We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a very nice welcome” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ballaminers House

Ballaminers House
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Petherick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ballaminers House
Save
You added Ballaminers House to your Saves list
Little Petherick, Padstow PL27 7QT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not a very nice welcome”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

The guesthouse is lovely and beautifully decorated, beds comfortable and bathrooms great. However just a quick note regarding the owner, we travelled from Exeter airport and telephoned ahead of time to advise that we would be arriving around 7-7.30pm we were greeted by Amanda who very rudely informed us that the time of arrival should have been earlier, even though we had pre warned her. We werent aware that we only had an hour window to arrive!
We were then given the rules of the house and like the previous comments were left very confused that we were locked out of the house even though it is a bed and breakfast, we soon realised that this wasnt the place for us, so after breakfast we packed up and decided to find somewhere else to stay, on leaving Amanda again very rudely informed us that we had to pay for the next night as we had mentioned that we may stay for 2 nights, we had paid for the first night ahead of time anyway!
We were then told by Amanda that she didnt want 'our sort of people staying there and that we should get out' extremely insulted to be spoken to like that we quickly left! So if you do decide to stay here make sure you are the 'right' sort of person to stay there - we were on our honeymoon and doing a tour of the British Iles before going back to our catered chalet business in France, so not sure what sort of person she is looking for!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pandafearon, owner at Ballaminers House, responded to this review, October 1, 2009
We are sorry that this review should read in the way that it does. Our aim is at all times to be accommodating to our guests and to make them feel as comfortable as possible which we feel is reflected in other reviews which highlight this.We are also surprised that the guests who wrote this review did not at anytime contact us directly to voice their concerns. Indeed the guests stayed at Ballaminers House over one year ago. We also feel that we should as owners point out that some of the information posted on the review is inaccurate.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    2
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at Ballaminers House and the seperate self catering accomodation across the courtyard in Stable Cottage. It was a perfect arrangment for our extended party. We all had a very restful and peaceful break and the accomodation was just as described. Ballaminers House is a real home and we were treated warmly by Amanda.
Unfortunately, I came down with a virus the night before we were due to leave. I was in the self catering cottage in a shared bedroom. Amanda rang the hospital and I was treated there. On my return I still felt quite poorly and as there was a spare room in the house available for one night, Amanda made up the room for me at no extra charge and I was so relieved to fall into the clean sheets and have a restful sleep. This is the sort of service that you could not expect from a larger hotel and we were very grateful that we were in a caring environment under the circumstances.
We will definitely be returning in the future and loved Padstow and the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

We booked this B and b for a relaxing weekend on arrival we found that we were actually in the owners main residence, even thiugh on the website it stated this was not suitable for babies or toddlers we were informed the owners daughter and 5 month old grandson were in the next room to us, Although the baby did not wake till 6 in the morning it was never the less not to our liking,
We were also told we had to be out of the house before 10.30am and could not retirn until 4.30pm, we were also told we could not have a key and if we arrived home after a night out after 10.30 we had to advise them. At £90.00 per room per night this was not what we expected.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pandafearon, Owner at Ballaminers House, responded to this review, July 11, 2009
Having read this review with a very unkind and potentially damageing title I 'm left feeling very upset indeed and confused to the point that I feel a reply clarifying the critisims is necessary. The guests ( I do not know who they are) who wrote this review decided to choose to stay at a ' Private Home' on a bed and breakfast basis. We are a private house from which we offer bed and breakfast accommodation we don't pretend to be anything else. Firstly, I don't understand the reason the guests were surprised to find that their accommodation would be in Ballaminers House itself as the booking confirmation/ telephone conversation sent / voiced to this couple confirmed that they would be staying in the house in a double / twin bedroom with private bathroom. Secondly if the guests felt the need to use the property during the day and wanted a 24 hour lobby service then perhaps a hotel would have suited their requirements better. Bed and Breakfast accommodation is exactly what it says and does not pretend to be a hotel. Like many owners we do have other daily committments and this is clearly stated on our web site informing guests that with respect we ask them to vacate the house by 10.30am during their stay and the door is open again at 4.30pm. With regards to not being given keys our insurance policy strictly states that keys cannot be given to guests and therefore we naturally have to abide by this. There are no hard and fast rules regarding returning to the house after a night out indeed we like guests to enjoy themselves after all they're on holiday! What we do say is that if guests think they may return later than 10.30pm in the evening then would they please lock up for the night which we feel is a perfectly reasonable request.I did not know that it was a crime to have my daughter and grandson to stay!! It would have been much appreciated if the guests had had a chat with us and then hopefully the various points on their posting could have been sorted out. Thankfully we have many returning guests to Ballaminers House , many lovely messages of thanks and little presents which are all greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2008

A beautiful gueshouse a few miles from Padstow in the village of Little Petherick. Charming rooms with all finishing touches. Excellent breakfast. Perfect for a quiet escape. Car essential.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballaminers House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballaminers House

Address: Little Petherick, Padstow PL27 7QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow > Little Petherick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Petherick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Ballaminers House Little Petherick, Cornwall, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballaminers House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.