We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relaxing environment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Scarlet Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Scarlet Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Scarlet Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Mawgan Porth
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

We stayed at The Scarlet for 3 nights recently and loved it!
The best parts were:
-light and spacious spaces all round the hotel to relax in and curl up on a chair in the sun looking out to the sea and sky, very tranquil, stunning views. Local top quality artwork and sculptures around the hotel were unique.
-the swimming pool was gorgeous and plenty of times during the day was empty so easy to swim in peace, especially every morning before breakfast as we did!
-delicious food for breakfast e.g. homemade bread, jams, muesli, eggs florentine - all excellent quality.
-staff were really helpful and friendly
-beautiful light room, well furnished and finished (ours was a generous room on coastal gardens level)

Perhaps the only slight thing was we had a delicious dinner one evening, but for £15-£20 for a main the portions were a little small, so it was quite an expensive meal. We went to Jamie Oliver's Fifteen and No.6 at Padstow which were both fantastic meals.

All in all though, would highly recommend it as somewhere to relax and rejuvinate in peace.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    653
    137
    42
    13
    8
See reviews for
33
678
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
uk
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

We arrived about 3pm for our minimooon to be told our room wasn't ready yet, but we could have some complimenatry (turned out they weren't) drinks on the fantastic terrace. After about 1.5hrs we were told our room was ready and shown to the room - but no tour of hotel/facilities.
Room was lovely - one up from the basic room - and great private and uniterupted view of the beach/sea. However the shower room had no where to leave your bathroom products, lacked in hooks o hang anything and with no adjustable shower head.
Our complimenatry coffee and tea arrived but with a miniscule milk jug and no biscuits which you come to expect even in the basic of hotels theses days. Our water was topped up but not everyday as explained.
The spa was lovely - nice indoor pool, outdoor natural rock pool and especially loved the outdoor hot tubs! We had two treatments booked which they messed up the timings for and which were supposed to be the same but very different when we actualy had them!
Meals were nice but very expensive for the amount you got, breakfast was lovely but had to wait for up to twenty mins to just get a tea/coffee at times!
Don't order the 'snacks/nibbles' as these were a complete joke! Trying to serve 'deli' style snacks which were very expensive and not much food to speak of!
We decided to take up the handbooks suggestion of going body boarding and that they could sort out our hire of equipment - the staff didn't really know who to contact, or tell us where to go (we eventually were told to go to the Bedruthan Steps and ask at reception)
Despite all this we did enjoy our stay - hotel is quiet, relaxing and staff are friendly if lacking in ability to relate to their guests.
I certainly would question whether it is worth the full price - it is certainly a different kind of hotel and has a lot of qualities to offer - just need to work on living up to expectations set

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

Even with a 820 mile round trip we both thought it well worth it.
Only 6 months since it opened so everything was spot-on, very clean and well presented.
The staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. We had one night in a std room and 2 in an 'indulgence room' both great but the latter very big with everything to make the stay perfect.
I can only find 2 very small things to be very slightly negative on, not enough soap (so get extra to save asking later if you are there more than one night) and sometimes you have to wait a while for your meal in the dinning room, even when you are very relaxed this can be a pain.
We loved it and we will go back again. Not having children staying may be a bind for those who do have them, but added to the peace and tranquility for those who didn't !
Beautiful views out to sea from your beautifuly comfortable bed drinking your complimentary morning tea, delivered by room service, you couldn't wish for anything more relaxing....
Simply Brilliant!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

We stayed over the New Year for three nights and had a marvellous time at this beautiful hotel. The decor is really imaginative and we loved the artwork at every turn. The staff were great and we had fun learning new dance steps and foraging on the cliff top walk. We loved the room, the gala dinner, the pool, the hot tub experience with seaweed - it all added up to a wonderfully relaxing time and a great start to the New Year. Even the weather was good and the views spectacular. Really hope we can return in the summer.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

I just wanted to say a big Thank you to all the staff at The Scarlet. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day New Years break. The whole package was faultless.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

Frankly, as a 'village' Mawgan Porth has nothing to offer (sorry local residents!) - This was a suprise Birthday treat for my husband, so my heart sank as we arrived in the local vicinity. However, all was soon forgotten when we arrived at the hotel. We thought that the 'open' reception area was great - unpretentious and reflected the calm and relaxed stay we were to experience.

The was TV filming going on when we arrived - though not in sight, & I did not get the impression there were any false airs or graces because of them being there.

We were shown to our room and given a complete tour of the hotel. There were lots of nooks and crannies to explore and getting lost in the hotel was half the fun. We requested to see some of the other room types, which they obliged later that afternnon once the rooms were vacated. They were beautiful and stylish. The view from our room was exceptional. The extreme weather was a wonder to watch from the warmth and comfort of our room.

