We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful in every way.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bedruthan Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bedruthan Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mawgan Porth, Mawgan Porth TR8 4BU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St Ives
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful in every way.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just got back from my second stay at Bedruthen. My last visit was a treat from my boss as a staff get together. We had a fantastic time as agroup of girls having a fun evening and I couldn't wait to come back again with the whole family. I was not dissapointed. Even before I arrived I had had several phone calls with various departments and was blown away by how genuine and helpful all of the staff are.

The facilities for children are amazing and they do try to think of everything to cater for children making life so much easier and relaxing for parents whilst still keeping a high level of style & sophistication.

I can't sing their praise enough. The best review I can give is that my 6 year old daughter said she wishes that we could live there!

Room Tip: It's worth getting a room with a sea view as the alternative view is the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    164
    55
    28
    15
See reviews for
316
146
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have just returned from our 3rd visit in as many years from Bedruthan, having spent a week in a sea view family suite with our two children, 5 and 9 years old and we are counting the days until we can return next year. The hotel is so comfortable and relaxed, it's like being at home and the staff look after you so well - nothing is too much trouble. Our children love all the facilities - as a parent you come back feeling very rested because the hotel goes out of their way to make everything easier for you. The rooms are spotless, the food is fantastic and the staff in the restaurant were wonderful, especially to our children, making sure their food was just how they wanted it. We had a wonderful time and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Having stayed a few times over the last 3 years, ths was our first visit since the new restaurant had opened and once again it was a wonderful visit. Fantastic and knowledgable team, nothing s too much trouble. So the hotel is relaxed and comfortable. The new restuarant is terrific and matches the whole ethos of the hotel by being very high quality yet totally relaxed with amazing views.
Thanks again to all the team for another great stay. We will be back very soon

Room Tip: It's worth the extra for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eyam
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

OK......so Bed Steps is an Icon in our family. First came in the 1960s as a child when holidays were "proper" - i.e. you only got one a year, it was the only time you got to spend time with your Dad, and the journey took three days, two of which were spent in a traffic jam on the A30.
Remember when Jungle Rumble was a Cinema.......heck I remember it being built!
We have been coming back with our boys for a few years now, but not for a couple of years. As there are many young children we were not sure how well it would go as our boys are now 14 and 9.
All communal areas have been refurbed and feel great. However biggest change is the end of children's tea. Wasn't sure whether or not this would work. It does mean that the bedlam that was children's tea that was contained has now spread to the Wild Cafe. We did eat there one night and though the food was fine, there were, understandably, a lot of children and they were very busy. Certainly more informal than the old main restaurant, so moving with the times which may or may not suit you.
Easily solved by eating in the Herring. This restaurant was great. It is the lower area that used to be the cafe. Food was great, really good and comparable to many well known Restaurants. It is quiet and makes the best of the fabulous views. Service was great-subtle but attentive. Really good wine selection at reasonable prices.
So........... Overall Bed Steps is still great. The main restaurant is now the Wild Cafe and is more informal. We prefer the formality but that is easily solved by Eating in The Herring which is great. Our boys loved it as much as ever and planning to come back in October.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was our first visit to Cornwall. Visited as a family,2 kids. We had a villa style room overlooking the beach,amazing views.
We never saw our children in the mornings as there was so much to do.A large playground area,huge trampoline,zip line. Inside there is a soft play area and a great pool. As it was busy we had to book a half hour slot,the attendant kindly extended it to an hour as they wernt as busy as they thought. Its really safe.
One nice touch is the jugs of water and beakers the kids can help themselves to,these are dotted around the hotel.
The owners seeem to have thought of everything,even trugs where guests can leave buckets and spades etc their children no longer need.
The breakfast is lovely,attentive service and we always found a table even though it was very busy.
There is also an evening show for kids. Ours enjoyed the animal show and the disco.
The building,as everyone says,is not the most attractive from the outside. Inside is a different matter,great modern furnishings.
Some people have moaned about the carpark. If you cant park directly in front of the hotel its about a 20 second walk to the overflow.
The only gripe i have is mobile phone reception,not the hotels fault, but it is frustrating.
Would definately go back.

Room Tip: If you have kids choose a villa room facing the playground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We now seem to have established an ongoing family tradition of staying for a week at the Bedruthan Hotel and Spa (f. k.a. Bedruthan Steps Hotel) in the Easter school holidays, this time in March and again, for the third time, as three generations with ages ranging from 4 to 80. The experience is too good to miss and once again we enjoyed it immensely.

The staffing level seems to have increased if anything, with a group of really nice people ready to look after the children for a daily range of optional activities and enjoyment. Again, as before, the adults' needs are not forgotten, with separate restaurant seating arrangements if required (we love them to bits but not always at breakfast) and a grown-ups only quiet lounge with PC facilities with a good library of books and magazines.

The breakfast buffet here is quite exceptional in both range and quality. The "award-winning" sausages are the best we have tasted in any hotel, and all the other items are excellent, with extra plaudits for the field mushrooms and the full dish of Marmite. So many items are made on the premises including a superb meusli, stand-out marmalade and fresh fruit salad, and local sourcing is the rule rather than the exception..

A childrens' evening meal is served as a separate event. The two restaurants provide very good grown-up food, but for the more robust appetite I recommend the Wild Cafe, as the food at the Herring is excellent but served in rather dainty portions. The system of a personal daily allowance for what might be called "half-board" allows total flexibility as to what you choose to eat and drink at whatever time during each day.

The structure and positioning of the hotel will not create the best impression at first sight, as it is fronted by the car park and service arrangements, presenting its fair face to the sea and beach view, but don't let this put you off. Once through the entrance the facilities and decor are excellent. Among its many assets, the hotel's staff are outstanding, clearly well-trained and without exception dedicated to giving the best possible service with a smile.

The Bedruthan gained the top award as the best large hotel in Cornwall in 2012, which is well-deserved. It is difficult not to give it the maximum points for every aspect and I cannot recommend it too highly. (As we have not used the Spa, I am unable to comment, but the indoor pool is great)

Room Tip: Whilst the family rooms have sea views, the twin rooms are mainly facing inland. A programme of red...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

2 nice restaurants, good sea views from both. Both a bit on the expensive side, is it value for money? Depends what you are after. Nicely cooked food but not big helpings, friendly service, part hotel is dog friendly, so a nice place overall for a special treat

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bedruthan Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedruthan Hotel & Spa

Address: Mawgan Porth, Mawgan Porth TR8 4BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedruthan Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cornwall's Large Hotel of the Year 2010/11 and Enjoy England's Sustainable Tourism Business of the Year. Bedruthan offers magnificent views over the Atlantic, an award-winning restaurant, indoor and outdoor pools, children's clubs and a stunning Ocean Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Bedruthan Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedruthan Steps Mawgan Porth
Hotel Bedruthan Steps
Bedruthan Steps Hotel
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa Mawgan Porth, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bedruthan Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.