We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true chill-out family friendly cottage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mawgan Porth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth
Save
You added Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Merlin Farm, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A true chill-out family friendly cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

As a couple plus wonderful yet rowdy toddler, we are always on the look out for accommodation that gives us some contemporary me-time and yet still manages to tick the family friendly box.

Constantine cottage at Merlin Farm was really all we needed for a fabulous week long break. Super-comfy beds, super bathroom, wonderful open plan living space, and just enough farm animals to convince our son he was getting a true country experience.

Mawgan Porth beach was not far away at all and a beautiful epic space, perfect for sandcastles and splashing, and a few handy convenience stores if you run short of anything.

Lucy and Darrel have though of everything and seemed to be always on hand yet unobtrusive. Some thoughtful touches in the (Smeg) fridge including some bubbly and Easter eggs really added to my birthday week!

We used their suggested babysitter Dee on several nights who we couldn't have been happier with. Recommended if you want a non child trip to some of the wonderful restaurants nearby.

What a lovely place to go to, I can't imagine anyone not enjoying themselves in such a great corner of Cornwall.

For once we are all WELL RESTED!

Room Tip: Fabulous babysitter - ask for Dee If you get a chance pop along to the day spa at the Scarlet (down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyCW007, Owner at Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review of Constantine Eco Cottage. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Merlin Farm and delighted to hear that despite being busy parents with a toddler that you experienced a restful stay. We hope to see you again ! Lucy & Darrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
46
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiveliscombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We give a 6* rating for Porthcothan eco-cottage - the clever orientation of SE facing picture window with the high-up ceiling Veluxs for warm air circulation meant we could relax all day inside and out on the patio and in the garden on the playframe with our toddler.

Lucy & Darrel's attention to the finest of details is superb - from classy toddler cutlery & crockery to the sumptuous bedding and great REN toiletries! They are the perfect hosts and congratulations to you for all your efforts.

A stroll by the PV farm and through the copse to the beach instilled calm and motivation to live an eco-life.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

This place is everything you could wish for in a family holiday. We stayed with our two boys, harry 4 & ollie 1 and we needn't have packed all that we did as there was so much there including baby monitor and even a baby food blender!!!! We stayed in one of the Eco cottages which I would highly recommend as they are so gorgeous inside and the views are stunning. The cottages are really well placed for seeing Cornwall. If I had one gripe it would be that we didn't get to meet the owners of such a lovely place, the key was in the door when we got there and we were to leave it in the door when we left!! I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this to family and friends..... In fact I already have. :-) enjoy!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed in Daymer in early October. The accomodation was of a high quality with fine fittings. The studio style layout worked well and was ample for a couple. The cottages are situated centrally in Cornwall which makes it perfect to visit the beauty of this wonderful county. The only thing that would of enhanced our stay would have been a bigger bed (as mentioned by a previous traveller) as there was enough room.
We have recommended our stay to all our friends and will definately stay here again when visiting Cornwall

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed in the Daymer cottage for a week. Our main reason for staying was to attend a wedding at nearby Bedrutha Steps but did not wish to pay the extortionate prices charged. The cottage and location had everything you could wish for, the bed was extremely comfortable and the kitchen has all accessories and items you could wish for. The owners were welcoming and friendly and any request was only a "text" away. The only drawback was the length of the uneven track from the main road to the cottages, that said I would have no hesitation in rebooking this accomodation again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Well another wonderful 2 weeks at Merlin, we will be back in December for a week, to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary, and couldn't think of a nice and more welcoming place to be, we have been coming to Merlin Farm for severn years, and have seen so many changes (all for the better) but the recent "green" ones are very good, they now have a mini recycling area and "Pooh" corner is a sight to behold, lol, well done Daryal and Lucy keep up the good work, and thank you for a relaxing and recharging holiday - see you in December

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chafford Hundred
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed for a week in 'The Daymer' cottage. The cottage is beautifully furnished and finished and very cosy and comfortable - perfect size for two people. There is a lovely log burner for those chilly nights and a good size kitchen and bathroom. It also has it's own self contained 'front garden' with a gas bbq, tables, chairs & deckchairs provided. The only thing I would say is that I think this cottage would benefit from a kingsize bed as opposed to the double that is currently there. There was a really useful welcome pack in the cottage which provided us with lots of useful information on places to visit, local supermarkets, places to eat etc. The farm setting was great (as long as you don't mind the cockerels early morning wake up call!!!) and the Horace the donkey was adorable and particularly friendly if you were armed with carrots or apples!!! The farm is in a great location - a 15 minute walk through the neighbouring field takes you down to Mawgan Porth where there is a fabulous beach and also a newsagents, supermarket, pub, surf shop & pasty shop!!! From Mawgan Porth you can do a lovely coastal walk to Watergate Bay or to Bedruthan Steps. Watergate Bay is a 5 minute drive away where we enjoyed a fabulous meal at Jamie Olivers 'Fifteen' and Padstow just 15 minutes drive away. The only fault I can find with this accomodation is the track into the farm as it is uneven and bumpy and difficult to negotiate in a low profile car!!! Would highly recommend Merlin Farm cottages and we hope to visit again in the future. Thanks to our hosts Lucy & Darrell.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth

Address: Merlin Farm, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Mawgan Porth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merlin Farm is a Small Complex of 4-5* Converted Barns and Eco Cottages tucked in the Cornish Countryside a short walk from Mawgan Porth Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Merlin Farm Holiday Hotel
Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merlin Farm Cottages Mawgan Porth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.