It was gale force & stormy weather during our stay - too dangerous for a coastal path walk to Bedruthan Steps or Padstow (with a bus ride back), so after a short stroll (where we struggled to stand up) through the hotel gardens to the beach below, we sought 2 whole days of refuge in the hotel, enjoying the indoor pool, steam room (which unforunately wasn't working during day 2), spa therapies, and reading books from the 'library' in front of the log fire and enjoying a glass (or was it a bottle!) of Presecco

The room was great ('Just Right'), however my long relaxing bath with a glass of wine was marred by the lack of bubbles! Usual 'complimentary' additions which one takes for granted - hence did not pack, were not available (Body wash, bubble bath) - however they are availble in dispensers in the communal showers in the spa area - so managed to wash my hair there!

We were delighted that children are discouraged from the hotel - Having left our 5 little darlings at home, it felt like a real treat being in a 'grown up' environment. And then an extra treat...there was no mobile phone signal at the hotel! Delighted was I, although a run to the top of the drive enabled the me to check the babysitter was still in one piece.

We thoroughly enjoyed the quirky pieces of art work around the hotel. When we were there, the staff were measuring up for the Christmas tree. We had a lovely chat with the front of house manager, and I shared a few of my initial thoughts, including a suggestion, which had been actioned by the next day. I felt the managers genuinely wanted to hear guests views , comments and experiences.

The food was wonderful - the portions just right - Who wants to leave dinner feeling stuffed and uncomfortable? The service at dinner great and breakfast less great but OK (just one or 2 serving staff let the team down I felt), but you go to the Scarlet with high expectations, and rightly so. As a vegetarian I am used to only 'one' choice on the dinner menu, however I requested a specifc dish, taken from the accompaniments of the other dishes which was done and presented beautifully.

We loved the uniform - the neutral colours and baggy casual attire reflected the image of the hotel well and suited all shapes, sizes and ages.

Two very minor critisms: the Spa reception was not always staffed - I had to wait almost 10 minutes for a towel for the pool, when I took it upon myself to use the staff phone, ring reception and ask for a member of staff to attend the area. They also ran out of Guardian newspapers, and the replaced it with the Independant (There is no suitable alternative to the Saturday Guardian!). I saw Guardians outside other peoples rooms and contemplated swapping for an Independant (Which I did not!) though I wondered how they prioiritised who would be let down :-))

We have now booked for a second stay - The telephone booking was much improved - on the first occasion I wondered if my disinterested teenage daughter had been teleported to the hotels booking desk, though recently it felt like an 'old friend' on the phone and greeted warmly and genuinely.

Any new hotel will have teething problems - staff learning the standards, ethos and values of the owners can not be instilled in a staff training event. It is an ambitious hotel, with high aspirations. There are aspects of 'marmite' (love it or hate it) about elements of the hotel, but these are perifieral - Others criticisms were often the bits I loved - The hotel is as individual as each of its guests. This will be a wonderful hotel to watch 'mature' and to see through the different seasons. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bere Alston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

Stunning location, beautiful views from the bed, warm under-floor heating. Whole hotel had an aura of calmess and peace - this is a perfect getaway for those of you who, like us, just wanted to get away from the distractions and pace of modern life for a few days. The interior seemed to 'flow' from one space to another, lots of large airy rooms which became cosy and warm in the evenings. There are several 'lounge' areas where there are blankets available and log fires lit in the evenings. We spent a good few hours curled up on a sofa with books - and saw only a couple of staff who were checking whether we'd like some complimentary water, tea or coffee. Colour schemes are lovely and the art on show within the building is interesting and enjoyable. The staff are on hand for anything that you need - at any time - but very unobtrusive and professionally relaxed. Food was excellent with a different menu for each meal. The Spa area is also very peaceful, with a variety of options for relaxation (including relaxation pods!). We had a 'just right' room which was comfortably furnished and had two rainfall showers in the open-plan bathroom area. The toilet is only separated from the rest of the room by a 3/4 length glass door - but there are more facilities around the hotel if this is just a little too personal for you. The whole thing is about relaxation and slowing down - a wonderful 3 day break which was well worth the money!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Scarlet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Hotel

Address: Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we are a beautiful 37 bedroom hotel built to the highest eco standards, boasting delicious locally sourced food and the best Ayurvedic inspired spa you can imagine.Discover an escape for grown-ups, to eat, dream and play in peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your The Scarlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scarlet Hotel Mawgan Porth, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Scarlet Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.