We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sportsmans Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sportsmans Arms to your Saves list
Sportsmans Arms
Lower Clicker Road, Menheniot PL14 3PJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Menheniot
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

we stayed here for 2 nights on our way back to the Midlands after touring Devon / Cornwall. Whilst it is not a 'hotel' the rooms shamed many of the hotels we stayed in. Breakfasts were superb and the hospitality of Rob and Chris was second to none- thanks from Tony & Kath

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
16
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Booked a short break here, Christine greeted us and was very friendly. Our room was lovely and spotless. Our bed linen smelt so fresh it was a joy to get into bed!! Room was large with a lovely bathroom too. Our breakfast was lovely and set us up for the day. Even though we only stayed two nights we were made to feel very welcome and would defiantly stay again. Thankyou Christine and Rob for such a pleasant stay. Don't normally write reviews but felt I had to about this hotel. Shame our stay wasn't longer .

Room Tip: We stayed in double and was very roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHRISTINE S, Owner at Sportsmans Arms, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you both VERY much - not just for choosing to stay here but for taking the time to write this nice review. We both wish you well :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I stayed here for one night as I was down in Cornwall for an interview. The welcome I received at the Sportsman's Arms was second to none. Rob and Christine are excellent hosts - friendly, cheerful and nothing is ever to much for them. They really know how to make guests feel at home.

The room was a nice surprise. It was not as small as some others have suggested and came with it's own en-suite. Although this was on the small side I have seen much smaller. It was plenty big enough for me and had no trouble at all. It, along with the rest of the room, was spotless. The room was well-equipped and the bed comfortable. The only slight issue I had was that the wi-fi signal did not reach my room so I couldn't get as much work done as I would have liked.

The advantage of this was that I could spend some time in the bar. The real ale has been kept perfectly - so many pubs these days don't take care of their ales but this isn't the case at the Sportman's. It's a shame that I had to leave early to get to my interview as it meant I didn't get chance to have a breakfast. The breakfast that was being prepared for others smelled fantastic as I was checking out!

All in all an excellent place to spend a night. If I'm back in the area I would definitely stay here again. Thank you for such a warm welcome.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHRISTINE S, Owner at Sportsmans Arms, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review - shame you missed breakfast! Hopefully you will get chance to visit again one day and not have to miss out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Spotless room, comfortable bed, good breakfast and great beer. Christine and Rob really do it well. And they were incredibly helpful too. Even the cat was friendly. I really enjoyed my stay and would recommend the Sportsmans as an ideal base for a holiday in east Cornwall.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHRISTINE S, Owner at Sportsmans Arms, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Fabulous!! Thank you Charlie. You were (both) a pleasure to meet and very entertaining! Hope you enjoy you quieter week in Cornwall too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I stayed for 5 days and the staff were always courteous and friendly, the full breakfast was consistently excellent, and the room was kept clean and tidy. The pub itself was pleasant and there was a good assortment of games to play.

Room Tip: Room One (twin beds), was quiet, had a great view and the bathroom was huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHRISTINE S, Owner at Sportsmans Arms, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thanks Simon - hope you all got back home OK. Thanks for choosing Sportsmans Arms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Excellent stay. The owners were very friendly and accommodating.
They don't do food except for a really good quality breakfast. but there is an excellent restaurant 300 mts away. As we were into sports they have all the main cricket and football etc for the residents to view. There is also a separate guest lounge for peace and quiet if required.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHRISTINE S, Owner at Sportsmans Arms, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you both very much! It was a pleasure looking after you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I came on a business trip. Always welcomed by name, very friendly. The pub is not a noisy one. The room was very clean with good quality bed linen. Nice to have a decent sized bath for once and the towels were lovely and soft. With the great price I will come here again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sportsmans Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsmans Arms

Address: Lower Clicker Road, Menheniot PL14 3PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Menheniot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Menheniot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated for exploring Cornwall and only 300yds off the A38, a traditional pub with large car-park offering accommodation with fresh clean comfortable en-suite rooms priced on a 'room-only' basis. Breakfast can be booked on arrival at either £3.50 for a Light Breakfast or £6 for Full English. Rooms all have flat-screen TV/DVD and a hairdryer and the well-stocked main bar has excellent ales & Sky Sports. There is a large comfortable lounge solely for guests' use. An Italian/English restaurant is at the end of the road, Looe's variety of restaurants are only 5 miles away and the Eden project is approx 30 minutes drive. CYCLISTS - bikes can be stored free of charge in a dry garage. Note: The Sportsmans Arms does not offer an evening meal service. Free Wi-Fi provided although the signal for this can be patchy in some rooms but is good in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sportsmans Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sportsmans Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.