We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience, made us feel part of their home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Pisky Cottage B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Little Pisky Cottage B&B to your Saves list
Little Pisky Cottage B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1 And 2 River Terrace | Mevagissey St Austell, Mevagissey PL26 6UG, England (Formerly Pisky Cottage Bed And Breakfast Mevagissey)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 36 Mevagissey B&B and Inns
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful experience, made us feel part of their home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed for two nights but wished it had been much longer. After getting stuck in traffic we were met by Andy, who could not have been any more accomodating and welcoming, he offered us a cuppa and was a perfect host. The whole place is spotlessly clean and decorated in ArtDeco style to a very high standard, with exquist furnishings. The choice and portion size of breakfast was fantastic, it made a real change to have such a vast breakfast menu. Howie is an outstanding chef and both Andy and Howie made us really feel like part of their home. It was lovely to sit at a large dining table with other guests in a sociable and relaxed atmosphere. Don't forget to vist ROOVRAYS RESTURANT (French Cusine), it is owned and run by Andy's Sister and Husband who is the chef, excellent food. We just want to thank Andy and Howie for being the perfect hosts, and for making our stay at Mevagissey so wonderful, we will definately be back soon.

Room Tip: All rooms excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
181
19
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
norfolk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I have just had the pleasure of staying at Pisky cottage in Mevagissey, being a lone traveller I sometimes find it difficult finding a bnb or hotel happy to accept me. Andy and Howie are very happy to let one of their double rooms at a very small supliment. My room was lovely and everywhere is spotlessly clean, breakfast is about the best I have ever had plenty of choice and all cooked fresh for you mmm. The cottage itself is situated great for all things in the village. Pisky cottage comes Highly reccomended . Thanks to Andy and Howie I had a nice few days visiting family

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Our wonderful experience started the minute we arrived. We were weary from a long trip from Lancashire compounded by terrible traffic, and the first thing Howie did was offer us a brew. A thoughtful gesture that made all the difference! Throughout our stay, Howie and Andy were attentive, always willing to help and offer advice, but not at all "in your face" like some hosts can be when trying too hard.

Little Pisky Cottage is a delightful place to stay, tastefully decorated in Art Deco style thanks to Andy's keen eye for just the right ornament to place in just the right place. The whole cottage is spotlessly clean and has an air of freshness about it, and is so welcoming that after long days out and about scouring the county for places to see, we found ourselves saying not "let's get back to the B&B", but "let's get home" in the evenings.

Mevagissey is a beautiful fishing village not far from St. Austell. While there is a thriving tourist industry in the village, you still get that "slightly off the beaten track" feeling about the place that adds to the sensation of getting away from it all and forgetting your everyday problems. Yet, you are close enough to main routes, allowing easy exploration of the entire county. The location is perfect to serve as a holiday base.

So, what can you do while there? You'd be very wise to start the day sat at the table with the other guests and have a breakfast prepared to order by Howie. He doesn't hold back on the portions and some of the produce he serves is up there with the best we've had. The bacon in particular is worth the trip from Lancashire! Once you've eaten your fill (and then some...) you can hit the road, but always let Howie and Andy know what your plans are. On more than one occasion they offered invaluable advice prompting us to consider changing our plans and explore alternatives. They were right every time.

There are plenty of places to eat in the village when you return in the evening. While they are the most obvious offerings, fish & chips and pasties are not the only items available. There is a selection of restaurants on the harbour and in the streets offering traditional fare as well as ethnic cuisine, all within walking distance of the cottage.

When retiring at night we found our bed very comfortable. Should you want to watch some TV before nodding off, there's a flat screen TV set in the rooms and plenty of pillows and cushions to prop you up comfortably. Sleep came easily and we felt refreshed the next day. Mevagissey is on the coast and is, moreover, a fishing port, so you will hear seagulls. Plenty of them. They didn't bother us at all, however. We always slept well and were ready for another of Howie's breakfasts the following morning.

