We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Chapel

The Old Chapel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lostwithiel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Chapel
Save
You added The Old Chapel to your Saves list
West Taphouse, Lostwithiel PL22 0RP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Lostwithiel B&B and Inns
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“5 star B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Great ( 5 -star hotel standard ) B&B with terrific breakfasts(huge choice) and extremely hospitable hosts ( and knowledgeable about the local area), near to Lostwithiel, Cornwall. Well situated for Eden project, Lost Gardens of Heligan, lovely Cornish villages.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at the The Old Chapel for three nights and it was brilliant. Michael and Babs could not do enough for you and the breakfasts are out of this world with a very big choice on the menu. If you need a guide then David is your man and Michael and Babs will help you get in touch with him. Thanks to Michael and Babs for a lovely three days and David for being our guide.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a short break at this lovely b&b. I made a mistake with the booking but Michael couldn't have been more gracious. We only stayed for 1 night after all but we were made very welcome. We had a four poster bed which was very comfortable and the breakfasts are lovely with local and home made produce.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed for a 4 night break to celebrate my wifes birthdaye, we were both very happy indeed with our choice. Michael and Babs are a lovely couple; friendly, informative, helpful and they made our stay an absolute pleasure.

The B&B itself is beautifully appointed - more like a small hotel in terms of the standards, both in terms of quality and cleanliness, and Michael's breakfasts should by now be legendary if they aren't already - superb.

First class - a real find for us both and somewhere we will surely return to. We cannot recommend this B&B and the owners highly enough. All we can say is "Go . . . . ."

Micheal also arranged a trip to the Eden Project for us with David Hogg of Castle Tours and again this was beyond our expections and all we can say again is if you want to visit Cornwall or the Eden Project - stay at this B & B and use David Hogg both are superb. Best wishes to Tabbitha the old cat - we loved her.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

warm welcome for us from Michael and Babs. We were well looked after trips to Eden and Heligan were arranged. We had a wonderful time comfortable beds and warm showers in a cold and windy May were just what we needed thanks again. Big breakfast and snacks too super chips even made us a packed lunch.

Room Tip: you need a car for this location
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Babs and Michael pay great attention to detail, and our rooms were comfortable and superbly appointed. The Eden Break was excellent, well-organised and with an amusing, intelligent and interesting guide. As for Michael’s breakfasts…….! C & H, Dorset

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent three fantastic nights here, from 27th to 29thOct. 2012 inclusive. I would class Joyce and I as seasoned World Travellers, who have spent very little time in B&B's in the UK or anywhere else. Our normal holidays are in 5* luxury hotels. Well let me tell you, this B&B was a 5* base from which we travelled to interesting places in Cornwall.
Michael and Babs were our hosts and could not do enough for us and as for the breakfasts - go and see the menu. WOW.
Our room was spacious with all mod cons and a four poster bed with a real comfortable mattress.

The price included a visit to The Eden Project. We were collected by David our guide and treated to a personal tour of the whole site, including areas not seen by visitors. After four hours he whisked us back to West Taphouse. We were treated like Royalty all round. Thanks Babs and Michael. See you again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Chapel

Address: West Taphouse, Lostwithiel PL22 0RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lostwithiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Old Chapel Lostwithiel, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Chapel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.