We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club to your Saves list
Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Polscoe, Lostwithiel PL22 0HQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Bungay
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Had a 3 night break with my adult son, Beautiful location, room clean, tidy and comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful although a little stretched at time running from reception to kitchen to bar etc. Didn't eat in the restaraunt ( thought the menu was a lilttle limited), however breakfast was excellent.
Overall no complaints at all, .All in all an enjoyable break.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    43
    23
    17
    22
See reviews for
24
60
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just returned from a three night stay, from your previous reviewers nothing has improved. The staff are very helpful when you can find them as the receptionist seems to be the bar waitress, the golf pro, and the only waitress in the dining room so depending n how demanding the area is you are left waiting. Whilst we were there we wanted to play golf, the buggy ran out of battery before we even got to the first hole and we had to try and push it up hill toget another one, unfortunately it had to be abandoned. If you have not played the course you find that its benificial if you are a mountain goat to hire a buggy as its essential when you are in the twlight of your years (80). The restuarant has become a bar with bar food when its available. The advertised a la carte menu isn't avalable but when we complained that the website is advertising it and it's in the guest room they pulled the stop out and provided a menu but this could only be achieved when the chef was in. We were grateful that he enjoyed the challenge as the food was lovely. Portions were large no complains there however, they ran out of brown bread the second day we arrived, the advertised cornish ham which we reqested on our first night was never available for the rest of our 4 day stay and they also ran out of ice cream - no flavours available. As much as the staff tried to be helpful it was like Faulty Towers they never quite achieved it. At the end of the break which we had paid for in advance we were presented with a bill for £180 this didn't include food. they couldn't sort it out the poor receptionist didn't have a clue, she told us to go and that they'd be in touch. We now have the resturant bill which we regret putting against the room - we've been overcharged for food and drinks which we are requesting they check. All in all an expected restful holiday turned into a bit of a nightmare.

Room Tip: Go for superior but I think there is only one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Just got back from a 2 night stay and agree with the last reviewer - its very tired and needs a lot of TLC. The setting is beautiful and really handy for local attractions so it would be wonderful if it was updated.
The staff are helpful but obviously not well trained in attending to guests. The poor girl on reception seemed to be doing absolutely everything. They kept running out of food and there was no ice cream as the freezer had been left open and the chef could'nt find the spinach.

Management please update everything and train the staff who could be an asset to you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlebn20
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel as we were attending a wedding nearby. We paid to stay an additional night as we thought that we would extend our trip.
We were very grateful that the hotel staff allowed us to check in early as this was really convenient as we were travelling a long way from London. Please be aware, that if you are booking this hotel based on what you see on the hotel website, as I did, then I advise you not to.

The hotel boasts of lush surroundings, fantastic facilities and locally sourced/produced food, with accompanying photographs. There was no virtual golf. There was no lush locally produced food. I think that there was once upon a time, but when we looked to see where it was we found a room piled high full of chairs and junk. When we checked in, we were not told about any of the hotels "facilities" nor were we told about breakfast, which was included in the price. We slept well in the cottage type room though. On the second day (Sunday) we travelled by foot in to Lostwithiel and had something to eat in one of the few pubs in town. We walked back in the early evening and chilled for an hour, before heading over to the hotel restaurant for some food. We saw an unhappy couple standing at reception who were being given some sort of instructions and were being issued with an apology. We then enquired about dinner and were told that the chef had gone home for the night (8pm) and that the only option that we had for food was a chinese takeaway, back in Lostwithiel. My husband had already had three pints of beer and it was unsafe to drive in to town. If the chef takes it upon himself to go home, no effort will be made on the hotel's behalf, to feed you, or ensure that you are looked after. Upon checkout of the hotel, we were not asked if we enjoyed our stay once or given the opportunity to provide feedback. The breakfast was nice, aside from the fact that the staff are unable to retain the orders properly. You definitely get what you pay for here. It was run in to the ground and just needs a little bit of TLC. The tennis courts are unusable and it is a shame as the place could be so much more. We won't be heading back and were really gutted to have massively wasted our second night here, especially as we could not even get food from anywhere!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I have been there only one night and I do not recommend.
The bathroom not cleaned properly, dust everywhere. Not hot water in the shower.
Breakfast - coffee, tea, two toasts per person, jam and cereals, nothing more!!! I do not know if that was because we were the only three people on the breakfast that morning but this is unacceptable in 3 stars hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Friend organised a 3 night golf trip for seven of us. On arrival hotel was very quiet so parking not a problem. Golf course was in good condition but pro shop locked and no sign of club pro all week. A drinks machine would be a good idea in the foyer especially in hot weather. Staff were brilliant especially Sarah who organised a mini bus for us into Newquay & St Austell. Food was average / good. Breakfast good. Rooms were clean & comfortable but the whole place needs some money invested to bring it up to a better standard.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Will stay again next time I'm in the area! Only thing Lostwithiel needs is night-time takeaways , by 1am I was quite peckish. Pool = good
Food = amazing
Breakfast = amazing
Parking = amazing
Barstaff = amazing

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club

Address: Lower Polscoe, Lostwithiel PL22 0HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lostwithiel Hotel Golf And Country Club
Lostwithiel Hotel Country
Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.