We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tredethick Farm Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lostwithiel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tredethick Farm Cottages
Save
You added Tredethick Farm Cottages to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Lostwithiel PL22 0LE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Amazing place to relax and a good location for a family holiday. Our every need was met. Helpful staff, clean rooms and good food. Loved the swimming pool which provided great entertainment alongside the fascinating villages close by.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    3
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed in Orchard Cottage for a week with our 16 month old and had a fantastic holiday. We were greeted by a cream tea which was much appreciated after a long drive and certainly a big hit with our toddler. The facilities are super for pre-schoolers - the soft play area was great to burn off excess energy and the outdoors play park was well designed to cater for children of all ages. The swimming pool was a real hit as the water was so warm - we managed an hour of swimming every day and saw our toddlers confidence in water improve so much over the week. The real highlight every day was the morning animal feeding. Farmer Tim is wonderful with the children and remembered all their names by day one! To see our son bottle feed lambs and hand feed goats all by himself was incredible, as was the twice weekly pony ride (big smiles all round!). We found the location great - Lostwithiel within a 5 minute drive and lots more within 30mins. We certainly had plenty to fill our days, so much so that we've booked to come back again before the end of the year!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley in Arden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Where else can three generations (Grandparents, Parents and young Children) come and chill out in comfort and find something for everyone. Farmer Tim and his team have put a huge amount of effort into getting it right and have succeeded. They seem to have thought of everything.

The various generations of families split by Geography should really consider Tredethick for an annual get together. Quite frankly, we look forward to our annual trip and we only live 12 miles apart.

We shall be booking next year before we leave.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my second visit and my daughter loved it even more than me. She is still going on about the pony rides now!

The location is great for getting out and about in Cornwall and the facilities are everything you need for a trip with pre-school children. My one warning though is the price in high season. I just couldn't justify going in the summer holidays. I've been end of September and May and loved it both times. May have been lucky with the weather both times but there is still plenty to do on grey and overcast days that is plenty of fun.

At £6-800 for a week in off season this is definitely worth it for a relaxing week enjoying time with your children more than you will cooped up in a cottage that's half the price with none of the child-focused facilities. At the end of the day, that's what you are paying for, the kids will thank you for it and you know what, you may also enjoy jumping on the trampoline or feeding the goats too!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I have reviewed Tredethick before and stand by every word of that review after our second visit. I have booked a third visit in June next year so we can get in one last pre-school trip (prices hike up a LOT in school holidays). Just a few things to add:

- Hot tub garden now open: it's a stylish grown up area and plastic champagne glasses are supplied by the ever thoughtful owners!

- Farmer Tim was on holiday during our stay, but Farmer Jenny was a fantastic stand in and my daughter has been overheard telling friends that everything boys can do, girls can do just as well including being farmers.

- Took our 1 year old son and 3 year old daughter. It was amazing to see them grow in confidence with the other kids, around the animals, in the pool and in the soft play area. The whole set up is perfect for pre-schoolers.

- Wish I knew how Farmer Tim and Farmer Jenny remember every child's name. It's a wonderfully personal touch which makes the kids feel right at home.

Room Tip: Book into Granary and take grandparents so parents can play too - it's a lovely spacious cottage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

This was our 4th visit to Tredethick. It is a great place to go on holiday with children. Excellent facilities, indoor pool, outdoor hot-tub, soft play with coffee and magazines for mum and dad, indoor play barn and sandpit. We had great weather and well located to explore beaches and local attractions. Not forgetting the accommodation is excellent standard and has everything you need for great holiday. Farmer
Tim and Farmer Jenny make the experience great for the children, with animal feeding and pony rides.
Would highly recommend Tredethick for family holiday. Booked again for next year!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was our first visit to Tredethick and we would definitely come back. It is brilliant for a young family. We went with our 15 month old who had a fantastic time. Feeding the animals and the pony rides were a definite highlight. Even if the weather had not been glorious there would have been plenty to do. Our daughter loved the soft play area and the pool and every night insisted on saying night night to all of the animals. I do think that we will be back! highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in Orchard cottage which is away from the central area so it was probably a bit quieter fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tredethick Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tredethick Farm Cottages

Address: Lostwithiel PL22 0LE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Lostwithiel
Hotel Class:4 star — Tredethick Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Tredethick Farm Cottages Hotel Lostwithiel
Tredethick Farm Hotel
Tredethick Farm Cottages Lostwithiel, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tredethick Farm Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.