We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tremont House

Tremont House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tremont House to your Saves list
Tremont House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2 The Terrace, Lostwithiel PL22 0DT , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Lostwithiel B&B and Inns
Welling
1 review
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

This is a beautiful house full of character and original features providing a comfortable and relaxing place to stay. Lorna and Mark are a very friendly and welcoming couple who do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable. We had three young children with us and they were made most welcome and they loved Lily the owners little dog!. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
18
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

We enjoyed a large room and bathroom with a good view overlooking Lostwithiel. The amenities provided were better than many good class hotels in the UK. The guest sitting room was comforable and included use of TV and PC as well as a range of reading material. The breakfast room is bright and overlooking the garden with large spring flowering shrubs plus birds visiting the feeders provided for them. An excellent choice is on offer for breakfast ordered the previous evening
There is a wide selection of information on the locality and we found Lorna and Mark's recommendations for restaurants and pubs to be very reliable. We also appreciated the loan of an OS map and suggestions for coastal and country walking.
The purpose of our visit was to attend a wedding and we were offered help with pressing clothes and even a loan of cufflinks!
We chose to walk a short distance into the town most evenings (avoiding a somewhat tricky manoevre from a narrow lane into the rear car park of Tremont). After the wedding we decided to stay longer in Cornwall taking advantage of good weather and, although Lorna was being admitted to hospital that day, we were made welcome to stay. - We hope that she is making a good recovery ready for the special day at Easter.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunol, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

Lorna, the proprietor of Tremont House, saw to it that our stay in her establishment was a wonderful and memorable experience. Although Tremont House is more than 100 years old, the guest rooms and baths are all recently renovated. The room we stayed in had a private sink and shower that are brand new. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast room has an east-facing window that sunshine pours into in the morning (at least when the clouds allow!). Just beyond the window is a multi-faceted bird feeder used by the local feathered residents and it is entertaining to watch the birds at work. Lorna provides a menu offering a selection of items for breakfast (including, for example, local sausage). The food is delicious and the atmosphere is relaxing and bright.

When we were ready for an outing, she pointed us down the small hill Tremont House is situated on toward the center of Lostwithiel, and within a few short minutes we had walked by the Post Office, the train station, numerous historical buildings, and over a medieval stone bridge. She recommended a nearby Victorian “house” (really more of a mansion) called Lanhydrock, and we thoroughly enjoyed a tour of more than 50 rooms within the house as well as seemingly acres of gardens overflowing with flowers. She also recommended a visit to the nearby Eden Project (less than ten miles away) – a site not to be missed – having among other things, several domes overflowing with flora from different regions of the world.

We have traveled for many years to many destinations, and we definitely plan on returning both to Lostwithiel and to Tremont House, to again enjoy Lostwithiel, Tremont House, and Lorna's hospitality.

  • Liked — Newly rennovated and clean rooms and baths; hospitality; food.
  • Disliked — Somewhat tight parking.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, Lancashire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

During our recent trip to Cornwall we stayed at the Tremont House in Lostwithiel. We were made very welcome by the hosts and right through our stay (4 nights). You could not wish for more friendlier hosts, nothing was to much trouble for them.

The rooms are kept very clean, there is also a guest lounge where you can sit and read, watch television or even surf the internet. The dining room is large and spacious and very clean, the food is great too, sourced locally when available.

Lostwithiel is only a small village and Tremont House is situated just on the outskirts, it is very easy to get into the village, only a 3 minute walk however it takes a little longer to walk back because of a hill but that should not deter anyone from staying at Tremont House.

  • Liked — Everything, The Cleanliness, The Friendliness
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

Always a great welcome from your hosts at this great B&B in a large Victorian house. The 3 bedrooms are good sizes with comfortable beds. All have TV, coffee, tea and delicious local biscuits! Breakfast is hearty or healthy (if you want that option!) or both! You’ll even get a daily weather forecast in the breakfast room! For rainy days you get the use of a lovely lounge and games and videos…..plus they also provide free wireless internet. What more could you want!

Basically you’ll get all you need comfort wise from a B&B and for really good value. What you get in addition is marvellous friendly hosts (who really care), great local knowledge, and a tremendous situation – only 5 minutes walk from the great pubs and restaurants in Lostwithiel. (Note – it is 5 minutes into town, but 10 minutes back up a steep hill!).

Recommended by someone who keeps going back!

  • Liked — Friendly and comfortable
  • Disliked — Nothing - all good
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tremont House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tremont House

Address: 2 The Terrace, Lostwithiel PL22 0DT , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lostwithiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tremont House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tremont House is a large Victorian residence providing a comfortable and friendly atmosphere for visitors to enjoy, whether you are staying for business or leisure purposes. A quality breakfast is provided, with plenty of variety, using mainly local produce. Tremont House has gained 4 Star Visit Britain status and a Silver Award for our efforts towards Green Tourism. The old town of Lostwithiel, a five minute walk away, offers a variety of pubs and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Tremont House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tremont House Lostwithiel, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tremont House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.