We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best holiday ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wooldown Holiday Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marhamchurch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wooldown Holiday Cottages
Save
You added Wooldown Holiday Cottages to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Marhamchurch EX23 0HP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The best holiday ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Thank you so much to Susan and Roger who made our stay so special. We will be returning without a doubt. It is the most peaceful and beautiful place in the world (and we've been to a few!). The views across the rolling Cornish fields were wondrous and the luxurious, ultra-modern, top-quality furnishings and kind-hearted, yet totally non-intrusive approach, was perfect.

We stayed at Stargazey and can't wait to come again. Would recommend the masseuse too!

Rick and Andrea

Room Tip: Stargazey is the most luxurious of the set of one beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    14
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
293
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Berwick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were in Dewdrop Dairy views from cottage excellent ,standard of accomadation very good and practical and my husband thinks the Victoria sandwich that greeted us was the best he'd ever tasted! Unfortuneately the best summer we've had in years came to end but still enjoyed our holiday

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed in the Farmhouse and had the most incredible and special family holiday. The house and location was absolutely superb. We had bags of room (6 adults, 4 children) and found the facilities to be excellent. Wonderful collection of traditional games, which was an extra bonus... as were the very welcome homemade scones and cake on arrival. We will certainly be looking to re-book and would highly recommend this property to families/groups.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Wooldown is located in a fabulous position and was ideal for our three young boys to expel their energy. The old coach house is large enough for nine people to sleep comfortably and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The property could do with updating to compete with more modern holiday cottages and then would be better value for money. That said the staff were very pleasant and we would consider returning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Stargazey one of the adult only two person barn conversions. The viw was beautiful and the whole property converted to an exceptionally high standard; the giant copper whirl pool bath, the four panel folding door to the private patio, memoryfoam mattress, huge shower, TV, DVD and wii and superb kitchen were examples of the thought and design flair that has been put into the property.

The owners are exceptionally hospitalable, texting a welcome and number if directions were needed earlier on arrivals day. When we arrived cake and a tour of the property was provided and the day prior to departure we were texted to let us know that thete was no rush to leave as the property was not needed that afternoon. I couldn't recommend this highly enough. There are many intetesting places within easy driving distance such as Clovelly, Padstow and Tintagel although Bude itself is not the most exciting coastsl town in Cornwall.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

A master class in how a 5 star hoiday cottage should be presented! We have just returned from Stargazey and totally lost our hearts to this beautiful place. The quality of the fixtures and fittings would put many 4 and 5 star hotels to shame. The beautiful doors,windows, handmade chunky beds, we could go on and on. The welcome from the Blewett family, amazing!

There are four new properties in a row Stargazey, Moonshine, Milky Way and Shooting Star. All are finished to the same high standard. We extended our stay by 1 night but had to move to Dewdrop Dairy w which was more traditional but still excellent quality. The Blewetts care about the quality of the accomodation in a way seldom seen. We have booked for next year and will be staying in Shooting Star. We have found our heaven on earth. Thank you Susan, Roger, Rhys and Rowan. You made us very happy.

Room Tip: The contemporary new ones are outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have just returned from a 3-night break with my boyfriend in Moonshine.

We chose this place as it was reasonably priced and did not have a minimum length stay as most holiday rentals do in August.

The apartment was great, very modern, very comfy, and we were greeted by lovely swan towel figures!

The bed is enormous, I could lie on it sideways and my feet not hang off the end. And was very comfy memory foam.

Rowan was very helpful and showed us how to work the various mod cons in Moonshine, and was always around when I needed him.

The spa bath was lovely, and waterfall shower very nice - always a fan of a nice big shower!

Location is excellent as well, very close to the A39 to get to most places, and A30 is not too far away either.

When we left, we were given some supplies of lovely Cornish crisps, apple juice and snack bars to keep us sustained, which was very kind and unexpected.

A shame we didn't have enough time to spend longer here, but we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wooldown Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wooldown Holiday Cottages

Address: Marhamchurch EX23 0HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Marhamchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Marhamchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wooldown Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From cosy country cottages, to ultra-modern, apartment style barns that will be sure to take your breath away and make you say "WOW!" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wooldown Holiday Cottages Marhamchurch, United Kingdom - Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wooldown Holiday Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.