We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic setting, Great staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   School-Hill, Mevagissey PL26 6TH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mevagissey
Ashford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic setting, Great staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We have just got back from a great stay in Mevagissey. The Hotel was very clean and the staff were very attentive. The breakfasts were the usual choice but very well cooked. It was maybe a little pricey compared to other hotels we have stayed in in the area, but we really enjoyed our time there.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    38
    18
    8
    3
See reviews for
19
124
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

stayed at the hotel for 3 days the room we were booked in was dirty, hairs in bath and on shower curtain, carpets not clean cobwebs everywhere the drinking glasses in bathroom was obviously recycled and dirty, would not use. The bed linen had hairs in , window broken in room and very noisey, i would not recommend this hotel. The furniture damaged and unclean. We were moved to another room and there was cobwebs in the room as well, not one but many in both rooms, dirty socks left in draws, and the whole experience was awful. Manager or owner tried to dismiss it. The only good thing about hotel is staff. Breakfast, and evening meal which you will need a magnifying glass to view the vegetables. would not stay here again totally overpriced and four stars mmmmmmm dont understand that the rooms are unclean, and noisey.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John2016, Owner at Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Sounds like a hotel from hell! I am surprised you stayed for three days, I am sure I wouldn't have, especially with two rooms equally as bad. Yet during your stay you made no further comment or complaint and seemed pleasant and happy.-

We are meticulous in our standards of cleanliness. We score very highly on cleanliness in AA inspections, when all rooms are very closely examined. Many of our guests also comment on the high standard of room cleanliness. 88 Trip Advisor reviews out of 137 rate us as excellent.

I was not dismissive of your complaints about the room.Guests are always deemed to be right and so you were moved into another room for the night. As we were fully booked this could only be for one night. I checked that room before you were moved. It was perfectly clean, as was the room you vacated but we do not argue with guests. If you felt the room was unsatisfactory we would not want you to stay in it until it had been thoroughly re-cleaned.

The motives of someone who removes the duvet from the bed and examines the lower sheet on entering a hotel room have to be questioned. The bedlinen was quite obviously laundry fresh but you discovered one two centimetre straight hair. You discovered a sock in the drawer of the new room and, interestingly, you left items of your own behind in the room to be re-cleaned. Was this some sort of test or trap? If you try hard enough you will find something in any room to fuel a complaint . Our chambermaids are excellent but very occasionally they slip up. I am not saying that we are always without fault but in this case the hotel is unrecognisable from your description. Perhaps if we had been able to upgrade you or had given you a complimentary stay you would have been satisfied.

We are very sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We take careful note of all feedback. We have had a thorough review of our cleaning regime to make doubly sure everything is as good as it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

When the weather picked up we decided to try and extend a three night stay elsewhere in Cornwall to five nights but found accommodation in mid-August understandably a bit limited. We came across availability at the Trevalsa Court and decided to book. The location is lovely, right on the coastal path with views of the bay and just a short walk into Mevagissey. We had a double room, overlooking the garden and sea, which was clean, comfortable and well appointed (the bed was very comfy). We were a little concerned that our room was directly above the kitchen but it didn't affect us at all. Although we didn't eat in the restaurant on either night of our stay (which we regretted when other guests spoke so highly of the food) the breakfasts were very good and the cream tea lovely. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the owner very pleasant - on a wet day he recommended a visit to the National Trust property at Lanhydrock and we thoroughly enjoyed it. If we are in this part of Cornwall again we would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chertsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were here for 2 nights at end of August . What a super little hotel find.
The staff are excellent and very friendly and helpful . We had a twin room as that wasthe only one left. The breakfast is freshly cooked to order which may take a little time but we didn't mind as we gazed out the windows at the lovely views of the sea.the gardens over look the sea and your able to access the costal path through the gate.
We didn't have an evening meal here but the menu looked very nice, we took a short walk to mevagissy in the evening to the many fish restaurants in the village. We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely return to this lovely country house.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I had the single room on the edge of the hotel. Felt damp because it was cold. Needed a good clean
My friends double room upstairs was lovely but she did get the smell from the kitchen in through the window
Ate there on the saturday evening and the waitress was tidying the other tables of the serviettes etc whilst we were still eating.
Wouldnt stay again. The manager replied to my email of complaint and offered us a free meal. long way to travel for that.

Room Tip: Not on the ground floor single room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John2016, Owner at Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
The room in question is very popular and frequently requested for return visits. It most certainly is not damp and we are meticulous about room cleanliness. No complaints were made at the time of the visit, only a request for heating during the hottest period we have had in years. We are very confused as to what went wrong here but offered complimentary dinners as a token of goodwill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just returned from 2 nights here. Highlight is the views from rooms overlooking sea. Rooms are well appointed and stylish. Public rooms are welcoming and comfortable in a country house style. We found service to be excellent and food good. For pub meal try the Crown in St Ewe. Would certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Stopped off for a cream tea on a beautiful sunny afternoon, what a lovely place, way too posh for us but nonetheless less we were served with a smile and the cream tea was nice..what a view! Can't comment on the accommodation but rest is nice..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel

Address: School-Hill, Mevagissey PL26 6TH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mevagissey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trevalsa Court Hotel stands on a cliff top with most rooms enjoying fabulous sea views. It has an eclectic mix of ancient oak beams, mullion windows and oak paneling with designer fabrics, leather sofas and modern art. We encourage guests to relax and make the hotel their holiday home. Our food, with an emphasis on fish, is largely locally produced, deliciously prepared and tastefully presented. Golf, tennis, cycle and canoe hire are available locally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trevalsa Court Country Hotel
Trevalsa Court Country Mevagissey
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel Mevagissey, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.