We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Quality Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whalesborough Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marhamchurch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whalesborough Cottages
Save
You added Whalesborough Cottages to your Saves list
Marhamchurch, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Totally Quality Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

We booked "Middle Hill" as a week's get away and were blown away by the quality we found.

The web-site made it look high quality, but the reality was even better. Amazing amount of room in the open plan living area, stunning kitchen and bathrooms and quality bedrooms.

There's only beds for 4 in the place, but there's still a 3 seater sofa, a 2 seater sofa and an armchair. We enjoyed the wood burning stove, even though we could have just used the under-floor central heating.

A really nice touch was the lemon cake on arrival.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
92
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

We stayed in Sandparks cottage for a week with our 2 dogs which were well catered for. Loved the nice touch of lemon cake waiting for us after our 7 hour drive down from Cheshire. Cottage was stunning inside and was a welcome change from previous cottage holidays in various other locations. We took advantage of the walks around the 500 acres and Bude canal/coastal walks to Widemouth Bay/Bude centre. Well recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

After seeing the website and having looked at other holiday cottages we were not disappointed with our choice. Arriving earlier than expected we were able to leave our luggage and do that first big holiday shop. Bude is only 5 minutes away, with a large Morrisons and smaller Sainsburys it caters well for the self cater.

Middle Cottage was perfect, with clean, modern fittings and furnishings. The lounge was spacious with comfortable sofa and chairs, flat screen tv , dvd and ipod compatible sound system. The kitchen had all mod cons, dishwasher , washing machine etc . Upstairs the main bathroom has a beautiful deep bath, heated towel rails and there is a power shower in the second bathroom off the children's bedroom.

We were suitably impressed by the farm's eco credentials, pumping there water from deep below ground , excellent recycling facilities and waste treatment system.

The farm and its grounds felt very safe and secure, there being a long private drive up to the property. With two children safety is very important and after surveying our surroundings we felt confident allowing them freedom to go off and play in the extremely well equipped play barn and adventure playground.

The swimming pool was perfect and heated. Enclosed by a wall with a combination lock meant the children could not stray there unattended.

We visited the tea gardens at the bottom of the drive and were not disappointed by the quality of fare offered. Beautiful home made cakes provided a fitting end after a day at the beach.

We would have no reservations about returning again and again, as it develops with time. I enjoy fishing and was lucky enough to catch some small rainbow trout that abound in the river and adjoining canal, but await the stocking of the new lake on site.


All in all a great base to explore the north coast of Cornwall. 10/10

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahamas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

I stayed at the Whalesborough with my mother and my two young children. I booked online and took a chance as I live overseas. We arrived and were pleasantly surprised with the extremely high quality of the cottage we had rented. We opened the door to a package on the kitchen table with coffee, tea and a freshly cooked delicious lemon cake! A treat after a long journey.
My children immediately found the "heated" outdoor pool, soccer field and play barn. The play barn kept the entertained for hours - everything to keep them active, entertained and safe so we could all enjoy the vacation.
The rooms were immaculate and the cottage included many items to make our stay so much more enjoyable (many not expected - sand toys, airing racks).
The owners kept their distance but also were available immediately when needed for advice on other local attractions etc.
Overall - this was the best stay I have ever had in the UK and can be enjoyed anytime of the year.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

on arrival at the cottage we were amazed at the quality it is so much nicer than shown on the website we have stayed at a number of holiday cottages with our dog in the past this is by far the best beautiful kitchen with granite work surfaces stone floors beautiful log burner in the lounge with 2 large sofas beautiful bathroom with a jacuzzi bath and power shower lovely after a long walk with a glass of champagne bedroom with a lovely large comfy bed the only down side was that the bedroom has french doors but we didn't want to leave them open at night so did get quite warm. Lovely enclosed back garden with a great BBQ with walks straight from the door along the bude canal or to widemouth bay ideal with the dog who loved it. swimming pool was lovely did get to use it a few times all out side areas were clean and spotless they had a lovely games room for children we did in fact have a go in there one night. with reference to dogs they have thought of everything with a dog crate supplied on arrival, poo bags, treat and throws for the furniture they even had a dog washing area one outside or in one of the buildings with the tumble dryer a power shower and pet dryer couldn't fault the cottage or the facilities we tried the tea room to which was also lovely thank you for a lovely relaxing holiday in fact our honeymoon will be back soon xx

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

If you're looking for 5 star luxury where you can bring your dogs this is it. The cottages are finished to a really high specification with everything you need to make them a home from home. Our only complaint is that we didn't stay longer!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LINLITHGOW
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Superb location peaceful yet close to amenities and beach; high standard of contemporary accommodation; spacious and well thought out; great dog friendly option. Try it - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whalesborough Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whalesborough Cottages

Address: Marhamchurch, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Marhamchurch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Marhamchurch
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Whalesborough Cottages Hotel Marhamchurch
Whalesborough Cottages Marhamchurch, United Kingdom - Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whalesborough Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.