We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything a country should be and more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown Inn

The Crown Inn
Churchtown Cottage | St Ewe, Mevagissey, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 28 Restaurants in Mevagissey
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Stockport
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Everything a country should be and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We visited in June 2012 and I have been trying to find where to write this review since then! I have looked repeatedly in Mevagissey only to find it listed under St Austell!
My wife and I ate there one summer evening last year.
We received a very warm welcome, a splendid choice of hand pulled beer, quality service and even better food.
We both had fresh crab starters which were delicious and matched the quality of the produce of the area. i then had slow roast pork which came with perfect crackling ,mustard mash, three fresh vegetables and cider gravy.My wife had pan fried duck with crisp bacon, thyme gravy, roasted swed and sauteed potatoes..Both meals were superb.I actually kept my notes for nearly a year because a visit here is well worth the short trip off the beaten track.Enjoy!
I am delighted to see that it is still going strong.When we visited we were told it was under new owners.I was determined to see their hard work rewarded on my review even if it has taken me nearly a year to do it..They should list it under Mevagissey really

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    15
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Country pub with good country grub.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Country pub with good country grub. Reasonably priced, we went for Sunday roast. This was very good which has prompted us to give the main menu a shot.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Quality food served in a good old English pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Relaxed atmosphere, traditional English pub, friendly welcoming staff and GREAT food. They were also very accommodating of our two young fussy children! Good value too. Hope to return one day.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Warm and Cozy, with Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This pub is great! We arrived in a cold, steady rain shortly after the 5:30 p.m. opening time for drinks and were promptly offered a table. The atmosphere is just what this American was hoping to find in an English country pub--a roaring fire blazing away, copper pots hanging over the fireplace, and friendly service. The food, beef stew and the lamb special, was delicious and a good value. My dinner at the Crown Inn was my favorite meal during a ten day trip to Oxford, Windsor and Cornwall. I recommend it highly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Lovely pup in the quaint village of St Ewes. Excellent food at a reasonable price in a very friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.