We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No faults at all!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asquiths

Asquiths
19 North Street, Lostwithiel, England
01208 871714
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Lostwithiel
Price range: $20 - $46
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“No faults at all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Dined at Asquiths last night with two friends. Had three courses, all of which were cooked perfectly using fresh, local ingredients. Several wines interested me on the wine list, decided to go for the Valpolicella. Great service. Will be back in the future for sure!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    19
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Seriously good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had a superb meal. There are so many good things to say. We particularly liked the use of local and seasonal ingredients like game. It was also pleasing that there was no messing with 'the chef cooks the pigeon/venison pink/rare; he cooked them the way he thought they should be cooked and we would be grown up enough to expect that. (The pigeon was as good as we have ever tasted.) Only quibble is that if you offer sherry it is good to serve it like the Spanish do. The wine list is not particularly exciting but is good value and probably just right for the situation..

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

An excellent dinner with my son after the cider festival ! Good value and excellent menu. We had a fish starter followed by lamb. Good all round evening.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penzance
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

food and service was great, everything was cooked to perfection, great value for money, will definately be going back

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lostwithiel, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Have just arrived home after a night out at Asquiths Lostwithiel, what a fabulous evening! The food here is amazing, a good choice on the menu and after much deliberation (all the choices sounded delicious) had the best meal I have had in ages. Ambiance good (we were probably the annoying loud table you don't want to sit next too!) but everything spot on and as we drank coffee and ate delicious Brownies we were not rushed to leave at all even though the other diners had left at least 45 mins before. Not the cheapest restuarant in the town but definitely worth it. Top notch, delicious food. Make sure you have a starter and definitely have dessert!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asquiths also viewed

Lostwithiel, Cornwall
 

Been to Asquiths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asquiths, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.