We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Merrymoor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mawgan Porth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Merrymoor Inn
Save
You added The Merrymoor Inn to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Mawgan Porth, Mawgan Porth TR8 4BA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Mawgan Porth B&B and Inns
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very good value for money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed one night at the Merrymoor Inn and I have to say we were pleasantly surprised. The outside looks quite dated but the rooms were very clean and new. We would defiantly stay here again at the bay is beautiful and the location of The Merrymoor couldn't be better. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back but I would of thought one of the rooms overlooking the sea would be amazi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynne47, Owner at The Merrymoor Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
So pleased to hear you enjoyed your short stay with us and hope to see you again,hopefully in a seaview room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    35
    12
    9
    4
See reviews for
31
61
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I would like to thank all the staff and management for looking after my dad and me so well. nothing was to much trouble for any of them. The food was excellent, the service we received was brilliant, the rooms were cleaned everyday with fresh supplies of coffee, tea, hot chocolate, biscuits and anything else that we had used. I strongly recommend this hotel for anyone thinking of staying anywhere in Cornwall. you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: there are 7 rooms I think 5 doubles a twin and a single all with on suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynne47, Owner at The Merrymoor Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, it was lovely to see you both again,hope to see you next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

What a little Gem :) stayed here for work for 1 night but will definitely be returning for pleasure soon! Staff were brilliant and food was excellent....they even prepared breakfast earlier for me...
5 out of 5

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed one night in the Merrymoor the bar and eating area is really a bit cafe and canteen like
but the rooms are lovely.
There's a good restaurant at a place called the Fire 30 seconds away and plenty of good ones in the local area. But as I said the rooms are contemporary with amazing big modern en-suit.
I stayed there one night and booked through Hot Rooms for £55.00 well worth it

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynne47, Owner at The Merrymoor Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your review,we are pleased to here you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We go on holiday to this are of the North Cornish Coast at least once per year. We always make a point of going to the Merrymoor several times whether we are staying in Mawgan Porth or anywhere else. For us this is simply the bet pub in the area by a mile.

The food is always fantastic and reasonably priced. Wife and children always have the Smoothered Chicken, which according to them has not been beaten by any other restaurant we have ever visited.

For me a pint of Doombar in the garden in the late afternoon sun looking out over the beach is just magical.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynne47, Owner at The Merrymoor Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
So pleased to hear that you always enjoy your visits to us, hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The food was brilliant and good value for money. The staff were friendly and polite and the barman will crack a joke or two if you're in need of it. The view from the restaurant is absolutely stunning. We had a fantastic meal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynne47, Owner at The Merrymoor Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to us and hope to see you again soon,
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed here Mon - Fri 27th - 31st May, We arrived in rain and a little earlier than expected, not a problem we were shown straight to our room, Everything about the Merrymoor was good, an excellent view lovely staff and very good waiting staff who always seemed busy, in fact one girl was there at breakfast, then doing rooms then lunch went home for a couple of hrs and was back for the evening rush, were she greeted us with a smile thank you ( Sarah ) I think that was her name. We had great breakfasts with the most amazing tasting eggs I have had in along time, we had our evening meal here mainly because it was so convenient but it never disappointed. If you need any local knowledge just ask they are more than happy to help with where to go walking or places to visit. We came to Mawgan Porth as my husband used to visit as a child and wanted to revisit to see how things had changed. Would we go back.... definitely :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynne47, Owner at The Merrymoor Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, l will pass on your comments to all the staff, especially Sarah! Hope to see you again,
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Merrymoor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrymoor Inn

Address: Mawgan Porth, Mawgan Porth TR8 4BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mawgan Porth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Merrymoor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eat Drink Sleep and Relax in our Family run beachside Freehouse midway between Newquay and Padstow and only 1 and a half miles from Newquay Airport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Merrymoor Hotel Mawgan Porth
The Merrymoor Inn Mawgan Porth, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Merrymoor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.