We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mawgan Porth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge
Mawgan Porth TR8 4DA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Mawgan Porth
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We have just returned from our holiday,and a realy big thank you to Pippa and her Staff,who were so friendly and polite,making our stay so enjoyable,our room we stayed was perfect,,the Sandpiper,having our dog Harley,with us,the room opened up on to the patio and garden,Harley just loved the beach,and walks,and settled down in the room,
The Breakfast and Evevning meal,thanks to James,superb,well worth a visit,to their resturant,it is open to non residents,but check first..to book..
Better still take a holiday,relax enjoy..we did and Harley.Best wishes to James and Pippa..and her staff ....

Room Tip: The Sandpiper lovely room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    17
    2
    4
    4
See reviews for
22
25
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Me and 5 other mates stayed here for a weekend. Only bad thing was the weather.

The lodge itself is great, spacey, comfortable and great views of the lovely town of mawgan porth. Flat screen tv and Dvd in lounge. There are 3 bedrooms. A double, twin and a room with 4 single beds so sleeps 8. Theres one shower and 2 toilets.

All the utensils etc are there. Loads of complimentary tea and coffee. Big fridge freezer nice dining area.

James the owner is great, efficient and when we had a problem he sorted it quickly with no problems,

Cant comment on hotel as never went in there but ive heard its good and food is good too.

Will definatley stay here again, very good price and we really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We stayed at the lodge called Surf Riders. Fantastic location, literally a five minute walk to the pub/shops/beach. Rooms were spacious and comfortable, and the lodge was immaculately clean. Free parking and free WiFi were a bonus!

Only problem we had was that the cooker took a long while to heat up.

I would recommend this lodge to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We were a group of carers with special needs people & Pippa & James took it all in their stride, were so welcoming & accomadating. The rooms were lovely, (my shower was probably the best shower I've had in my life!!) and as for James' cooking, the best mussels I've ever eaten. The breakfasts were so hearty, we managed to get away with just a snack for lunch, which helped loads with the budget.

Room Tip: Kingfisher the best view. Sandpiper best shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

What with the weather in May anywhere would have been great as we spent very little time in doors, but the Blue Bay couldn't have been more helpful, welcoming, attentive and professional. It really is a magical hidden gem for a bargain price considering the quality of the food, the location and the personal service the owners James and Pippa offer. From the moment we arrived (after a few detours thanks to TomTom nonsense, it has to be said), the kettle was on and the warm welcome began. Pippa showed us to our room 'Kiwi' and it was as we expected for a hotel of this price, not palatial but clean, fresh with a lovely seaside feel. All the usual facilites. Lovely en suite shower, clean towels and fresh, bright bedding. I always feel silly shelling hundreds out per night for a room you're hardly in, and if you do spend all your time sat in your hotel room watching Pay Per View porn why go on holiday at all? You can get that at home! The main living area and bar is again clean fresh and welcoming, we enjoyed our Yorkshire Gold tea (as James insisted on telling us, followed by a detailed description of planning regulation violations in the Mawgan Porth area, a subject about which he seems to have inexhaustable resources) as we nibbled on a macaroon while Pippa enthusiastically regailed us with tales of the vicinity and things to do. Just wombling down the lovely lane to spend our afternoons laid out like lobsters on the beach is enough for our few days in Cornwall. When you come from Leeds even the sand piles in Jewsons look inviting! The best however was yet to come, by five o'clock James swapped his hotel manager suit for a chef's hat, Pippa donned her (I thought a little conservative) waitress attire (but she's a lovely smile which made up for it) and we sat down to a feast, the likes of which I have not tasted before or since. They call this stretch of Cornwall the 'Cuisine Coast' or Culinary coast or some such, on account of Jamie Oliver's, Rick Stein's, Nathan Outlaw and all the rest of the celebrity chefs that have gravitated to this neck of the woods. But you can take all of them, and their 'ways', stuff 'em with chicken liver parfait, bind 'em up with butcher's twine, saute them off in a little unsalted butter, before lobbing them off the cliff to make an overpriced underseasoned chowder of the lot of them, James's culinary skills leave
them chewing the dust in his wake. No messing about with geometrically interesting plates, stacks of parsnip twizzles or drizzles of goose foot reduction masking what is essentially the emporer's new clothes of eating out we've been spoon fed these last few years of the so called 'British culinary renaissance', not on your Nelly! No, James serves up no nonsense, exceptionally cooked and seasoned, perfectly portioned plates of gastronomic glory! Excuse me if I wax lyrical (as is my wont) but it's refreshing to be served such good, fresh, wholesome food in an unpretentious setting with engaging and gregarious hosts with not a hint of arrogance or snobbishness so often associated with so called Haute Cuisine. Eat here (you don't have to stay) for half the price of your local Chez Twit and you'll come back everytime you revisit Cornwall. My wife and I (and let me tell you he likes to eat) LOVED every mouthful! Highly highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Good points: Homely dog friendly accommodation, located within a five minute walk of a beautiful beach (which also allows dogs). Has glorious views of the beach and ocean (from the front of the hotel), is comfortable with non-objectionable decor (our Sandpiper room was decorated in a nautical/ brittany beach house sort of style), and the food/wine served is exceptionally good (we had breakfast and dinner). It is also ideal for walkers as the South-west coastal path passes by, and the owners have provided helpful guides to areas of interest. All in all we would return/recommend, with a few provisos.
The provisos are:
The path down to the beach is very steep, so the walk back up is arduous for someone who is not very fit /elderly/disabled etc (a solution would be to drive to Mawgan Porth, but parking in the town is not free, or plentiful). The curtains in our room did not block out external light sufficiently, and as there is a street light outside the B&B this caused sleep disturbance (we are country dwellers, so this might not bother town people accustomed to street lights). Sandpiper does not really have a sea-view from it's window, as a side- wall obscures view. The hotel appears slightly tatty here and there. For example: there was a rusting, broken, empty pooper- scooper bag dispenser on wall adjacent to entrance. Similarly there were three bins, a large trampoline, and various toys on display adjacent to entrance, giving an untidy appearance. Internally, our bathroom door lock did not work properly, the bath plug was missing, and sealant between the bath and floor tiles was cracked and chipped, so surfaces were dirty in places. However, it is a homely B&B - not the Ritz.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Blue Bay was an amazing find after looking for a last minute break in Cornwall. Dog friendly hotel on google found Blue Bay for us and although we wanted to stay in the lodges they were full so we opted for the hotel and were so glad we did. Pippa's welcome and hospitality our whole stay was brilliant, James's cooking in the restaurant was heaven -top quality, amazing Cornish breakfasts every morning with a stunning view, I passed on the hogs pudding but cleared my plate every day and never left hungry just set up for the day ahead and the Cornish fresh air.

