We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asquiths

Asquiths
19 North Street, Lostwithiel, England
01208 871714
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Lostwithiel
Price range: $20 - $46
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Luxembourg
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A true Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Whilst staying in a nearby hotel, we chanced upon this venue and booked for the same evening- what a stroke of luck! This small restaurant in the middle of the town has a beautiful interior, neutral and cool but in no way spartan- a black and white decor is tranquil yet welcoming. The service was friendly, unobtrusive and very professional. The food quality is significantly above what the price-point would suggest, and my starter of slow-cooked belly pork, and main of strips of veal on a risotto bed were to die for. Start to finish, the visit was a triumph. Wish I lived nearer...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    19
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Excellent food that I would class as modern British served in a modern and elegant restaurant. Good wine list, reasonably priced.

Efficient if somewhat detached service and, as other reviewers have mentioned, little or no atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Eat here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

There were four of us, and we all thought it was one of the best meals we have eaten. Food fresh, exciting and we'll presented. Staff very attentive and helpful. Couldn't really find a fault with anything. I will definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem - not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Visited here with relatives for a special birthday dinner. The restaurant is very welcoming, spotlessly clean and with a nice atmosphere. Had a wonderful meal at a very reasonable price but very high standard. A 3-course meal cost us a little more than a pub meal would have and there was absolutely no comparison. The food was to die for, extremely well cooked and presented, of high quality and quantity. Most of it is locally sourced, three of us had the veal served on a bed of mushroom risotto which was delicious. The wine list was also sensibly priced. I have not had such a good meal for a long time. Will be back when we are next visiting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Par, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was our second visit to this gem of a family run restaurant. The food was exciting, the small menu was interesting and all four of us were able to choose a varied meal. I thought the staff were super, they were always attentive, always at hand If needed, but not intrusive. We liked the white table cloths and napkins, compared with most pub restaurants paper napkins on wooden tables and for about the same price. A very happy evening was enjoyed by all of us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asquiths also viewed

Lostwithiel, Cornwall
 

Been to Asquiths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asquiths, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.