We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Scarlet Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Scarlet Hotel to your Saves list
The Scarlet Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

It is hard to add to all the other praise the Scarlet has received. We went on a dark cold February weekend and had an amazing time walking the coastal paths in the mornings, relaxing in the spa in the afternoon, sitting in the seaweed hot tub in the evening and eating their amazing food at night.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
What a magical review of your stay here in February - thank you for taking time out to write it - I really enjoyed reading the way you spent your time and I hope you can escape to The Scarlet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    162
    53
    14
    10
See reviews for
40
825
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
262 helpful votes 262 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

..............and failed miserably to find anything negative to report! The location is fantastic (even on a cold summer day) and the staff friendly but "not in your face". I like the discrete reception arrangement which is something we've encountered elsewhere abroad - the only negative must be the fact you're closely monitored on cctv (so smile!). Thought it strange the car park was so full but later realised a good proportion of visitors must be day users of the spa facilities. Our room was on the first floor with great panoramic views of the bay and headland - the ground floor rooms have direct access to the gardens. The gardens have a nice touch in that areas are left "wild" for insects etc. Although the water in the outdoor pool was too cold to tempt us, the natural beach and pond effect made it blend in nicely.

The room had all mod cons but for some strange reason I couldn't get on with the aircon system. The complimentary tea tray (on request) definitely did not include PG or anything else of the sawdust variety. Personally I found the bed a bit too hard for my liking but that's only a small grumble and does not detract from my overall rating.

We had a dinner with friends and yes it was expensive but then again I felt we got what we paid for and the waiting staff were cheerful and accepted my witty? banter without obvious complaint! Enjoyed a nice bottle of wine (I think 144) but would have preferred draft ale to the bottled variety.

Sad to have only stayed for one night but looking at the expensive cars in the car park (and I own a mercedes!) would guess too much indulgence would require me to work for an extra year beyond my intended retirement date!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
What a lovely review! - thank you for taking the time to write it, and I hope we can tempt you down for longer stay next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I spent enjoyable family holidays at the previous hotel on the site of where the Scarlet now stands in an enviable position over looking the Sands of Mawgan Porth.

The indulgent room was spectacular, the service great, the spa facilities including the cliff top hot tubs made it for a memorable weekend.

Will visit again

Room Tip: Room number 1!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
It was very interesting to read your review as you had stayed here in a previous hotel life! I was so glad to read you had a wonderful time with us and that we are a gem your are returning to!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

As close to perfection as you can get!

First impressions,WOW! What a place to stay its perfect in every way and what views. It is one of the best weekend breaks we have had in a long time, so much so we are already planning our return. The rooms are exceptional, love the hot tubs outside, surroundings astounding, staff extremely helpful and food is superb. Have to say, that the spa is AMAZING! Not to be missed..
This hotel is not cheap but if you want to push the boat out it is well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a fabulous review of your recent weekend away staying with us - and we are so glad to read you are already planning a return trip! Possibly try one of our 3 or 4 night spa breaks as you so enjoyed the spa?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel is truly amazing. The atmosphere from the minute we checked in (where the staff come to you rather than you stand at a desk) was so chilled, and yet attentive at the same time. We had room 2, a spacious king on the top floor, which had the most stunning views across the bay. Free, freshly brewed, tea and coffee brought to the room is a nice touch, rather than a sachet of instant with a kettle in your room.

We ate in the hotel restaurant on one of the evenings, and the food was cooked very well. Being so near the coast we chose 2 of the fish dishes, sourced with local produce, which were both delicious, and a nice touch was the free water provided. A real bonus was the gorgeous sunset that we all got to see, as all the seats face towards the windows which look out to sea.

The spa, although fairly small had several 'different' treatments, I went for a seaweed wrap - very relaxing. Plus the deep relaxation room is definitely worth a visit at the end of your treatment to curl up in one of the hanging pods.

Our one small gripe was the warmth of the bedroom. Being eco there is no air-conditioning so to cool the room we had the patio door open - fine until the seagulls wake you up around 4am!

We had a fantastic time, just a shame we hadn't booked for longer. Oh well, we'll just have to go back :-)

Room Tip: All rooms have a view to the sea, so take your pick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
How kind of you to write such a fantastic review of your recent stay with us - and to read that you are coming back again soon - excellent news!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is our third visit to The Scarlet and each visit our experience has been surperb. The relaxed staff presence makes for a laid back atmosphere around the hotel. The bedrooms are tastefully decorated with small touches of local soaps and gorgeous products, we stayed in room 24 which had amazing views. The quality of food is of high standard and ate most days there from breakfast, room services lunch and evening meals. The local produce is excellent with plenty of fish on the menu.
The spa, hot tub experience and treatments were worth every penny with the concept of Ayurvedic treatments. Every morning I opted for the yoga or Pilates classes which was a perfect start to the day.
Overall we have travelled the world and stayed in many hotels and this is one of our Top 3 hotels to stay in because of the location, staff, food and atmosphere.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 24 superb views...we also stayed in the bedrooms with the pods...wonderful large r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
How lovely and kind that you have taken the time to review your third stay with us and to read that we are still making it special for you both. We all look forward to your fourth visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went for our last luxury break before our baby arrives and having been to the Scarlet before I knew it was a wonderful hotel with an amazing spa. Second time round it was just as good, particularly the spa where I had one of the best massages and they handled the fact I was nearly 8 months pregnant very well and I was comfortable and relaxed throughout. With the sun shining we were able to sunbathe, use the outdoor pool and enjoy the views of the beach, which was an added bonus. The service was friendly and laid back, which is generally what I prefer rather than formal and over attentive . A wonderful escape from it all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Really kind of you to take the time out to write such a lovely review of your luxury escape with us. I will pop down to the spa and let them know how much you enjoyed your pregnancy massage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Scarlet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Hotel

Address: Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we are a beautiful 37 bedroom hotel built to the highest eco standards, boasting delicious locally sourced food and the best Ayurvedic inspired spa you can imagine.Discover an escape for grown-ups, to eat, dream and play in peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your The Scarlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scarlet Hotel Mawgan Porth, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Scarlet Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.