We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Pisky Cottage B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Little Pisky Cottage B&B to your Saves list
Little Pisky Cottage B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1 And 2 River Terrace | Mevagissey St Austell, Mevagissey PL26 6UG, England (Formerly Pisky Cottage Bed And Breakfast Mevagissey)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 36 Mevagissey B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Three friends and I stayed here for four nights, and the only problem I had was having to leave so soon!

Andy and Howie are lovely chaps, and Howie makes a mean breakfast in the morning. The whole B&B is stylishly decorated in an art deco style and there are books and DVDs aplenty to fill some time during those rainy Cornish hours (of which we had many).

We were using a rented car to get around and the guys graciously let us use their car parking space during our stay; but for the car-less there's also a bus stop a few metres from the B&B which can take people to nearby towns or the Lost Gardens.

So from the scrumptious cream tea on arrival to the sad farewell to Mable the cat upon departure, there wasn't a single flaw with this B&B. If you're staying in Mevagissey then stay here. And if you're not staying in Mevagissey, then maybe you should think about doing so.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
181
19
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Howie was totally unphased by the dripping and dirty cyclists who appeared on his doorstep. We were welcomed in and served a delightful cream tea, very welcome after our long ride. He even did our washing for us. Pisky cottage is delightful, decorated with impeccable taste and the beds very comfortable. The cats were very loveable. Andy and Howie chatted to us like we were old friends and we immediately found much common ground. Breakfast was an adventure, more like a 5 star hotel than a humble B&B with choices ranging English muffins with cream cheese and smoked salmon to black pudding and poached eggs. On our cycling tour of Cornwall we encountered nothing to compare. Can't recommend them highly enough.

Room Tip: Take a family or friends and book both rooms, the snug is thrown in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

After some days in Cornwall we arrived at Pisky Cottage. After a nice welcome Howie showed us the rooms and we fell in love with this little Cottage. Everything's so lovely and detailed so that Pisky Cottage has it's own atmosphere. The room was very comfortable and clean and we slept there very well. We also enjoyed the breakfasts in the morning. Self made by Howie and Andy and together with a little conversation it was a good beginning every day. Howie and Andy are great hosts and make us feeling like home. We hope that we can come back one day and spend a little bit more time here than only 3 nights. Andy and Howie, we wish you the best! For us - it was perfect!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

What a great place to stay. From our very first contact our hosts kept us informed of everything we needed to know plus other information on attractions, eating houses etc. A very warm welcome to their wonderful cottage with everything we could need. Such a homely feel with beautiful art deco pieces and breakfast is a must to enjoy, best we had in europe. Everything was so clean and tidy, especially the bedroom an ensuite with lovely little gift . Would love to have spent more time there and hopefully get back there one day. Andy and Howie went out of their way to make sure our time there was relaxing and enjoyable. If you're looking to stay in Mevagissy then don't passby Pisky Cottage

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We recently stayed for one night at Pisky Cottage and look forward to returning. We received a lovely warm welcome when we arrived. Our room was lovely with a sea view, it was emaculate and comfortable, we had a great nights sleep. The breakfast was wonderful too with lots of choice. Howie and Andy are great hosts, there were lots of lovely touches like arriving to a cream tea which made us feel very at home. Although we only stayed for one night we completely relaxed and felt like we had been away for longer. Don't hesitate to stay here, we plan to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pisky-cottage, Owner at Little Pisky Cottage B&B, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
Thank you very much for your lovely kind review...It was a pleasure meeting you both and hope to see you again soon...We just wanted to let anyone reading this that our views are only a glimps of the sea...With us being so close and almost on the same level our view is over the rooftops of the buildings in front (quite quaint really) which gives you that feelling of being nestled away in a lovely Cornish village only meters from the harbour...Thanks for reading Howie and Andy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Pisky cottage is full of character and is decorated to a very high standard, Andy and Howie have put their mark so to speak on this house, and is a treasure trove to some lovely furniture art deco and local Cornish memorabilia. What a superb breakfast! Andy & Howie made us feel so welcome and were so interesting - we chatted for ages. Loved the old records and record player! Can't wait to visit again. Nothing was too much trouble to ensure we had a good holiday.” ...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Howie and Andy make this already lovely location a fantastic place to spend a few days. We needed a room for 4 nights as we were in the area for an exhibition at the Lost Gardens of Heligan and we were pointed here.

No regrets -- we arrived there and we were efficiently whisked off to settle into our room and then, once we'd had a chance to freshen up, were treated to some home made muffins and a cup of tea in the lovely little garden overlooking the village.

Slept like a log in the very comfortable bed and woke to a sunny morning and to a wonderful full Cornish breakfast cooked by Howie. The choice of breakfasts was superb -- somehow I managed only to choose this each morning.

These guys are fun, intelligent, great company and make your stay here so much more enjoyable than an anonymous hotel. Recommend them highly and when we go back to Mevagissey, we'll stay there again.

Thanks guys.

Room Tip: There are two rooms -- either one is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Little Pisky Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Pisky Cottage B&B

Address: 1 And 2 River Terrace | Mevagissey St Austell, Mevagissey PL26 6UG, England (Formerly Pisky Cottage Bed And Breakfast Mevagissey)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Mevagissey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Little Pisky Cottage B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly Recommended and only moments from The Lost Gardens Of Heligan And Close To The Eden Project.This Award Winning Vegetarian and Vegan Friendly Bed And Breakfast is Nestled in the very heart of Mevagissey's old quarter. This gay friendly, quirky old Fishermans Cornish cottage is only moments away from all Mevagissey has to offer and the shortest of strolls to the picturesque fishing harbour...Only 2.5 Miles from the Lost Gardens Of Heligan 8.5 Miles to The Eden Project and Lanhydrock House Offering the snuggliest little en-suite bedrooms with quirky vintage features and low beamed ceilings.Full of Cornish charm, with a vintage twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Little Pisky Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pisky Cottage Bed And Breakfast Mevagissey Hotel Mevagissey
Pisky Cottage b&b Mevagissey
Little Pisky Cottage B&B Mevagissey, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Pisky Cottage B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.