We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ttraditional pub with excellent atmoshere.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cheesewring Hotel

The Cheesewring Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Cheesewring Hotel to your Saves list
The Cheesewring Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Minions, Liskeard PL14 5LE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Liskeard B&B and Inns
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
“Ttraditional pub with excellent atmoshere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

After a chilly walk with the dogs at Minions we were looking forward to a cosy pub with good wholesome pub food. We were not disappointed! Warmth radiated from the fire and the atmosphere was warm and welcoming too. Quite an extensive menu to tempt all tastes. We were very pleased with the meals which were of extremely good value. Service was prompt even though most of the tables were taken and the waiting staff friendly and helpful without being over the top. Will definitely return and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

My wife and I with another couple had a table for 4 for lunch. Excellent food, OK service and prices in the middle of the road. Good atmosphere, pleasant, clean and an altogether experience we would all be very happy to repeat ....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

you cannot beat the food at the cheesewring and Saturday night entertainment is unbeatable friendly staff well worth a try lovely place to go walking . Try walking up towards caradon mast and check out views of cornwall

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

This is a great pub in a great location, the food is good, decent size portions and enough variety to suit most palates.
With real log fires and decent beers on taps, its got all you would want from a proper Cornish pub out on the moors.
Definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

When I read the "only" poor review of these premises after visiting I had to check that I had actually been to the same place.
Social Club? No, social hub of the area where anyone stranger or local is immediately made welcome and treated like a friend.
Moved on from that kind of pub grub? Please no, keep serving the huge portions of tasty filling food which true pub clientele love. There is a huge selection of food to suit everyone's taste and all reasonably priced and always a selection of real ales to enjoy
The staff are all friendly and nothing is too much trouble with them
I would defy anyone to find a pub which serves a home made fresh Chicken Kiev for £8.25 or an excellent burger for under £7
My wife and I spent 5 nights here while visiting relatives in the area and could not have been happier with our choice of accommodation or food we had only been in the bar for a few minutes and were spoken to by several locals and made very welcome. In fact we will be keeping in touch with one couple with whom we became very friendly.
I can only implore anyone thinking of staying here or visiting for a meal to ignore the poor review and look at all the excellent reviews

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Very friendly, family run pub with good food with great atmosphere. Ideal for getting to some amazing areas on Bodmin moor, such as the minions and Cheesering. Very relaxed break that I would recommend. Rooms are clean and fresh.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Having recently moved to the area we had heard nothing but praise from locals about the Cheesewring. Having looked at the website we were not expecting fine dining but really thought pubs had moved on from this kind of cheap and cheerful style of pub grub. The place has the look and feel of a social club, and judging by our lunches, food to match. Cheap burger in a cheap bun with frozen chips and an extremely un imaginative salad garnish, bit like a poor school canteen meal and the frozen chicken Kiev with chips and peas was pretty much as bad as it could be! Yes, it's a lovely spot for walkers but really that's all this place has going for it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cheesewring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheesewring Hotel

Address: Minions, Liskeard PL14 5LE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Liskeard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Liskeard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cheesewring Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Cheesewring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheesewring Hotel Liskeard, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cheesewring Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.