Our two evening meals in the restaurant were even better, fantastic ingredients and excellent portions, as I do like my food. The cod goujons starter which was more like three fillets with a delicious homemade tartare sauce and the rack of lamb and chicken breast main courses with potatoes and vegetables were stunning. My friend could only manage a starter and dessert one evening but the Eton mess and melting middle chocolate pudding were amazing I was told. Even when the restaurant was full including guests from other hotels we were all well looked after including sightseeing recommendations and I spotted James taking out beans on toast to a younger guest in one of the other rooms before the restaurant opened - the little touches that make you feel like a home from home.

Pippa is a great tour guide recommending the Fire Grill by the beach for dinner on our first evening after our first trip to the fantastic, clean and good surfing, dog friendly beach on our doorstep. She recommended the park and chuff (park n ride train) for our trip to St Ives to avoid the parking trouble and narrow streets and gave recommendations for Tintagel and trips to the Scilly's for other guests. The guest book in the room was brilliant with lots of information about the hotel, nearby area and Cornwall. Mawgan Porth is a fantastic little unspoilt location, a little hilly for overweight unfit me but I managed it and we were in no rush once we arrived and changed to Cornwall time and lost our mobile signal, absolute escape from the ratrace which was just what we needed and a great base for anywhere in Cornwall is driveable from Blue Bay.

Our room was spacious, comfortable, well decorated with coordinating bedspreads and towels, fairtrade and organic tea, coffee (including decaf) and hot chocolate. We had a view of the sea from our side window every morning which reminded us of our beautiful location. Our room was upstairs in the roof with an ensuite shower room with slanting roof but we showered and were out we didnt go to spend a long weekend in our room (so it wasnt a bother just a great use of space) although the fresh air and food had us in bed by 10 every night. We even had a sofa in our room rather than just your beds to sit on and a fantastic residents lounge to use anytime of the day or night.

I cant recommend Blue Bay enough except I don't want the hotel to be fully booked when I want to go back again. After a couple of days stay it felt like we'd been there forever on our 5 day/4 night stay and we were already planning our next couple of stays this year - a long weekend and a week in summer so my friend can learn to surf. Other guests were also checking availability as they checked out to go back and stay again. I'm not a dog owner although we took a dog with us but I will go back to the hotel with or without a dog, recommend this hotel to everyone I know and count down the days till I can go back again.

Please note dogs are not allowed in the restaurant and bar, even the familys dog, and we were advised that the carpets and linens are cleaned after each dogs stay.

Thanks Pippa and James for a great Easter Holiday.

Room Tip: Eat in the restaurant - the food is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge

Address: Mawgan Porth TR8 4DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run accommodation and restaurant situated in the seaside village of Mawgan Porth on the north coast of Cornwall. Seaviews, beach 400 metres down private lane, genuine hospitality, quality food a secret shared... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Hotel
Blue Bay Motel
Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge Mawgan Porth, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge to your Saves list