We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky modern eco hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Scarlet Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Scarlet Hotel to your Saves list
The Scarlet Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Funky modern eco hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed for one night in room 4, a spacious king with sea view. The rooms are nice and modern (lighting especially good), but perhaps style above practicality in a few minor areas (e.g. lacking a mirror in the basin area). The eco-friendly heating system seems to heat effectively, but doesn't seem to cool (open the balcony door for that). The bar and relaxation areas are nice (the relaxation area next to the spa especially good).

A good, but not cheap, place to stay for an in-hotel relaxed vacation. Be aware that you are a bit isolated and there is very little to do in Mawgan Porth other than chill out in the hotel or walk on the beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay here and we hope you can come back for another stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    154
    50
    14
    8
See reviews for
38
756
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
west sussex UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

What a great place made special by the lovely staff, nothing too much trouble and I think they look great in their uniforms!!
Lovely dinner and great breakfast, go for the granola.
Hire a body or surfboard and get into those waves followed by the best jacuzzi in the world.
Well done Scarlet

Room Tip: Garden rooms great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
What a fabulous review - thank you so much and I have passed on your nice comments about the uniform. We hope you can get back to have another cliff top hot tub soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mids
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Spent a couple of nights here as part of a longer break in Cornwall. We throughly enjoyed our 2 days here - staff are very friendly and professional and the hotel facilities are excellent as the decor and furnishings. When we arrived we were given a tour of the hotel whilst our bags were whisked to the room. The views are as good as they appear in the photos both from the public rooms and from our bedroom. Food and drink were both excellent - was impressed with the selection of local bottled beers available in the bar (Clouded Yellow was the nicest!). We used the pool and steam room and also had a seaweed bath in one of the outdoor hot tubs. This was a great experience and one we would recommend - sitting in the hot water and enjoying the fresh air and the views. The outdoor pool looked very nice - would have tried it if it had been a bit warmer (or I had been a bit braver). Overall a very special place to stay and one we would recommend especially with such wonderful countryside on the doorstep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your trip of stay with us and hope we can tempt you back for dip in the out door pool next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My husband took me to this hotel as a 30th birthday surprise and we had an absolutely fantastic weekend. We arrived very early having come on the overnight train from London, and we were sat in the beautiful lounge with some toast, tea and coffee to enjoy the spectacular view to the sea. We were then given a tour of the hotel and facilities, and then went for a stroll on the beach. We were very lucky with the weather and chilled out by the pool. Our room was ready about midday, which was great. There is a (cold, but very beautiful) outdoor pool as well as an indoor one, and we enjoyed both, but especially the outdoor one. We also enjoyed a session in the hot tubs, though I'd recommend an early evening slot.

The staff are brilliant and they, together with the design and furnishing of the hotel, plus the wonderful no children policy, immediately make you feel calm, relaxed and happy. A trip to the fabulous spa will enhance that feeling! We had their short (i.e. normal one hour) massages which were some of the best treatments we've ever had. (You need to ask at the spa as these don't appear on their menus).

We loved our room (spacious), it felt fabulous and the views were gorgeous. I loved lying in bed looking out through the entire wall of window at the view. We had no problem with the bathroom, but that might simply be the room category).

The food was delicious, especially breakfast, though at lunch on our first day we felt that the main course portions were very small (we hadn't ordered starters). We mentioned this to our waiter and he immediately apologised and subsequently reduced the charge on the bill, as well as bringing us an extra-large portion of the cheese we had ordered for dessert. I was also disappointed to find that they didn't serve coca cola (only Curiosity Cola) but by the next morning the same waiter had acquired some for me, which was fantastic (I'm a bit of an addict).

The hotel has anything you might want - you just have to ask. E.g. they lent us a brand new OS map for a local walk and also offered us a cold-bag rucksack to take our packed lunch in. The surrounding cliff walks are beautiful, e.g. Bedruthan Steps, and we also walked to Jamie Oliver's Fifteen in the other direction which was great (about 45 mins for us). A highlight was birthday tea on our balcony including a delicious home-made birthday cake. I also really appreciated that they let you bring in your own drinks to enjoy in your room - my husband had brought a couple of small bottles of champagne with us and the hotel provided ice buckets and glasses.

My husband also said that the service during booking and leading up to the stay was fantastic.

