We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely Cornish country pub with plenty or character!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown Inn

The Crown Inn
Churchtown Cottage | St Ewe, Mevagissey, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 28 Restaurants in Mevagissey
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
“A lovely Cornish country pub with plenty or character!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

I recently visited the Crown Inn as it has just been taken over by new management. Despite only being in the pub a week, I found the landlord Ernie and landlady Roz to be very welcoming and the staff all seemed happy and helpful. The food was hot and filing and there was a good variety on the menu, also a menu for those with a smaller appetite! I would definitely recommend the pie!

All in all, a lovely Cornish pub with a roaring fire, great food, lovely people and service with a smile.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    15
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We visited this pub having read good reviews on Tripadvisor (August) because we were staying in the St Austell area and wanted to try somewhere off the beaten track. We were one of the first people to visit one evening and thus we placed our orders early. We were confident that our meals would be good because of previous reports but unfortunately we were both very disappointed. We had a main course each but decided not to bother with a dessert as we did not want to spend any more money there. The pub was quiet and there was no real atmosphere. We would not recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing, the chef's night off?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Went early on a Sunday evening. 1st customers to order food. High expectations after all the good reviews. Great welcome & drinks choices but main courses disappointing. Ordered rolled shoulder of lamb with mash & vegetables from the only menu on a blackboard in the bar. It arrived after other people had been served main courses, ? because we'd had starters. It consisted of 2 burger shapes made up of shreds of meat compacted together which were black on the underside when flipped over. Horrid! The waitress came to collect the plates but did not ask if our meals had been ok either then or during the meal. I complained re the 'lamb' & asked for this to be conveyed to the kitchen as the meal had cost just short of £14 & was not as described. The evidence was left on the plate. There was no feed back, no apology & we left feeling annoyed at the meal & staff apathy..

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful village pub with excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Crown has been on my list of pubs to try for some time, and tonight it was fortuitous that The Polgooth was very busy so we looked elsewhere. The virtually deserted car park at 8pm on a Wednesday night at the back end of the holiday period wasn't the most promising start but to be fair we had come in search of somewhere where we would get in! Walking in to the traditional bar we found a warm welcome from the friendly barman before tucking ourselves away in the corner of the stone floored room. The open fire clearly sees plenty of use in winter and the well worn dart board suggested that this still has a community feel about it. The menu looked to be pretty standard stuff, plenty from the grill, pie, fish and so on, all reasonably priced. We chose lamb served with mustard mash and a chicken curry with poppadom and mango chutney. Both were excellent. The lamb was incredibly tender. The curry rich and spicy. So impressive were our main courses that we opted for desert, both choosing a Banoffee Sundea. This came with generous scoops of ice cream, clotted cream and bananas, drizzled with a light toffee sauce. The Crown is unusual these days in that it still feels like a propper pib, but serves a pretty much perfect pub meal, definitely one to return to. The dog was welcome on the stone floor area of the bar.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A Jewel In the Crown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a delightful country pub, set in a beautiful village location, with amazing views back towards St Austell. We booked for a Saturday night, and although busy, the pub wasn't overcrowded. We were greeted by a very enthusiastic waitress who couldn't do enough for us. Throughout the meal she kept checking we were ok and satisfied - to me, a little too much checking, once or twice is more than enough. However, the food was absolutely delicious - much better than your average pub grub. A menu plus specials board to choose from, but all the meals we had were special. There appears to be excellent variety - something for all tastes. The desserts were also of a very high standard. Wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.