We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tremont House

Tremont House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tremont House to your Saves list
Tremont House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2 The Terrace, Lostwithiel PL22 0DT , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Lostwithiel B&B and Inns
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“What a Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just returned after five nights at Tremont House. Mark and Lorna are wonderful hosts and could not have been more helpful and flexible. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable with a large en suite and the comfortable beds ensured a good night's sleep. There is a wide choice for breakfast and the good quality food, well prepared, makes an excellent start to the day. There are several places in Lostwithiel (pubs and restaurants) providing evening meals, all within easy walking distance of Tremont House and enough shops in the town to provide for every day needs.

We would recommend this accommodation very highly and can give the assurance that you will have a great welcome and a wonderful stay. It is the best B & B we have visited!

Room Tip: All appeared spacious and well placed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
18
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We have had two nights at Tremont and it is just fantastic, great location, very friendly host, huge clean comfortable room and a fantastic breakfast. We are new to using B&B's however Tremont is fantastic value for money. We would recommend this accomodation to any travellers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We choose this place following recommendations on tripadvisor and it was a great location.
The owners are polite, room is clean and big, and breakfast really complete. Just one upgrade to be better. Dining room smells to dust deeply because ground and walls are covered with carpets. But it doesn't happen in the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

After choosing Tremont House more or less at random we could not have been happier with the welcome we received from Lorna and Mark who really go out of their way to make sure your stay is comfortable. There are thoughtful touches everywhere from tea in the room to a board describing that day's weather in the breakfast room. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was a delightful surprise for a B&B which we chose at random due to the location.
Lostwithiel is ideally located for holidays in Cornwall and is close to the Eden Project and Heligan.
The B&B is run by Lorna and Mark. Very welcoming and as soon as you enter the house you can see what trouble they have gone to in making it homely. Very clean rooms, there are only three and although one is not ensuite, which we had, there is exclusive use of a bathroom and toilet along the corridor. Breakfast is definitely the way to start the day, usually at 8.30.
They may not take you if it is only a one night stay but otherwise great value and well recommended.

Room Tip: They are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed with Lorna and Mark in this beutiful house in historic Lostwithiel during our Lands end to John O'Groats cycle ride in June '12. Lorna sent us plenty of directions before hand which turned out to be invaluable after cycling through Cornwalls hills. Lorna met us with lovely tea and cake, which was very welcome after a hard days riding and Mark found safe storage for our tandem. The hosts made us feel at home and provided us with useful information about this historic location, with advice on places to see and venues to eat. The breakfast was fabulous and we would happily visit again. If you're looking for a place to stay in this area you won't go far wrong staying at Tremont House.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne and Wear
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

What a lovely couple to deal with. Having paid a deposit I later had to cancel the holiday. Lorna and Mark were so nice about it and arranged a refund in a flash without any quibble whatever.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tremont House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tremont House

Address: 2 The Terrace, Lostwithiel PL22 0DT , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lostwithiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tremont House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tremont House is a large Victorian residence providing a comfortable and friendly atmosphere for visitors to enjoy, whether you are staying for business or leisure purposes. A quality breakfast is provided, with plenty of variety, using mainly local produce. Tremont House has gained 4 Star Visit Britain status and a Silver Award for our efforts towards Green Tourism. The old town of Lostwithiel, a five minute walk away, offers a variety of pubs and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Tremont House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tremont House Lostwithiel, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tremont House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.