We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A theatre gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sterts Arts Centre

Sterts Arts Centre
Upton Cross, Liskeard PL14 5AZ, England
1579 362382
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 26 things to do in Liskeard
Attraction details
Bath
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A theatre gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We would have liked to go to Minack theatre but it was too far from where we were staying near Bodmin, then we came across this little gem. It is an ampitheatre cut from the hill side with a large tent like structure over head. We were advised to bring cushions and blankets, and we were able to pick up a couple of cheap cushions from Tresco mills near by, though there did look like some available to borrow there, the picnic blanket came in handy too to keep off the evening chill. Experienced Sterts goers were well equipt with their garden cushions, cosy blankets and flasks of hot drinks. The show was lovely, we saw songs from Broadway, it was a professional sounding local group, it really felt like we were part of the community too. Well worth checking out! great value at only £10 each

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truro, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“It is what it is!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

It is what it is!! It is outdoors, but with a canvas cover. The seats are hard and they would be, it was cold, but that is this summer. The only special thing is if it is a spectacular show.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I honestly can't imagine why I am giving this place such a good review - it's just excellent. Make sure you take comfy cushions and hot toddies and you'll have a fantastic night.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Saw an 'am dram' production here of the forbidden planet - superbly done, well worth the drive, take own pillow to sit on and blanket to keep warm as it is in a marquee type affair!

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Top Contributor
1,272 reviews 1,272 reviews
439 attraction reviews
Reviews in 198 cities Reviews in 198 cities
5,628 helpful votes 5,628 helpful votes
“Interesting busy little theatre arts centre and cafe.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

Well established and always a busy schedule, bar and cafe open from about six on performance nights. Not too far from the A38. Mixture of plays readings music and a good deal more. Gets remarkably narrow publicity given the range of entertainment we have enjoyed here. Worth checking the current schedules.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sterts Arts Centre also viewed

 
Liskeard, Cornwall
Menheniot, Liskeard
 

Been to Sterts Arts Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sterts Arts Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.