We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely park but some old vans” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mawgan Porth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park
Save
You added Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   Mawgan Porth | Near Padstow, Mawgan Porth TR8 4BQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lovely park but some old vans”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here generally. The park itself was beautiful and the location fantastic. Just a 10 minute walk to the beach and nice and quiet in the countryside. There were ducks and guinea pigs running round which was nice for kids. It was quiet and just what we needed to relax. However, when we arrived we were surprised to see such a mix of new and very old vans. We were put in an old van, must have been from the 80's very dated and worn out. It was also not overly clean, we had to wash all the cutlery when we got there as it was dirty and so were the insides of the cupboards where the plates and dishes were. We left all this feedback with the park when we left. Also as it was September, on an evening it was slightly chilly and we wanted to light the fire, however it didn't work. This was reported to reception twice and neither time was it dealt with so we just left it and went without. Overall a lovely park but I would make sure you a get a newer van.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunHavenValley, Owner at Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Sun Haven Valley sits in manicured grounds, on the side of a hill overlooking the valley's countryside, and we see no reason to restrict the Parks' availability to only those with deep pockets. We therefore offer a range of accommodation , from residential quality bungalows with central heating and double glazing - or a three bedroom caravan (with c/h, d/g) in the parks prime position having a private terrace overlooking the park; - or you can simply take a standard holiday caravans,- OR - for the last time in September 2011 you could have saved £44 ( before discounts) on the weeks accommodation and selected one of our 1997 "value" caravans - (the 1997 caravans were replaced in November 2011 in a rolling upgrade program).

We note that we do not "allocate" caravans. Customers select the type of van they take based on price (12 categories available) but are also able to select their individual caravan from the interior pictures of each caravan posted on the internet, - so there is no need of "suprises" on arrival.

Our 1997 caravans were fully let for the 2011 season by the many people who prioritise the park and countryside above the patterns on the wallpaper and the intensity of colours in the upholstery, and these customers have taken them in the manner they were offered - as a "good-value" option. (Those who pre-booked the same caravans in advance for 2012 will be receiving upgrades f.o.c.) It seems perhaps unreasonable to take the cheapest van and then complain that it isn't as new as the others ?

We pride ourselves on the standard of cleanliness as it produces many repeat bookings. Of course every cleaner can have an off day - and when we are informed on arrival that a vans state of cleanliness needs attention, we will sort the problem out. We encourage feedback as we can identify and train the cleaning staff concerned , but clearly there is nothing we can do ( except apologise ) if we are only informed a week later . We note that the major complaint was dirty cutlery and not dirty kitchen/bathroom/lounge.

I was able to light the gas fire without a problem - as was my teenage daughter - and the only fault the gas plumber could diagnose was 'operator error'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    16
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

if you want a good holiday stay from this one the owner is mad he will make your stay awfull trust us

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunHavenValley, Owner at Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
At Sun Haven Valley we enforce our well advertised ""silence after 10.30pm"" policy on the park. Customers are told of this policy on our website; it is in our terms and conditions and we even go so far as to have a dedicated web page to explain the phrase ""silence after 10.30pm"". The same policy is then communicated to customers twice more in writing and on arrival we verbally stress the importance of this policy on our no-club, no-bar site - but being told five times is still not enough for some. Every year, when the night wardens have spoken to particular families several times more and they continue to spoil the holidays of other campers and we continue to receive complaints, then we do finish up 'asking' some groups to leave the site. In one example this year an enquiry from a national camping organisation vindicated our policy and actions just before this review was posted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park

Address: Mawgan Porth | Near Padstow, Mawgan Porth TR8 4BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Mawgan Porth
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful, relaxing, self-contained, self-catering bungalows (& holiday caravans) on a countryside park just 10 minutes woodland walk from a large sandy beach ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park Mawgan Porth, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Haven Valley Country Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.