We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our holiday in Lakeview villa 2, Rosecraddoc Holiday Village, Liskeard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosecraddoc Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Liskeard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rosecraddoc Manor
Save
You added Rosecraddoc Manor to your Saves list
Rosecraddoc Manor, Liskeard PL14 5AE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Banwell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our holiday in Lakeview villa 2, Rosecraddoc Holiday Village, Liskeard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Having stayed here last year for our holiday, we wanted another relaxing, quiet & picturesque views. This place is totally amazing, it really is. As soon as you arrive you immediately feel relaxed. All you can hear are the birds and the water from the fabulous pond and waterfall, also the owls first thing in the morning. The owners are a delight. We have been coming to this quiet retreat for (including this year) 3 years now. They have a fabulous restaurant onsite & the food is fantastic, cooked to a very high standard and the chef are very accommodating as we have special dietary needs, totally outstanding. The accommodation is also to very high standard, has everything you need for a wonderfully comfortable stay, exceptionally clean, modern, comfortable & spacious. The only negative we would say is the lane leading to the site but other than that, totally outstanding for all points for having a wonderful holiday. thanks again alex, clive and all other staff who work there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    8
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked this up at the last minute and whilst overall reviews for Rosecraddoc Manor are good none of them mention the individual cottages. Carpenters is a one bedroom cottage which size wise is perfect for 2 people. The issue is that the property smells damp, the bedroom windows have black mould on them and the bathroom is very run down. On the overall property spec bathrooms are stated as having either a jacuzzi or sauna, this one had neither (we were not to worried about this) however there was clearly a reason why no photos show the bathroom it is so old & dated! The kitchen had good amenities and it was clean throughout. (I had bleached the bathroom & kitchen before use).
The propertys location is ideal as central to all areas to be able to go out & visit. The grounds are very picturesque and are well worth a walk round. I'm sure the other rentals are nice and worthy of the reviews however Carpenters for us was very disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexS1973, Owner at Rosecraddoc Manor, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and we will take on board your comments raised. We will endeavour to rectify the points that you make as it is only through guest feedback that we can continue to make improvements. Most of the reviews here are for specific properties not just generic for the site.

It is a shame that you did not take the opportunity to raise these concerns either during your stay or upon departure to our managers who live onsite and would of done their upmost to assist you for example:- a move to an alternative property. We are only able to rectify problems once we are made aware of them.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the central location of Rosecraddoc and the grounds of the Manor. We are sorry that Carpenters disappointed you and if we have the chance to welcome you again, please do contact us direct on alex@rosecraddocholidays.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I have tried many different places in Cornwall, where the photos of the place look amazing yet you get there and are disappointed, however for the first time in Cornwall, this didn't happen!

The Manor is a complex of cottages and houses varying in price according to the number of bedrooms one needs.

The complex is situated in a very green and leafy woodland, with a lovely lake being in the middle of the complex where one can fish, or play a game of tennis in the courtyard.

I stayed in the 'Liam' cottage and getting there was very easy. The directions given were clear and concise, while the Manor was clearly sign posted.

Upon arrival, the reception was closed (as we got there late at night) however our keys were easy to pick up from the arrival box.

The cottage was lovely. Very traditional in the sense of being a stone cottage, with wooden beams and slats that can be used to close the windows from the sun.

Despite being an old cottage, all the modern cons were there: a large-screen TV, many heaters, a new kitchen with a washing machine and also a new bathroom with shower and bath.

The owners have truly thought about everything since the welcome pack contained information such as the nearest shops, banks, and places of interest to view.

The only down-side for me was the lack of phone signal. If you went outside you could get one, however not inside the cottage.

The Manor's restaurant is outside of the complex and on another site that does have WIfI, so if you need access to a computer on your holiday then perhaps this isn't the place for you!

The woodlands were lovely and having them right next to where you were staying was amazing.

The owners and staff were all very friendly and helpful, a shame that such friendliness isn't everywhere in England!

Payment of the electricity metre is done at the end of your stay and is asked to be paid in cash. A weeks worth of using the washing machine / tumble dryer, heaters and television came to around £15 which isn't too bad.

