We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor bored fish!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mevagissey Aquarium

Mevagissey Aquarium
Mevagissey Harbour, Mevagissey PL26 6QU, England
01726 843305
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 10 things to do in Mevagissey
Attraction details
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Poor bored fish!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Aquarium is free, small, has some very bored, tired looking fish and crustaceans and will do well to entertain you for 5 minutes! I am a keen fisherman but even I was pretty bored myself. The fact that it is free is the main attraction, along with the fact that most of the exhibits were caught locally. The aquarium is small and would be a very tight almost claustrophobic place for some people if there were any more than say a dozen people. Wheel chair users might encounter a few manouevering problems.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    78
    50
    16
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Have a look if visiting Mevagissey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Visited here late April whilst staying nearby. Was interested in the building actually as its located in the old lifeboat house.

Worth a look if youre in Mevagissey but dont travel out specially as it will only take about 10-15 mins to see it all (depending how into fish you are!)

Like some others on here, I do agree the tanks looked a bit on the small side or overcrowded for the amount of fish placed in tanks. The poor conga eel didnt look like it could turn around or stretch out properly...put him back in the sea!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice idea.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Inhabitants are caught in the locality which makes its interesting. It is what it is - a place to put things that have been pulled up. Don't be too upset if you miss it but pop in if your passing. Bit too "real" for me! Definitely down to earth but I wouldn't bother another time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“good for visitors, not so much for hte fish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

saw a wide variety of fish and there was a lot of helpful information sheets so this was good but I think that the fish were overcrowded and some even looked a bit sad and bored, my parents even claimed to see a fish "yawning" and one fish kept constantly staring at people and us as if to say "please put me back in the ocean". So maybe keep the variety of fish but maybe not so many of them, eg have 5 starfish in one tank instead of about 10

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dongguan, China
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
277 helpful votes 277 helpful votes
“You have to love this place! - it sums Mevagissey up perfectly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I first came here 35 years ago, when it was a dark, run-down shed with a few murky tanks and some oddball fish. Nowadays it is still tiny, in an odd little shack perched on the side of the harbour, totally refurbished and still has a rag-tag collection of unfortunate misfit inhabitants who have washed up in the nets of local fishermen!

This is not the £10-per-head sanitised glossy "ultimate" experience you get on 2-floors in Newquay or a dozen other seaside resorts : this is the real deal, straight off of that boat over there and into this tank over here. There is no Gift Shop, no timetable for Feeding the Sharks or learning about faux-ecology, and No Charge either.

This is what Cornwall is all about, and I love it - no frills, fascinating, authentic

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mevagissey Aquarium also viewed

 
Caerhays, Mevagissey
 

Been to Mevagissey Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mevagissey Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.