We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wooldown Holiday Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marhamchurch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wooldown Holiday Cottages
Save
You added Wooldown Holiday Cottages to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Marhamchurch EX23 0HP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

Beautiful location, peaceful and relaxing. Cottages are lovely, a lot of care and attention goes into making them special. Very good location, lots to do around the area. Good base to explore North Cornwall. We are looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: All cottages are unique and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    14
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
312
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Marston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

My partner & I stayed in Woolbarn with our 6 month baby. The barn is designed to sleep 2 but easily accommodated our baby's travel cot in the bedroom. The furnishings & fittings in Woolbarn are high quality, especially the 40" TV and the spa bath and shower. The living room is very comfortable and the views across to the Atlantic Ocean are fantastic. The kitchen has everything you need and is fitted with quality white goods including a dishwasher. Woolbarn is detached and sits on its own down a driveway from the other cottages, has a very private patio and chairs and a small built in bbq. The location of Wooldown Farm, in the small village of Marhamchurch, is ideal as its very peaceful but only a mile from the amenities in Bude plus its located close enough to the main areas like Port Isaac and Padstow. We'll definitely return but will stay in a family cottage as our baby will be too old to stay in Woolbarn next year due to the age limit.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

Just cannot fault the place ,this is our second year for 2 week summer holiday
stayed in Dewdrop Dairy cottages for two, extremely warm welcome from Susan and family even offered to drive us to the pub on a wet day. If i am honest my wife said not to write a review because if everyone hears how good it is we may struggle to get in next year!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

The Cottage is brilliant – everything looking so beautiful in the Cottage and on the farm ~ the cream tea welcome was a lovely touch and the slipper bath will go down in family history as the most comfortable ever. The guides & information provided by the staff is also very helpful, it helped us initially get us out and about. We found the local pub very welcoming and the food was pretty good, although we also made good use of Sainsburys in Bude... The walks, beech and surrounding areas where brilliant. We had a curry at Mirchi in Bude Saturday night which was excellent. The location is ideal for access to the South West Coast path & Bude is a nice canal walk from the Farm.. The staff at Wooldown are some of the friendiest and most helpful I've met in a long time. A really pleasure. We will be back...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We've just returned from a wonderful stay at Wooldown Cottages (Dewdrop Dairy). Upon arrival we were greeted by Susan, who showed us to our cottage. Waiting inside was a lovely welcome tray. The location is really nice. Only a couple of minutes away from the local pub and no more than a five minutes drive to Bude, where we did our grocery shopping. The cottage was clean and tidy, and the bed was really comfy, which is quite important when going away on vacation! Looking forward to return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Wooldown Cottages are beautiful. Booking was so easy and the lady that runs the place is so friendly. The cottage we stayed in (Stable Barn) is lovely. The amenities in the cottage are excellent & it is just the right size for a couple. It is very clean and well decorated. The view is wonderful & the small area at the back of the cottage is perfect for watching a beautiful sunset. The local area is lovely too. The local pub, The Bullers Arms is only a 5 minute or so walk from the cottages & is a traditional country pub. Bude is very close by (driving distance) with some lovely bays & beaches. We hired bikes and explored the local area which was an excellent way of getting around. Overall I would more than highly reccommend Wooldown Cottages and even trying to find time later in the year to make a return visit. 10 out of 10!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

Where to start with Buttermilk Barn and Wooldown Farm? It’s truly luxurious; flat screen TVs; Jacuzzi bath; underfloor heating – the list goes on. The kitchen is extremely well equipped which made staying in and cooking a pleasure; Susan has thought of everything! The spa bath was lovely, as was the memory foam mattress, both made for a relaxing night’s sleep. Then to wake up and see that wonderful view: just outstanding. We ate out in The Bullers Arms one night and loved the pub, unfortunately we found the food quite hit and miss. Elements Italian restaurant however was superb; good food in a lovely contemporary setting. Not an Italian flag in sight! Back to the barn though, do not hesitate in booking here, it’s wonderful and won’t disappoint. There really are not enough superlatives to describe this place. You won’t want to leave: we didn’t!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wooldown Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wooldown Holiday Cottages

Address: Marhamchurch EX23 0HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Marhamchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Marhamchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wooldown Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From cosy country cottages, to ultra-modern, apartment style barns that will be sure to take your breath away and make you say "WOW!" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wooldown Holiday Cottages Marhamchurch, United Kingdom - Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wooldown Holiday Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.