We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Bay - Brilliant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mawgan Porth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge
Mawgan Porth TR8 4DA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Mawgan Porth
Bovey Tracey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Blue Bay - Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

What can I possibly add to the glowing reviews already written about Blue Bay? The guest house and rooms are spotlessly clean, the welcome and attention to customer service are 1st class and the food is absolutely delicious. The location is great for access to the beach at Mawgan Porth and for walking the coast path to explore on foot, or if you really feel the urge to drive about and discover more of the County, then Blue Bay is pretty much smack bang in the centre of the North Cornwall coast, so nowhere would be too far as a motoring excursion. I'm already planning a return visit, and I only got home 2 hours ago!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    17
    2
    4
    4
See reviews for
22
25
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Excellent family run establishment, Pippa, the lady of the house never fails to please with bags of personality and energy, the children are just charming and James , the man of the house, must be Cornwalls best kept secret for his gourmet chef skills, truly gorgeous food whether it be steaks or seafood. The warm and friendly character of the whole of the whole family, including their Border Collie, Patty, seems to attract likewise customers, Dining room overlooks the bay, garden and courtyard area to relax with a beer, chill out and enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Visited as a couple with my 91 year old mother. Accommodation perfect even though she has some mobility difficulties. Pippa and James are superb hosts. They genuinely want everyone to have a great time both in their hotel and in the local area - able to provide information on places to visit etc. Lovely lounge area in which to enjoy a pre-dinner drink, great view over the bay. James is a talented chef and we enjoyed the wonderful dinners we had there. Breakfasts were fabulous, too.
This is a great place to stay if you are a walker. However, the path/road down to the beach is steep so those with mobility difficulties would need to drive down to the bay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The BLue Bay offers an excellent base for travellers. Clean, comfy, great breakfast offerings, lovely sea view despite buildings in front of the location. The beach is gorgeous but down a pretty steep hill if you walk, or you can drive and park in the village where you access the beach on the flat. The hotel boasts a small and fabulous resteraunt, which is used by locals and other visitors so book your table if you want to eat there. Pippa and James run a great place and PIppa is a mine of information about where to go and places to see locally. I chose it because they take dogs but would come back even if i didnt have them. Am due back later in the year for another break and can see many more in the future for me and my 4legged friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We had a wonderful valentine dinner for eighteen people at Blue Bay. It is not easy to cook a la carte for such a large number but it wasn't a problem for James. The menu was superb and each course excellent. The table was beautifully decorated . Pippa had gone to so much trouble moving all the tables around so we were all seated together. All in all a lovely evening with food worthy of any top class restaurant or four star hotel. Well done

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We hosted my 40th birthday party here last night - it was amazing! Pippa and James were just astonishingly helpful - they helped us to plan the night down to the last detail and nothing was too much trouble for them. Having planned it so well, I didn't think I could be surprised - but I was! The food that James provided was completely out of this world - it has to be the best party food I've ever eaten - the staff were incredibly friendly - and all joined in the fancy dress 80s theme!! Pippa worked tirelessly all night to make sure that everyone was supplied with drinks and glow-sticks and the DJ she'd arranged for us was awesome!

I can't recommend this place highly enough - professional, personal service +++. The room we stayed in was beautiful, the breakfast was fantastic (I've never had a three course breakfast before!) and the staff were astonishing. Thank you, Pippa and James - we loved every minute of it, and you guys made it a very special night.

Room Tip: We looked in every room - they were all beautiful! We stayed in one of two family rooms, it was grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We (two couples) stayed at the Blue Bay B&B for two nights at the end of May. The views from that place are fantastic and the breakfast was perfect (also suitable for Vegetarians). The weather was not very nice during our stay but we still enjoyed the individiually decorated rooms and the hospitality of Pippa and her family. Great place to relax!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge

Address: Mawgan Porth TR8 4DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run accommodation and restaurant situated in the seaside village of Mawgan Porth on the north coast of Cornwall. Seaviews, beach 400 metres down private lane, genuine hospitality, quality food a secret shared... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Hotel
Blue Bay Motel
Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge Mawgan Porth, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge to your Saves list