We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Stargazey Stay......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wooldown Holiday Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marhamchurch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wooldown Holiday Cottages
Save
You added Wooldown Holiday Cottages to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Marhamchurch EX23 0HP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Soham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Super Stargazey Stay......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Returned today after a throughly relaxing winter break in Stargazey. Plenty of contact and help from the owners before we travelled and excellent assistance once we arrived. The cottage was open plan, with underfloor heating which made it very cozy, the bed comfortable and all fittings were of a very high standard. Despite there being gale force winds during our stay there were no problems with draughts! The large copper bath was very welcome after a day of walking the coast path. The view was excellent and there was always something to see. We had a little look at some of the other cottages available and they all looked individual but all finished to the same high standard. The walk into Bude along the canal is suitable for most and apart from the final hill to the farm is flat and there are plenty of places for refreshment when you get to Bude.

Room Tip: All rooms have been individually completed to a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    14
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
313
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taunton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I have just spent a wonderful Christmas in the Woolbarn - one of the 'cosy cottages for two' available at Wooldown cottages.

We received contact from the owners in advance of our arrival and any queries that we had were answered immediately. Our arrival was made easy when we were greeted by one of the hosts and escorted to our cottage, which was exactly as we expected according to the photos and description available on the website.

All furniture, fittings and equipment was of a high standard rather than some of the basic/cheap things that can be found in some other self-catering accommodation - for example the tv was a large new flat screen with dvd, suitable cooking equipment was provided to enable proper meals to be cooked and all furniture was extremely comfortable. We also had the reassurance that should we find the need for anything additional, our hosts were likely to be able to lend it to us.

The views from the cottage were amazing and it really did give us a sense of being away from it all.

The additional personal touches that were provided such as tasteful Christmas decorations, clotted cream scones and a Christmas card, made us feel particuarly welcome and made our stay even more enjoyable.

If you're looking for somewhere special to cosy up or an excellent base to explore the area, we would highly recommend Woolbarn cottages - everything you could want and more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I took my girlfriend here with the idea or proposing to her. I explained this to Rowan when i booked the room. He couldn't have been any more helpful!!! He made sure that everything i had planned went perfectly. The room i booked was Stargazey which if Im honest was even better than it looked in the pictures. It was very well equipped and kitted out to the highest standard! The views were amazing and the jacuzzi bath was class! Chocolates and a card were left for us and then when we returned from lunch fresh cream cakes were there for us! All the information left in the cottage was up to date and answered every possible question that we may have had! This is one of the best places ive visited and ive been to a few places all over the world! I will definitely be trying to get back in the summer....oh and she said yes by the way!

Big thanks to Rowan who made the trip perfect for the both of us!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We loved our stay at Wooldown, the cottages were immaculate with all mod cons. Lots to do, loads of lovely restaurants, we will definitely be coming back!

Be aware the main cottages are very close together, check out the map. We had absolutely no problems with this but it's good to know.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed in the Woolbarn and arrived to a friendly welcome and a text message to say we could arrive earlier than the book in time as the barn was ready. The extra personal touches made us feel we were special guests, these included cream tea (scones & cake), a box of chocolates, a Christmas letter and some tasteful Christmas decorations. The standard of the accommodation is excellent and the underfloor heating made it very cosy even though the wind and rain outside tried to dampen our spirits. Excellent spa bath and shower and all the kitchen equipment you need. The veiws out of the patio doors are stunning all the way down to Widemouth Bay. If you want to unwind and chill out in a cosy romantic setting away from the madding crowd then Wooldown Farm is the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garstang, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My girlfreind and I stayed here recently and found the accomadation to be of the highest of standards. Roger (Owner) was most attentive and very welcoming. We would highly recommend booking a break here. Many thanks to Roger and family for a most restful break.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed in Shooting Star for our honeymoon, and we loved it. The views from the cottage are absolutely stunning, it was hard to stop looking out of the window! The cottage has everything you could want, I particularly miss the amazing shower and bath. We were greeted with a tour by the friendly Rowan, and cake and scones. Perfect, in a word.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wooldown Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wooldown Holiday Cottages

Address: Marhamchurch EX23 0HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Marhamchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Marhamchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wooldown Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From cosy country cottages, to ultra-modern, apartment style barns that will be sure to take your breath away and make you say "WOW!" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wooldown Holiday Cottages Marhamchurch, United Kingdom - Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wooldown Holiday Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.