We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tanglewood House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mevagissey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tanglewood House
Save
You added Tanglewood House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Valley Road, Mevagissey PL26 6XB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 36 Mevagissey B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just come back from 4 night stay at Tanglewood B&B. Having read the previous reviews it's hard to know what more to add. For our first ever visit to Cornwall we couldn't have wished for the welcome, warmth and kindness shown to us by Virginia and Ken. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious, information about where, when and how to visit the local attractions was spot on and we would not hesitate to recommend Tanglewood to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
43
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

A friend recommended that we stay here and she was spot on. We did arrive a bit early but Virginia welcomed us as if we were long lost friends. The room was really pretty with a great view, the breakfast was delicious and you could have just as much as you wanted. Just a short walk into town and plenty to do there. We caught the ferry over to Fowey which was very pretty. We also went to Lost Gardens of Heligon and Caerhays Castle, both things you must do. It is also very central to the bottom of England from where you can travel to so many places.
Virginia recommended a couple of wonderful restaurants - The Salamander which was really excellent, and the Alvorada Portugese which was delicious. There is plenty to look at in the town which is right on the ocean.
This was our favourite B&B that we stayed in and it was because Virginia made us feel so welcome. Thank you Virginia for a very special stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Although it seems one should book ahead when coming all the way from Canada, we found ourselves in Megavissey without a reservation. After inquiring at the pub in town, I was "accosted" by a woman who demanded that I should follow her down a back alley to what she called a lovely B&B. This place was up a dark staircase, and parking was in a city lot several blocks away. Luckily, instinct told me this was NOT where we should stay, even though it was getting late, and I was getting worried.
We headed a bit out of downtown (still within walking distance) and were lucky to spot Tanglewood House in a beautiful location with parking on site. I was delighted to find the nightly rate was the same as the dreadful place I had just rejected! Yes, we'll take it!
Tanglewood was wonderful, comfortable, with fantastic breakfasts. Heligan was close by, everything was perfect.
And for the second night we noticed that the owner had thoughtfully left a "Canadian Maple Syrup" granola bar on the coffee tray in our room!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northamptonshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

although we stayed . . last minute we found the welcome very friendly, room was excellent and would stay again,so nice to be able to park car at the property as stayed in others where no close parking.very clean and tidy would stay again bath robes ,iron and ironing board in room and plenty of choice for breakfast very nice stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Tanglewood is perfect if you want to get up in a morning from a clean and comfortable bed, have a nice shower, go down stairs to a clean and welcoming dining room for a breakfast that you booked the night before. You'll be greeted by a cheerful "good morning" and a warm smile. You then get a choice of cereal or fruit juice to start. Your main breakfast can be as large or small as you like. I chose the full breakfast so all I needed was a snack at lunch or nothing at all until I had my evening meal at one of the great local eating places, sharks fin, The Fountain or the Alvorada to name but a few.

There are two more extra bonuses, one is the car park and the other is the location as it's a short flat walk to Mevagissey village.

I should keep this place a secret, but I thought it only fair to share it.

Virginia's warm welcome and natural caring nature was the icing on the cake to my perfect holiday.

Already booked for next year.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I just spent three fantastic nights in this beautiful little B&B. I had read a bunch of reviews prior to booking and was pretty sure it was going to be good, but I never could have been prepared for HOW good this little gem of a place was going to be.

The location is perfect - as close as you can get to Mevagissey in your car, before the streets start to get alarmingly narrow. It's a very very easy stroll into town and back.

The property itself is impeccable, you can tell that an awful lot of love and care goes into it's upkeep. The room was beautiful, and our bed was honestly like going to sleep in a cloud.

Breakfast in the morning was most absolutely a highlight - try the hogs pudding!!

The one thing that stood out above all others though, was the warm and genuine nature of the owner Virginia. She made us feel so very welcome, and made all the difference to our stay.

Recommended 100% without a moments hesitation. You will not be disappointed if you book in to this place. If I could score it higher than 5 stars I would.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Crendon near Oxford
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely two night stay at Tanglewood. The friendly welcome and hospitality were what we had expected, both from the majority of the reviews and from the phone call to discuss booking. The room was comforatble and the ample breakfasts were as good as their awards would suggest. Tanglewood is ideally positioned in Mevagissey within a short walk of the harbour and a good selection of pubs for an evening meal. Parking is difficult at most B+Bs in Mevagissey but at Tanglewood it is on site and free. From Tanglewood there are many great places to explore, we took in the Lost Gardens of Heligan, the Eden Project, the World of Model Railways and Charlestown, all well worth a visit and Virginia and Ken who have great local knowledge can recommend many other great places to see and things to do. It's not cheap to stay at Tanglewood but it is a lovely experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tanglewood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanglewood House

Address: Valley Road, Mevagissey PL26 6XB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Mevagissey
Hotel Class:4 star — Tanglewood House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Tanglewood House Mevagissey, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanglewood House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.