We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time was just as good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bedruthan Hotel & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mawgan Porth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Clifftop, Mawgan Porth TR8 4BU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Mawgan Porth
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“2nd time was just as good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

You no when you do something once and it's amazing then you go back and do it and it doesn't quite match the time before well the first time that has happened to me was with this hotel when we went and stayed the Saturday just gone....to anyone even considering this hotel it's a 100% must!! I took my girlfriend for a night away and we only live twenty miles away but it seemed so far away. A sea view room is a must and eat down stairs in the restaurant. You will fall in love with this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    307
    127
    45
    23
    11
See reviews for
267
107
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

from the outside its easy to be a bit disappointed by the lonnnnng line of car park facing bedroom windows dressed only by boring old net curtains. Luckily we had paid for a sea facing room and it was bright and nicely designed, though the bathroom was small and a little dark. But wifi was free and I got to use shampoo soap for the first time.
It was a brilliantly sunny day which no doubt was a factor in giving the place a 5 star rating. Though we all enjoyed dinner in the restaurant - lobster starters followed by Cornish fish stew, all washed down with a couple of bottles of white Rioja. We also had a pre-dinner drink at the Scarlet Hotel across the road in the early evening sunshine.
People with kids will lap this place up as there is much for them to do but we were able to have a great one night stay without falling over any toddlers and the restaurant was thankfully free of them.
Go when it's sunny.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We've spent 5 days here and cannot fault it.
If you have children, it's a great place to bring them, the staff are friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble , and they should be proud of the friendly vibe they create here.
The food is excellent. In addition to the fixed menu in the wild cafe, they have a list of specials that change every day, all good restaurant quality.
If the weather is bad, there is an excellent soft play room for the kids, and an indoor heated swimming pool.
The views from the rooms are great, overlooking the bay, the beds are comfy, and proper cots are provided for little ones.
I would genuinely recommend this hotel to anyone, we brought our 1 year old twins here and were made to feel totally welcome, and we would definately come again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel should literally be for families only & should come with a warning for people travelling without children. Also the fact that it is dog friendly & child friendly really is not a good mix & I think it would be a good idea just to concentrate on the children which I have to say they do very well & if you have small kids then it's a great place to go. The food is very average and the menu is very limited, after eating in the Wild Cafe once that was quite enough. The breakfast however is the best part serving a hot & cold buffet. Overall the whole place has the feel of an upmarket holiday camp. I travel alot and this hotel will not be featuring on my return to list.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife treated me to an afternoon at the Spa centre.

Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam room, swimming pool - followed by a massage. Felt totally pampered and relaxed

Brilliant views overlooking Mawgan Porth bay whilst on a sun lounger relaxing with a herbal tea between all the above

Room Tip: Did not stay at the hotel - live locally
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

After travelling from Torquay because of a bad choice of hotel, we ended up at Bedruthan Hotel & Spa. We got there late and was given a car park view room, we asked if anything better was available and was upgraded to a sea view, we would have been happy to pay extra, but we think we overpaid as we booked last minute. The lady who helped us at reception was very good and made sure we settled in well. Unfortunately we moved on the next day so had no time to enjoy the spa, so cannot comment on that. It is an older building, clean, tidy and we had a nice breakfast, despite having to pay extra for kippers!

Room Tip: Make sure you dont get a Car Park view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Went with 4 ladies. The building from outside looks rough and once inside the spa is lovely! Bubble pool over looking the sea. Very relaxing lovely lunch and massage worth the money I paid and I will be going back

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bedruthan Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedruthan Hotel & Spa

Address: The Clifftop, Mawgan Porth TR8 4BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedruthan Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cornwall's Large Hotel of the Year 2010/11 and Enjoy England's Sustainable Tourism Business of the Year. Bedruthan offers magnificent views over the Atlantic, an award-winning restaurant, indoor and outdoor pools, children's clubs and a stunning Ocean Spa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bedruthan Steps Mawgan Porth
Hotel Bedruthan Steps
Bedruthan Steps Hotel
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa Mawgan Porth, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bedruthan Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bedruthan Hotel & Spa to your Saves list