We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Oak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Royal Oak to your Saves list
The Royal Oak
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Duke Street, Lostwithiel PL22 0AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wirral
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights, the staff were very friendly & helpful and there is free car parking at the front of this B&B. Good central location, easy walk to the little river and nice little town but watch out for a lone swan which approached us by the river and pecked my knee!. There is a good outdoor area with plenty of seating and a small bar and large dining room/lounge. They have local St Austell beers and guest beers on tap too. The breakfasts were very good, booked the night before. Unfortunately we were in room 6 which although clean & comfortable with an adequate shower room/loo etc also had a squeaky bed. It is also right over the kitchen so the room was hot and the kitchen fan started up about 7.30am with a squeal and then went on until after the last evening meal, no lie-ins for us. Towels and linen changed frequently and nothing too much bother for the friendly manager & staff. Worth a stay, reasonable rates but rooms 1 to 4 would be quieter.

Room Tip: Room 6 is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicky c, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for spending the time to give us such a favourable review.Our staff have absorbed our passion for pleasing our customers and we are so proud of them.
It is really helpful to get feedback on things we may do better. Certainly we will prepare any guests in room 5/6 to expect some fan noise and we will have a look at that squeaky bed!
We hope you will visit us again--our premium rooms are 2 and 3 should you need to book.
Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    41
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
25
60
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Oak for 5 nights the first week of September 2013. We were a group of five. We found a lovely Inn run by a great team who provided excellent service. The breakfast was outstanding (I don't write that without experiencing breakfast world wide, it really was a great start to the day). We took four evening meals which again were of outstanding quality. We enjoyed the "80 meals around the world" evening on the Wednesday and found ourselves enjoying the delicate flavours of Madagascar which was that weeks choice. We took part in the pub quiz, coming last but we did win the cash for "Play Your Cards Right." We found the town well placed as a base to explore Cornwall. Car parking was not a problem. I noticed that the train station is just a very short walk away. The rooms were clean...no the rooms sparkled compared to some chain hotels. I was very impressed by the staff who worked so well as a team. Great stay and very happy to recommend the Inn/Pub.

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 3 would be my first choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicky c, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to review your stay with us. All the team are delighted that you appreciated the offer and their service.Your group was a pleasure to have stay.
We are a traditional Cornish pub with bedrooms and it is wonderful to host guests who understand this.Congratulations on winning play your cards right and we are pleased you enjoyed our chefs`menu from around the world.
All of us at The Royal Oak hope you come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Wished I could have stated more than one night! Beautiful and comfortable room. Lovely town to visit. Great accommodating and welcoming staff and fantastic breakfast. Very happy to stay there and would again if I was in that part if Cornwall. Train station is a lovely walk and not far from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicky c, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Comments like yours make our job worthwhile. All the staff wished you could have stayed longer so do hope you will come to our pub again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

great British pub feel. comfortable rooms.the staff are great.the breakfast is superb and evening meal great.highly recommend this place.if you go there just to eat try the haddock with dill glaze.rick stein eat your eat out

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicky c, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
You have appreciated just what we aim to be --a real Cornish pub. Our chef Cristie will be so pleased you enjoyed her haddock dish--please come back soon and thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

A good place to stay. We went to Cornwall for just two nights and stayed at Royal Oak. The things that were important to us were good. Nice clean rooms well equipped and most of all the staff were brilliant. Just ask and you got a solution. Nice friendly approach and the town is well located for touring. Car parking OK. You can eat in the pub and there are some nice places to eat in town. However , please bookthey are only small and get busy.The premium rooms are worth the small extra charge if you are not staying for long. The building has lots of character and we hope to return at some stage. Recommended
D and R

Room Tip: Room 2 is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicky c, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Your overall comment is just what matters most. Our staff are genuine in their desire to help guests have the best of times in our pub and we thank you so much for taking the time to review us so positively.
Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Made a last minute booking for this hotel and we were not disappointed. A very warm welcome when we arrived and shown to our rooms. Room 1: Kingsize, was very large, modern and spotlessly clean. Comfotable bed and good bathroom facilties. Only negative was no hairdryer in the room. Room 2: Double, the first room we were given was quite small but again well furnished, only problem there was no door on the bathroom, the door was just leant against the wall in the bedroom, obviously room wasn't checked before letting. We were moved without fuss to a better sized room which was fine. We ate in the restaurant and the food was very good and very well priced. All in all a very pleasant stay and we would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicky c, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Your review was much appreciated and you will be pleased to know we have listened to you and now all rooms have a hairdryer. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Booked here for two nights but was so impressed with the building, the staff, and the positively quirky ambiance that we added two more nights. Make no mistake, this is no five star hotel- it's more than that. A genuine "heart of the village" pub with a great restaurant, and honest clean no- nonsense rooms above. The staff all seem to enjoy being there, (all too rare these days) and our welcome from Graham, Andy and boss Vicky were irreproachable. Rooms are WAY better than the price-point would suggest, and the clientele is eclectic. Try it or miss out on a gem...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicky c, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you so much for such a great review--we all enjoyed meeting you. Guests like you understand just what we have to offer. A real pub with clean and comfortable accommodation ,good wholesome food and a relaxed atmosphere .Hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak

Address: Duke Street, Lostwithiel PL22 0AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13Th Century Inn with original features; Listed stained glass windows and also a tunnel link to nearby Restormel Castle. Lostwithiel has a fascinating history & is a bustling, popular town on the River Fowey. Near to Lanhydrock House & Garden, The Eden Project, Heligan Gardens etc and south coast; Fowey, Looe, Charlestown and Mevagissey. The Royal Oak has newly refurbished, comfortable & spacious rooms, all en suite, together with a great pub restaurant & bar, popular with local & visitors alike. The chefs offer traditional pub food using fresh local produce. During the summer, you can enjoy the extensive, patio area in the dappled shade of a lovely willow tree. For cooler weather, there are 2 cosy wood burners providing a great comforting atmosphere in the bar, snug lounge and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Lostwithiel
Royal Oak Lostwithiel
The Royal Oak Lostwithiel, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.