself,we went out for a couple of hours and came back to find our room had been left unlocked when they had been in to change the loo rolls,anybody could have just walked in,which could happen anyway as the keys are left in a box at reception.
if i had left this hotel only paying £40-£45 per night i would have felt i had a good stay but having been charged £82.50 per night i felt it was hugely overpriced for the standard,

As previous reviews have stated the hotel managers partner was very miserable and just wandered around looking as if he really did not want to be there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We were greeted by Sally who was extremely polite and friendly. Our room had spectacular views over the coast towards Port Melon , it was very clean as was the bathroom the furniture was a little basic but adequate enough for our needs. We thought the breakfast was excellent and varied not like other reviews we read .We had a very pleasant drink in the bar with Sally (the owner ) before going out for our evening meal . Our overall opinion was very good we stayed for two nights but would have stayed longer if time had allowed .

Room Tip: ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

I had to chuckle after reading other peoples reviews on this hotel, especially the 'unhappy soul' comment regarding one of the owners. He is indeed the most miserable host I have come across and I'm sure would put anyone off going back there for a second visit, including my family. The hotel is in a good position overlooking the harbour, the family room we stayed in was spacious and clean, a problem with the shower was dealt with swiftly by the polite and smiling lady who can't possibly be in a relationship with the other chap. The only thing that sticks in our mind though is the sourpuss that we had to deal with throughout our stay, it is easy to see why there was a room available there at short notice and no where else in the village!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Headlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headlands Hotel

Address: Polkirt Hill, Mevagissey PL26 6UX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Mevagissey
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
The Headlands Hotel Mevagissey, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Headlands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.