Overall, great value for money and I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

we, being grandparents in our early 50's and 2 grandchildren aged 7 and 10, stayed for 1 week at start of august, 13. We had 3 bed riverside property, next to the rambling river looking over to the lake. The view was fantastic especially from the bedroom balcony. Had wonderful weather for most of the week. the children loved the freedom of running around and playing, fishing and hunting (spying on the very friendly wild rabbits).
The house had all you would need - kitchen lovely - Jacuzzi and sauna - 2 bathrooms - patio doors - and Ron the estate manager has a wealth of knowledge and very friendly and helpful. Close to lots of local attractions - had a couple of lovely days out but also spent some very relaxing days at rosecraddoc.
What made our holiday even more special was the wonderful hosting skills of Alex at the Village Inn (on site). What a truly lovely lady - thank you Alex - The food was fabulous - especially the parfait - big big thank you Alex - The children fell in love with Alex as she makes the best burger sauce ever and she spoils them rotten - nothing was too much.
We will definitely be going back - hopefully soon lol

Room Tip: Riverside villa was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay at Rosecraddoc Manor. The setting is beautiful - very peaceful and relaxing. The accommodation was adequate - very clean but in need of updating. The bathroom was very tired looking and the mattress and sofa have definitely seen better days. However, as the weather was glorious we spent most of our time outside so this was not a big issue - but, for the money, I would expect higher quality accommodation.

The Village Inn on the nearby Rosecraddoc holiday park serves good, simple food at reasonable prices. The staff here, and the manager of the estate, are very friendly and helpful.

Rosecraddoc is a good base for visiting a number of locations. The train to Looe, a pretty seaside town, is highly recommended. We also enjoyed the Lost Gardens of Heligan and Lanhydrock but would not rush back to the Eden Project.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have stayed here many times since 1993 in both the apartments contained in the Moanor house as well as in the Lakeside Villas. All have been of high quality. This year we stayed in Lakeside Number 3 (there are 4 in total). This has just been refurbished throughout, nice new decor, furniture and crockery and bathroom suite. It has a sauna should you want to use it. The balcony is a lovely spot to sit and soak up the sun and to listen to and watch the wildlife.

The grounds are well kept, no litter and slope down to a lake stocked with carp up to around 10lb and lots of small roach and rudd. No need for fancy baits, just use a cheap loaf of bread and you'l have great fun with the hard fighting good condition carp.

There is a tennis court and a walk through the grounds and woodland to enjoy.

The Village Inn at the end of the drive serves good food and is reviewed seperately on Trip Advisor.

One niggle is the extra charge for electricity, I can understand why with electiric storage heaters and a sauna as some people may choose to abuse it but it is still a niggle. Perhaps the owners should include the the 1st £20 worth of electricity and charge any excess.

I will be booking to go back in the Autumn so it says it all really, if it was bad I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, MID GLAMORGAN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Rosecraddoc Manor over Easter and had a great time. The grounds are wonderful with a lake, waterfall, tennis court and pub serving food just minutes away. The location was great within easy access of Looe which we loved. We also met the owners and they were lovely friendly people and couldn'tdo enough for us. We will return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosecraddoc Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosecraddoc Manor

Address: Rosecraddoc Manor, Liskeard PL14 5AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Liskeard
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Liskeard
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It has often been said that Rosecraddoc Manor must be the nearest thing to paradise. The manor properties stand in 38 acres of beautiful grounds and woodlands, set around a lovely lake, stocked with carp, roach and bream. Rosecraddoc Manor features a variety of properties surrounding the historic Manor House to cater for all tastes whether classic, modern, cosy or cottage style is what you are looking for. The manor was built in the 1820s on the site of a much older house mentioned in the Domesday Book. It is Grade II listed, along with two bridges in the grounds, and has now been converted into these attractive apartments and villas, making a perfect base for your Cornish holiday.Within 4 miles you can explore Bodmin Moor, where you can go horse riding, walking or try various water sports on Sibleyback Lake which include wind surfing, dinghy sailing and canoeing. To the south, lovely sandy beaches and pretty fishing harbours lie along the coast. Several excellent golf courses are also in the area. For evening relaxation, there is a licensed bar The Village Inn, serving good food just 300 yards from the Manor door, open evenings in the Summer and other good country pubs and restaurants can be found locally.• Fairytale setting in 38 acres of beautiful Manor Grounds• Some villas suitable for disabled people • Saunas are in most properties. • Jacuzzi or spa bath in some properties • Free private all-weather tennis court • Free private coarse fishing available all year • Four-poster beds are in some properties• 11 miles from the beaches of the South Cornwall coast ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rosecraddoc Manor Liskeard, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosecraddoc Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.