We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Oak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Oak to your Saves list
The Royal Oak
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Duke Street, Lostwithiel PL22 0AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

great British pub feel. comfortable rooms.the staff are great.the breakfast is superb and evening meal great.highly recommend this place.if you go there just to eat try the haddock with dill glaze.rick stein eat your eat out

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicky c, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
You have appreciated just what we aim to be --a real Cornish pub. Our chef Cristie will be so pleased you enjoyed her haddock dish--please come back soon and thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    37
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
57
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montpellier, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

A good place to stay. We went to Cornwall for just two nights and stayed at Royal Oak. The things that were important to us were good. Nice clean rooms well equipped and most of all the staff were brilliant. Just ask and you got a solution. Nice friendly approach and the town is well located for touring. Car parking OK. You can eat in the pub and there are some nice places to eat in town. However , please bookthey are only small and get busy.The premium rooms are worth the small extra charge if you are not staying for long. The building has lots of character and we hope to return at some stage. Recommended
D and R

Room Tip: Room 2 is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicky c, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Your overall comment is just what matters most. Our staff are genuine in their desire to help guests have the best of times in our pub and we thank you so much for taking the time to review us so positively.
Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Made a last minute booking for this hotel and we were not disappointed. A very warm welcome when we arrived and shown to our rooms. Room 1: Kingsize, was very large, modern and spotlessly clean. Comfotable bed and good bathroom facilties. Only negative was no hairdryer in the room. Room 2: Double, the first room we were given was quite small but again well furnished, only problem there was no door on the bathroom, the door was just leant against the wall in the bedroom, obviously room wasn't checked before letting. We were moved without fuss to a better sized room which was fine. We ate in the restaurant and the food was very good and very well priced. All in all a very pleasant stay and we would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicky c, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Your review was much appreciated and you will be pleased to know we have listened to you and now all rooms have a hairdryer. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Booked here for two nights but was so impressed with the building, the staff, and the positively quirky ambiance that we added two more nights. Make no mistake, this is no five star hotel- it's more than that. A genuine "heart of the village" pub with a great restaurant, and honest clean no- nonsense rooms above. The staff all seem to enjoy being there, (all too rare these days) and our welcome from Graham, Andy and boss Vicky were irreproachable. Rooms are WAY better than the price-point would suggest, and the clientele is eclectic. Try it or miss out on a gem...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicky c, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you so much for such a great review--we all enjoyed meeting you. Guests like you understand just what we have to offer. A real pub with clean and comfortable accommodation ,good wholesome food and a relaxed atmosphere .Hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were staying in a cottage round the corner so I can't speak for the Royal Oak's accommodation but we came here twice to eat and loved it. The public bar has a better atmosphere than the more formal dining area and is dog friendly. The staff are really nice and the local people are friendly and welcoming too - especially the guy who owns Reggie the dog! We had great food and really enjoyed ourselves here. The free wifi is very useful. Lostwithiel is a great base for exploring this part of Cornwall and has a range of other restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Highlands NSW
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We recently spent a night at the Royal Oak after being directed there by an adjoining establishment. The pub is just off the main road behind another pub and you would probably miss it if you were not specifically looking for it. The room that we stayed in was warm and comfortable with a large older style bathroom. The evening we stayed we had the option of the well presented dining room/restaurant or the friendly bar area around a cosy open fire. We opted or the bar beside the fire and enjoyed our meal from the reasonable menu. Breakfast the following morning was substantial and delicious. I had the best porridge that I have ever eaten followed by a delicious English breakfast to start off the rather cold day that followed. The B & B rates are quite reasonable and there is an onsite car park with direct access to the building making things easier if it is raining.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was my pub of choice during a recent stay in the area. I was attracted by the free wi-fi but stayed because of the pleasant atmosphere.

It's only a small pub area, but they have a big beer garden and a large lounge / restaurant. I went along to the unbelievably cheap and very tasty mid-week carvery where the chef proudly told me that there was 'real gravy made the proper way' (with meat juices) and it certainly lived up to expectations.

There was a free pub quiz following the carvery which I was happily included in. I was made to feel very welcome by all the staff and would definitely go back if I am in the area again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak

Address: Duke Street, Lostwithiel PL22 0AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13Th Century Inn with original features; Listed stained glass windows and also a tunnel link to nearby Restormel Castle. Lostwithiel has a fascinating history & is a bustling, popular town on the River Fowey. Near to Lanhydrock House & Garden, The Eden Project, Heligan Gardens etc and south coast; Fowey, Looe, Charlestown and Mevagissey. The Royal Oak has newly refurbished, comfortable & spacious rooms, all en suite, together with a great pub restaurant & bar, popular with local & visitors alike. The chefs offer traditional pub food using fresh local produce. During the summer, you can enjoy the extensive, patio area in the dappled shade of a lovely willow tree. For cooler weather, there are 2 cosy wood burners providing a great comforting atmosphere in the bar, snug lounge and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Lostwithiel
Royal Oak Lostwithiel
The Royal Oak Lostwithiel, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.