Despite best efforts from Andy and Howie, the show is stolen, paws down, by their feline supervisors Mable and Kismet. Mable especially will have you wrapped around her finger in no time with her diva-like antics. As long as someone is making a fuss of her, she's happy!

You may well think that all of this must come at a price, but I think you'll be pleasantly surprised at the mind-boggling value for money here. We honestly couldn't fault the place and will definitely return!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

we thoroughly enjoyed our four nights here. howie and andy were the perfect hosts, unobtrusive but extremely friendly and polite. i could not fault their excellent service, the fantastic choice at breakfast, the beautifully appointed rooms (right down to the best loo roll i have ever encountered!), and the delightful decorative touches at every turn. the dvd library was also much appreciated when the sea air took its toll and all we wanted to do was laze in front of a movie. highly recommended and great value too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I was welcomed very warmly by both Andy and Howie after my journey with coffee and buscuits. My room was immaculate and stylish with everything one needs. The bed and bedding was comfy and dream like. the whole house welcomed you and indulged your eyes with style and colour. Breakfast table was like dining at the ritz with best china and art deco dishes, Howies cooking was excellent and Andy Hospitality was faultless. Where it is situatited in Mevagissey was just right and i would certianly go there again and again and again. Best bed and breakfast i have ever stayed in.
Wendi L

Room Tip: The seagulls are loud in the morning but then you are in a fishing village so it is to be expected...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Having booked last minute we arrived Friday evening being met by Howie on arrival who made us feel very welcome. The cottage itself was very quent and "oldie worldie". Spent an evening around the harbour and found folk to be very friendly. Lots of fish and chip shops coupled with pubs and nik nak shops. Beautiful view from the room overlooking the sea and typical cornish houses in the village. Breakfast was one if not the best I have had in a hotel. Cooked to perfection. Andy could not do enough for us. Only comment I would make is that there could have been more power from the shower; but everything else was perfect. So very, very clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Myself and my Fiance stayed here on the 20th and 21st August. We had a brilliant time. Andy and Howie are lovely hosts and make you feel so welcome. We were welcomed with tea and biscuits. the bed and breakfast itself is very unique, from the red ruby slippers by the front door, to the doors in the skirting boards for the cornish piskies. Breakfast was amazing, freshly cooked to order and a lot of choice, including vegitarian, dairy and gluten free options. It was in a lovely location and Mevaissey is a lovely fishing village where everyone is so friendly. Andy and Howie have a sign in the B&B stating arrive as strangers leave as friends, that is certainly the case and we are planning on going back there next year.
The only problem I had was that the seagulls can be very noisy in the morning but then you are in a fishing village so it is to be expected, this hasn't put me off I will just be taking ear plugs with me next time I go. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little Pisky Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Pisky Cottage B&B

Address: 1 And 2 River Terrace | Mevagissey St Austell, Mevagissey PL26 6UG, England (Formerly Pisky Cottage Bed And Breakfast Mevagissey)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Mevagissey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Little Pisky Cottage B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly Recommended and only moments from The Lost Gardens Of Heligan And Close To The Eden Project.This Award Winning Vegetarian and Vegan Friendly Bed And Breakfast is Nestled in the very heart of Mevagissey's old quarter. This gay friendly, quirky old Fishermans Cornish cottage is only moments away from all Mevagissey has to offer and the shortest of strolls to the picturesque fishing harbour...Only 2.5 Miles from the Lost Gardens Of Heligan 8.5 Miles to The Eden Project and Lanhydrock House Offering the snuggliest little en-suite bedrooms with quirky vintage features and low beamed ceilings.Full of Cornish charm, with a vintage twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Little Pisky Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pisky Cottage Bed And Breakfast Mevagissey Hotel Mevagissey
Pisky Cottage b&b Mevagissey
Little Pisky Cottage B&B Mevagissey, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Pisky Cottage B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.