We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far From the Madding Crowd” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pencubitt House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pencubitt House to your Saves list
Pencubitt House
Lamellion Cross, Liskeard PL14 4EB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Liskeard
Certificate of Excellence 2014
surrey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Far From the Madding Crowd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

We were welcomed warmly and made to feel comfortable. Lovely house with large romantic rooms in a gorgeous setting. Tasty dinners and breakfasts. Clive and Dorette the perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble. Our expectations were far exceeded and we would not hesitate to return or recommend to others and we would come back. Left with nice memories.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
107
9
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

Wanted a quiet weekend away for my husbands birthday, and couldn't of asked for more. The hotel is fabulous with amazing rooms and views. The service was out of this world and the hosts couldn't do enough for us. Ate in the hotel both nights and the food was perfect with a great wine list too. Thank you so much Clive and Dorette for making this our best weekend away ever.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

A small family run hotel, done the right way.

From the moment we walked in the door we were made very welcome, and a jovial nature was forthcoming throughout our two day stay. Because the hotel was not fully booked the rooms we had were upgraded, and both rooms were clean, tidy, and warm. Both rooms also had excellent views.

Ample supplies of tea, coffee etc and the bath/shower gels were available, and the included breakfast was as much of a banquet as you wanted with a variety - and good quantity - of cereals and fruit on offer plus whatever combination of a full English breakfast you could want.

By no means the cheapest hotel, but far from the dearest in the area, and I doubt I could have bettered the service or experience. I'll certainly be booking again.

  • Liked — The comfort
  • Disliked — The slow internet connection
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

Stayed here for four days in September. Beautiful house and large gardens, very well maintained. The proprietors, Clive and Doretta, could not have been more helpful and each night the food, cooked by Clive, was of the highest standard. Always 3 choices each of starter, main course and desert - yummee! Liskeard is very easy for travelling to all parts of Cornwall and close to many places of interest. The station is close by as are buses (within easy walking distance). All in all, a very good stay - even the weather was kind to us!

  • Liked — Very comfortable and excellent host and hostess
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

We have just spent the Easter weekend at the Pencubitt where we have stayed several times before. In spite of the cold and blustery weather we had a very relaxing and enjoyable break.

The rooms were immaculate and the proprieters were most helpful and obliging. If you are looking for a peaceful place to stay within easy reach of the delights of Cornwall then this is for you.

Although the menu is fairly short on choice the locally sourced food is well prepared and presented in a nicely appointed restaurant.

We will certainly return.

  • Liked — The peace and comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2007

My wife and I stayed at Pencubitt recently for three nights. It is small quiet hotel in a Victorian country house. If you are seeking a taste of English country life in convivial surroundings, Pencubitt is highly recommended. The hotel is run by a husband and wife team and the service is excellent, if discreet and good natured. Rooms are extremely comfortable and the food is first class, based on a small traditional English menu. Location-wise, it is a good base for touring many of Cornwall's attractions. The hotel is clearly aimed at those seeking a few days away in a quiet relaxing environment. Overall, excellent value.

  • Liked — Friendly, comfortable
  • Disliked — No dislikes
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2006

Go visit this superb hotel, accomodation as it should be.
Excellent large airy rooms and most of all superb food.
Nice views over the Loe Valley and very tranquille

Thanks to Clive & Dorette for making us so welcome.
Hope to see you again next year.

Tony & Angele Patton
Derby

  • Liked — The position/food and freindliness of proprietors
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pencubitt House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pencubitt House

Address: Lamellion Cross, Liskeard PL14 4EB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Liskeard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Liskeard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pencubitt House near Liskeard in Cornwall features nine comfortable en-suite rooms together with a relaxing guest lounge and licensed bar where you can read, check emails, or simply enjoy a drink whilst overlooking the garden views and the beautiful rolling countryside of the Looe Valley. Pencubitt really is an ideal location for exploring South East Cornwall and Devon. Whether that be the local fishing villages of Looe and Polperro, the harbour town of Fowey, The Eden Project or the Lost Gardens of Heligan and with Dartmoor, Plymouth, Bodmin Moor, Lanhydrock and a day trip to Padstow less than an hour away - the choice is yours! We serve a traditional and hearty breakfast to set you up for your day! We can also offer afternoon Cream Teas, picnics and take-away continental breakfast. Our aim is to ensure you enjoy your stay with us in our relaxing and comfortable character home. We look forward to meeting you and welcoming you to Pencubitt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pencubitt House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pencubitt Country Hotel
Pencubitt House Liskeard, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pencubitt House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.