We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cornish Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Oak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Royal Oak to your Saves list
The Royal Oak
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Duke Street, Lostwithiel PL22 0AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
york
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cornish Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Having just returned from spending 6 nights at the Royal Oak would definitely recommend this inn. Simon and Karenza were exceptionally welcoming, however, Amanda and Tamaro were outstanding staff and could not help enough, to making early fresh coffee for an early riser, to helping with train times and luggage. As a retired guest house owner myself I tend to look more closely at the 'little things' and for the price we paid this is an excellent place to stay. Room was very clean, internet access and wifi, comfortable beds and clean linen, and bath towels that actually go around you. Breakfasts were substantial, meals were not the usual 'pub grub' and we did sleep at the front of the pub and found no noise or smell etc. etc. Will definitely stay there again and recommend to our friends the Cornish hospitality from all over Cornwall.

Room Tip: We had Room 3 which I understand is the 'best room' cannot say what the others are like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    41
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
25
60
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

For Cornwall, parking is critical and the first good thing about this hotel is its on-site, reasonable sized car park. On arrival it wasn't clear where hotel guests were supposed to check in as there was no obvious reception but the girl at the bar confirmed our booking & showed us to the room. The room was quite small & anyone with a generous girth would have difficulty getting past the bed to the bathroom as the corner of the bed was about 18" from the wall. Room & bathroom were clean enough & the TV was appreciated. The bathroom was again very small & only had a shower (no bath). Annoyingly, there was no toilet roll - or toilet roll holder for that matter, but there were holes in the wall where it should have been! As our room was at the front of the hotel, the room window overlooked the outside smoking area which was very noisy until 11pm. Breakfast was included in the very reasonable room charge and the quality and variety reflected this although it was perfectly adequate for a one night stay.

Room Tip: Avoid a room at the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor - we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Just to clarify we are a pub with rooms hence no reception - but there is a member of our team on duty throughout the day for checking in purposes etc. We feel that the rates we charge reflect the room sizes and the good level of service we are able to provide. Our website does describe what facilities each room has. Rooms 2 & 3 are our largest rooms and are well worth the small additional charge. Both rooms that overlook the main entrance are double glazed. I am sorry that a toilet roll was missing from your room - not sure how we missed that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We recently stayed at the Royal Oak for 3 nights. The rooms are well presented, comfortable and extremely clean. The pub has a lot of character and makes a good base for visiting the local area. We ate in the restaurant each evening, the food was of a very good quality, Mr. Kittows steaks being particularly excellent. The menu changes slightly each day and is a long way removed from the usual 'pub grub' on offer. The Royal Oak has a patio area where you can enjoy a drink on a nice evening and car parking which is a luxury in Lostwithiel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

A very well run hotel, friendly staff and great service. Meals are excellent and well presented.
A good selection of drinks at the bar. Hotel is a great base for touring Cornwall and town has a mainline railway station.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and for your positive comments which we will pass onto our team - we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Unfortunately both Bs weren't very good. The Bed was uncomfortable, with a polyester duvet, polyester bedlinen and, worst of all, bouncy foam pillows. Didn't sleep very well. The other B, breakfast, was very average. Sounded good on the menu but when it arrived it wasn't hot. Sausage hard, bacon underdone, mushrooms slimy, tomato underdone, egg greasy & small, hash brown also greasy, beans fine but tepid. Toast just sliced bread and not hot. Despite breakfast being my favourite meal, I left most of it.
Set against this, the room was lovely, though no hangers and couldn't turn off bedside lights individually.
The manager - Simon - was great - friendly and welcoming. Good wine list; free parking; clean and pretty outside.
Would have relayed all this to Simon but he wasn't there in the morning. Sorry- wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor - all feedback is important to us as it helps us to improve what we do. We did find some of the points you have raised surprising and some are inaccurate.
When we took over the Royal Oak last year we fully refurbished the whole building including replacing all the mattresses in our six letting rooms - without exception our guests to date have told us how comfortable the mattresses are. We use 100% cotton bed linen and towels which comes from one of the largest hire companies in the South West. We do have hollowfibre duvets and pillows (not foam) which again are all new. We do this for those guests who have allergies to feathers, in a small establishment such as ours it would be difficult to offer both especially for a one night stay.
I can only apologise if there were no hangers in your room and that you had trouble using the light switches - given that you have said that the service was good it is a shame you didn't ask any of our team to assist you - they could so easily have resolved your queries.
Our breakfasts are always really popular, as can been seen on our other reviews - we are sorry that it fell short of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We spent a couple of nights staying at the Royal Oak, whilst visiting the Eden project which is only a short distance away. We arrived early so our room wasn't quite ready, we received a friendly welcome and the room was made ready quickly for us.
The room was modern and comfortable with all the facilities you need.
We had a nice meal in the restaurant and enjoyed a couple of great nights in the bar, including some live music on the Sunday night, this was helped by Simon and his team who looked after us well.

Room Tip: Although all rooms are of a high standard it is worth paying a little extra for the larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The rooms were clean comfy, and had character and the breakfast was amazing - I didn't need to eat anything else all day!! The whole stay was great value for money.

Room Tip: One note - room 6 is above the vent for the kitchen so is a bit noisy when this switches on on the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for posting a review on trip advisor and for your positive comments. We aim to provide good value for money and a pleasant stay so it is great to get your feedback that we are a long way to meeting this goal. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak

Address: Duke Street, Lostwithiel PL22 0AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13Th Century Inn with original features; Listed stained glass windows and also a tunnel link to nearby Restormel Castle. Lostwithiel has a fascinating history & is a bustling, popular town on the River Fowey. Near to Lanhydrock House & Garden, The Eden Project, Heligan Gardens etc and south coast; Fowey, Looe, Charlestown and Mevagissey. The Royal Oak has newly refurbished, comfortable & spacious rooms, all en suite, together with a great pub restaurant & bar, popular with local & visitors alike. The chefs offer traditional pub food using fresh local produce. During the summer, you can enjoy the extensive, patio area in the dappled shade of a lovely willow tree. For cooler weather, there are 2 cosy wood burners providing a great comforting atmosphere in the bar, snug lounge and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Lostwithiel
Royal Oak Lostwithiel
The Royal Oak Lostwithiel, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.