We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“jolly good jolly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thorncliff

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mawgan Porth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thorncliff
Save
You added Thorncliff to your Saves list
Trenance, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Mawgan Porth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
caersws
1 review
“jolly good jolly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

liked what we saw when booking on line,really liked all on our short stay,best breakfast ever! gary and rebecca made our visit very special and will go again soon,must try suite number one! but room two was really nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca B, Owner at Thorncliff, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Christine & Roy, many thanks for your kind words, it's most appreciated. Hope to see you again.
Best wishes, Rebecca & Garry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chardstock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

my husband and i stayed at the Thorncliff Hotel mawgan porth for three wonderful days.
we visit cornwall at least twice a year and have stayed in many hotels and b&b's over the years but the Thorncliff is by far the best we have stayed in, fantastic room, great views and gary and rebecca the owners, made us feel so welcome and at home.
Thorncliff is a luxury b&b, and we have recommend it to our family and friends, we plan to return in july or september and are really looking forward to another relaxed, stress free stay at the Thorncliff, can't wait.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Mawgan Porth is a well loved holiday destination for my husband and I but this was our first visit to Thorncliff and what a lucky find it was. We received a warm welcome from Rebecca and Gary and really enjoyed meeting them and sharing experiences. Our room (Room 2) overlooked the beach and was spacious, clean and comfortable with a large ensuite with a corner bath. Tea, coffee (decaf sachets next time please!),fresh milk, biscuits and bottles of water provided in the room each day. Breakfast was delicious - selection of cereals, yogurts, fresh fruit and croissants followed by an exceptional cooked breakfast using local produce.Thank you Rebecca and Gary, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca B, Owner at Thorncliff, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Hi Ann & David,
many thanks for taking the time to review us.
Decaf now available in the rooms - apologies for overlooking this during your stay.
Really glad you enjoyed your stay & look forward to seeing you again.
Best Wishes
Rebecca & Garry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOWRA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

Welcome exceptional, very large clean room with incredible views of ocean was outstanding. Breakfast was scrumptious with amusing/interesting conversation to boot from owners and other guests. Only criticism is how to actually locate, however constant mobile contact with owners alleviates any problems finding this B & B. Numerous restaurants in vicinity help in making your stay so easy. We would have loved to stay longer as there is so much to see and do in the area. Would definitely recommend and hope to come back again in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca B, Owner at Thorncliff, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Hi Vicki & Ken,
many thanks for your kind words, really glad you enjoyed your stay.
Hope the rest of your trip is as memorable.
Look forward to seeing you again - on either side of the globe!
Best wishes
Rebecca & Garry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Travelled down to Cornwall on a whim to make the most of our Indian Summer, happened across this fabulous B&B by pure chance. We stayed in the large suite with kingsize bed, 42" plasma, large en-suite and double patio doors, which lead out onto the private balcony overlooking the beach. Our hosts made us really welcome even though it was rather late when we arrived. As others have said the breakfast is lovely, good selection of cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt, croissants and well cooked full English.. would definately stay again, maybe with a little more notice next time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorsch, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

an excellent bed & breakfast, the best we have had so far - lovely breakfast, a lovely atmosphere and great hosts -

Room Tip: room nr. 1 the best you can choose - a wonderful view, an excellent room with a great view of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We came down for a weekend to get our Cornwall "fix" and this place is fantastic.We stayed in room 4 which had it's own balcony with great views of the beach at Mawgan Porth.The room itself was very spacious, with large flatscreen TV and a large bathroom.The breakfast was amazing, really tasty and well cooked. A great time was had!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thorncliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorncliff

Address: Trenance, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mawgan Porth
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 5 Star Bed and Breakfast accommodation with stunning views overlooking Mawgan Porth Bay. Fabulous suites, award-winning breakfast & hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thorncliff Mawgan Porth, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thorncliff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.