We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good random choice for a Friday night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wheelhouse

Wheelhouse
West Wharf, Mevagissey, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 28 Restaurants in Mevagissey
Price range: $10 - $20
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A good random choice for a Friday night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We arrived about mid-Friday evening and asked for a table which was offered immediately. Decore is typical Cornish dark wood, trying to look like a period tavern, but it was clean and comfortable and overlooks the harbour.

Drinks arrived promptly and the food after an appropriate time to cook it well. My "Seafeast" was unfortunately that. Rarely is my stomach smaller than my appetite but this time I had to leave some of what was an excellent meal, whilst my wife ate all of hers and enjoyed it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    75
    33
    26
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
blackpool
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great food superb setting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Second time here great value fresh seafood and service. Fresh sardines mixed fish platter and lots of other tasty items on the menu. Looking out over the harbour its a good place to watch the world go by and we will definitely be back. Thanks.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feltham, Middlesex
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“it's ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

not the best place in mevagissey to go, but it's ok to stop for a refreshing drink whilst walking around.
I have never eaten in here,

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Basic fare robotically served”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Lunch in this quayside restaurant in Mevagissey was disappointing. Although the rooms were quite attractively set out and provided with basic seating, the whole experience was rather depressing. Service was quick and efficient but completely without warmth or concern for the paying punter. Food was delivered quickly but the pasty was under- microwaved, bland and with a hard dry crust. Sandwiches were under filled and poor value for money.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely food and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We went into this restaurant just expecting the usual food - chips with everything. We ate upstairs and the view over the harbour was great. We had seafood platter and salad and fishcakes and both were delicious - well presented and freshly made. An unexpectedly lovely meal. The staff were friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wheelhouse also viewed

 
Mevagissey, Cornwall
 

Been to Wheelhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheelhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.