Overall, we had an incredible and very special weekend at this gorgeous hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Gosh what a marvellous sounding birthday! - Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely comments in your review - I have passed these on to our teams who do enjoy going the extra mile for our guests if at all possible - I loved the sound of the birthday cake on the balcony! We hope you will be back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We only stayed at The Scarlet Hotel for 1 night but what a night it was! It's a stunning hotel in every respect and it genuinely is a case of finding some kind of a 'treasure' around every corner. The views from every part of the hotel are about as good as it gets and even the view from our loo (Room 2) was the best I'd ever had from that position!

Our room was called a 'Spacious' & it was certainly that. It felt really sumptuous and luxurious but in a contemporary way not in an old-fashioned way. We had a lovely balcony in our room with amazing views over Mawgan Porth bay and because the one wall of the room was all window, it was lovely and light all the time.

It's the first time we've stayed at an 'adults-only' hotel and I have to admit it was a revelation. When you have children, you tend to lead a child-centric life for obvious reasons but at The Scarlet it's all about you the individual or couple. I felt like I was really being 'treated' from the minute we walked in to the minute we left. Breakfast in the restaurant was one of the most relaxed breakfasts I've ever had in a hotel and it was lovely to sit there and be served the 3 leisurely courses at the table whilst looking out over yet another stunning view!

The staff were attentive but informal. I hate over-fussy, formal service in restaurants and The Scarlet staff hit the nail on the head! The food was excellent at dinner too and the only thing left for us to try is The Spa, which looked amazing. We didn't have time to go to The Spa this time or even try out the fabulous-looking outdoor Hot Tubs but we had such an amazing time that I know we'll be going back.

(The only negative was my pillow which wasn't firm enough for me. I should have said something there and then but everything else was so perfect I felt it would have been churlish to mention it on check-out.)

Room Tip: Room 2 is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Wow! Thank you for your fabulous review of your first stay here, and it sounds like we will be welcoming you back here sometime in the future ... maybe we can tempt you into the Spa next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days at end of driving trip around Cornwall. Was a delightful place. Staff were superb. Facilities great. Treatments were a bit pricey tho. Would recommend anyone looking for great spa with great ambiance.

Room Tip: Go for the best room there is
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
I have passed on your lovely review of the Spa to the therapists and they hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Mawgan Porth is a favourite place of ours so we really wanted to get married here, to be by the sea and have our photos on the beach.
Having treated ourselves to special occasion lunches and dinner at The Scarlet previously, we decide it would be our perfect venue for our perfect day and that's what we had.
The staff were excellent and extremely excited to be involved. We completely pre-planned our day and knew what we wanted for us and our 16 guests. The hotel were more than happy to follow them but you must be wiling to work within the ethos of the hotel too as this is not a regular wedding venue, e.g. it has no formal wedding planner but actually this meant we could do things the way we wanted for example they were more than happy for our friends to decorate the ceremony room and table for dinner with flowers and other displays we had made ourselves.
We gave them a list of favourite foods and the chef created the most perfect menu and meal. It was beautifully presented and tasted amazing.
We married in 'The Retreat' which is a small informal room full of comfy seats for relaxing. We had cannape's outside on the upper deck which has stunning views over the bay and then after our photos on the beach we had tea and cake and chatted with our friends. Dinner was in the private lower dinning room which had it's own decking area to go out on. This room also meant we were able to enjoy the meal with our guests and not intrude on other people eating in the restaurant.

Our Just Right Room was just perfect and the views stunning.

From the brides point of view the hotel were very helpful and were happy for me to have my own hair dresser, make up artist and our photographer but the hotel will recommend if you wish.

Even more perfect was the weather, sunshine all day. You couldn't ask for more.

We will return to The Scarlet for our specail occasion lunches, maybe even our first anniversary.

Emma & Andy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
I remember your lovely wedding day well - thank you so much for your stunning review of the day - & all the staff enjoyed helping at your wedding very much - it was such a warm occasion. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Scarlet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Hotel

Address: Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we are a beautiful 37 bedroom hotel built to the highest eco standards, boasting delicious locally sourced food and the best Ayurvedic inspired spa you can imagine.Discover an escape for grown-ups, to eat, dream and play in peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your The Scarlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scarlet Hotel Mawgan Porth, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Scarlet Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.