We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the top 5 campsites we have visited!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mawgan Porth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park
Save
You added Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   Mawgan Porth | Near Padstow, Mawgan Porth TR8 4BQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“In the top 5 campsites we have visited!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

My fiancée, 2 little pups and I visited this lovely campsite last year. We were very lucky with the week we chose as the weather was great all week long! We arrived at the campsite and were greeted by friendly and welcoming staff. We camped next to the stream in the lower field which was so tranquil on the evenings. The campsite was very clean well maintained, and catered very well for folk with children. The only criticism we had was that the dryer in the laundry room was quite expensive and seemed to only warm the clothes. This was only a minor issue and we will most definitely be visiting again!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    16
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Beautiful surroundings , lovely staff and owners and a policy of quiet after 10.30pm which if some idiots can't adhere to , they get asked to leave. This means you don't get morons on the site ruining your holiday and keeping the kids awake etc.

Fantastic facilities , fridges/freezers available - wetsuit washing station , lovely clean showers and toilets.Ducks and Guinea pigs and a brilliant playground for the kids - Fourth time staying here and will return year after year.

Excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was our second visit to Sun Haven Valley and it won't be our last. We're not campers we stay in their static caravans which are excellent value and are located looking over a well kept lawn with the occasional duck,chicken and guinea pig for company.The Caravan we stayed in was perfect for us and our daughter and it was so clean and well cared for despite being one of their cheaper models. All the staff at Sun Haven Valley are so cheerful and welcoming and don't hesitate to answer any questions about the surrounding area.
Sun Haven Valley is in the most perfect location we have ever stayed in and we have stayed in many sites over the years. A 20 minute walk down a tree shaded lane will take you to the beach at Mawgan Porth and if you're feeling more energetic to the bays beyond.

Mawgan Porth is in the perfect location for visits to all the Cornwall attractions if you like exploring I would recommend a visit to the Tin Mines at Geevor and Levant the views are breathtaking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is our 2nd year to the site, and one of the reasons we came back was what every single review mentions - the silence policy. As previously mentioned there are patrols to ensure the rule is adhered to.... if you can't stand the heat...

Very friendly and helpful staff. We choose to camp on a stream side pitch as the only 'neighbours' close to you are left and right which suits us fine. We have a 9 year old who we feel very comfortable with allowing her off the leash a little more than we are able to at home. The park was used everyday and the guinea pigs were visited and patted (wish I could say the same about the one at home !)
Shower block clean, but at times the foot traffic proved too much, however when this happened I noted that the block was closed for full clean.
There is a small wooden building which houses leaflets, maps, books and magazines - brilliant idea and informative.
The small on-site shop has the essentials and even if they don't have what you want the staff are that accommodating that they offered their own soup from their kitchen cupboards.
The walk is a 20 min pleasant walk, mainly off-road to the beach. The beach shops will cater for all your needs for a full day/evening on the beach.
We had a great holiday and didn't let the weather spoil it, and having spoken to many of the campers, you tend to notice that they are mostly 'returners' and once again it's the noise policy which seemed to be a big pull.

Thanks Helen, Steve and all - had a great time !

Room Tip: Stream side pitches are quieter - unless you can't cope with the constant 'babbling brook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed here in August in our campervan with a six year old and a dog. We had an extra large pitch which was roomy with plenty of space for awning table and chairs, etc. The site is in a valley with no phone signal and about a twenty minute pleasant, flat, off road country walk to Mawgan Porths lovely big surfy beach (dog friendly). O2 has no signal in Mawgan Porth either. The site is pretty with floral beds and free roaming guinea pigs,ducks and chickens, entertaining for the kids. The playpark is quite large and well kept, suitable for toddlers and up to about 12 I would think. The toilet blocks are ok. They werent as spotless as some we've stayed at but they were quite clean straight after cleaning, although deteriorated throught the busy times. The fold out chairs in the showers could do with a good clean. We did have to queue for showers at the busiest times. Other reviews state how strict the owners are about quiet after 10.30, but this suited us and we were glad of it. There are lots of mention of keeping dogs on leads etc, but the owners dog ran loose! There is a small shop in reception which does have a fair bit in it and a farm shop next door with nice sausage. There is no motorhome point, so the owners have to lift a manhole to empty waste water, an inconvenience for them and a bit restrictive in a motorhome as you have to wait for someone to lift it. We did find the owner and staff friendly and pleasant. I would stay here again as overall the positives outweigh the negatives and the owners are moving through a programme of upgrading.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We have just returned from our fifth holiday here and once again we loved it. The site is perfect for down to earth families with children who understand how to amuse themselves and play in a traditional old fashioned way with all the other children. The large grassy area means that they make friends and come together to play football, frisbee etc whilst the adults enjoy a BBQ

Room Tip: You get what you pay for
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

well maintained and clean site. caravan we stayed in was fine for the four of us. very quiet site, perfect for families. i actually thought the emphasis on silence late at night made this a very enjoyable stay. good play park and free roaming ducks and guinea pigs made it a toddlers dream. 20 minute walk to Mawgan Porth beach with its restaurant, pub surf hire etc. would visit again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park

Address: Mawgan Porth | Near Padstow, Mawgan Porth TR8 4BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Mawgan Porth
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful, relaxing, self-contained, self-catering bungalows (& holiday caravans) on a countryside park just 10 minutes woodland walk from a large sandy beach ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park Mawgan Porth, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.