We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A railway modellers delight!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mevagissey Model Railway

Mevagissey Model Railway
Meadow Street | Mevagissey, Mevagissey PL26 6UL, England
1726 842457
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 10 Attractions in Mevagissey
Type: Museums, Amusement
Attraction details
Paignton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“A railway modellers delight!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This attraction will not appeal to everyone and I can understand that some parents feel that it is not worth the money - possibly because they are hoping for an attraction that offers instant gratification for all the family, will keep the kids occupied for a couple of hours plus a café, play area and toilets??? Enjoy it for what it is - it's a model railway layout; nothing more, nothing less.
For two adults we paid £4.50 each and spent about 35 minutes walking round. For us, it was all about appreciating the time, effort and detail of the modelling and the multitude of scenarios depicted within the entire layout. There were also local themes depicted - the clay pits and the harbour for example. The detail was terrific - right down to the tiny chimney sweep's brush appearing at the top of the chimney to the Underground railway scene underneath the layout.
The displays in glass cabinets were very good, especially the Ferrero Rocher diorama competition entries and the ingenious fold-down display in a filing box.
I can't honestly see how some reviewers can say that they had seen everything in a 10-minute walk around. Maybe the price does seem a bit steep for some families but I can't see the owner making a fortune given the costs, time and effort. Taken as part of the whole Mevagissey experience it's worth a visit - but go in with your eyes open!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    18
    22
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Fabulous for adults and children alike. Went in to miss a shower and stayed for ages. Incredible detail and really imaginative sets, including alpine scenes, movie sets plus loads of trains. A special railway or two for tiny tots and loads of models and railway memorabilia on show. Well worth a visit whether you're a rail buff or not.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southcoast UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“OK when its not busy.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

A bit expensive to go when you have to pay for wife who isn't really interested but I enjoyed seeing toys of my youth (thats' upset any railway modelers). I wouldn't like to go as a grown-up when its kids holidays as it's a bit narrow, nuff said.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Ok, Just!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Having read previous reviews I have pondered on how to submit my own, so here we go.

The place is fairly easy to find following signs or asking the locals. The asking price is a little bit steep, however I looked upon it in the light of how long it must have taken to set everything up and the effort put into it not to mention the overall cost, electric trains are not cheap and I know because I have a few myself.

The actual displays are actually quite lifelike and if you spend long enough looking it is surprising how many trains are running either at the same time or very soon one after another.

If you looked carefuly at one section it was based on a mountain type background and even had tiny cable cars going up and down. There was aslo a quarry feature and on this there were goods trains carrying the goods that had ben excavated in the quarry, quite a lot of detail.

In another section there was a funfair where some of the rides were actually working like a merry go round etc.

There is a section for younger grown ups (kids) to play with albeit a little limited on involvement.

Around the room are models and exhibits that are quite interesting but again mostly for adults but I must say that my wife enjoyed it.

The actual shop I found a little disappointing as they di have some Hornby stock (my own sets) but there was little choice in rolling stock or in locomotives.

I did enjoy my visit but I left feeling that there should have been more for the money.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lovely interactive model railway for (big) kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This little gem is hidden away in a residential area of Mevagissey, but easy to find when you follow the signs from the main street.

The attraction itself is small, and like others have said before the buttons aren't labelled, but figuring out what they do is part of the fun. The main model railway was extensive and well made, with plenty of scenery and a lot going on.
On top of that there's a 'garden' railway area where kids can control 2 trains and plenty of other little bits on display.

We liked the attraction for being quaint and small, so don't expect something massive like Babbacombe Model village!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mevagissey Model Railway also viewed

 

Been to Mevagissey Model Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mevagissey Model Railway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.