We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we wish to live here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trussel Barn

Trussel Barn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Liskeard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trussel Barn
Save
You added Trussel Barn to your Saves list
St Keyne, Liskeard PL14 4QL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Liskeard B&B and Inns
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“we wish to live here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

we were booked in by my dad who lives near by and were suprised by how comfortable the buttery is everything you need is provided. jo mike and tamar were friendly and nothing was too much trouble .the views are fantastic,the food looked good and tea coffee sugar and conserves are all included.the only set back was having to leave. id recommend this place to anyone thankyou

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
west sussex
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

We stayed her for only one night, which was a real shame as we wished we could have stayed longer. Jo and Mike (and Tamar and Merlin) were welcoming, interesting and the perfect hosts.
Spacious and comfortable, delicious breakfast, superb location.
Our only regret was leaving!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Five of us stayed for two nights in early October. A wonderful place: light, spacious, comfortable and very welcoming. Jo and Mike could not have been more friendly or helpful. Excellent breakfast, and the lovely local apple juice prompted a visit to the orchard down the road. Loved the veg patch and greenhouse too!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverstone
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

I really don't want to tell you about this delightfully peaceful place, as you will all go and I won't be able to get in next time!

We had a lovely stay here in July 2010. Jo & Mike were very hospitable; nothing was too much trouble, always checking that everything was just right for us.

Upon arrival we were treated to a lovely cup of coffee and some really yummy chocolate brownie, which Jo had made herself. The refreshment was a very welcome offering after a very long 41/2 hour drive from home.

Initially we stayed in ‘The Buttery’ self-catering apartment which was lovely; it was all that you would want in a holiday home.

The kitchen was kitted out with everything that you would need to make a meal with many more extras provided and was all spotlessly clean and tidy.

There is a good-sized lounge/diner/bedroom, which has ample room to move about. A flat screen TV, with Freeview is in the lounge. The 6ft bed has good quality Duck Feather & Down quilts and pillows, which is always a joy. There is a double wardrobe with matching bedside table/drawers. A hairdryer has also been provided for you.

We stayed in ‘The Buttery’ for 6 nights and fully intended to move onto somewhere else for the next night before making our way home, however, we loved it so much that we stayed an extra night however, this time we stayed in the ‘The Garden Room’ which is one of the two B&B rooms the property has.

The room was stunning to say the least, the same quality items as the self-catering apartment, but with a lovely breakfast provided, which included very tasty Cornish sausages and Jo's homemade bread and marmalades.

There is also a small fridge, which was a welcome surprise to keep your drinks cool in the summer. The bathroom in this room was very luxurious with lots of nice complimentary items provided.

The gardens surrounding the property are lovely but the views are stunning, you could just sit around all day and enjoy the scenery.

There is WiFi available in all the rooms, which is very handy to keep in touch.

The property is about 3 miles from Liskeard, 5 miles into Looe, and about 10 miles into Polperro.

All in all, this is a wonderful find, a little gem, which I would like to keep a secret but on the other hand, we would like other people the enjoy the place in the way that we did.

This property is also featured in Alistair Sawday's 'Special Places to Stay' book.

You will not be disappointed one little bit.

Thank you Jo & Mike for your hospitality, you made us feel very welcome, so much so, we just didn’t want to leave.

WE WILL BE BACK!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

Trussel Barn is a delight. It's wonderfully situated - overlooking the peaceful and very beautiful Looe Valley, around 3 miles from Liskeard. We received a lovely welcome from Jo and Mike and the two nights we spent there were a joy. Jo coped extraordinarily well with my very elderly father, even offering to transfer him to a ground floor room. Dad has now officially designated Trussel Barn as the best B&B in the UK!

Beautiful rooms, excellent facilities and wonderful breakfasts each morning, with local produce in abundance.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

This is a beautiful place with fabulous views. Made to feel very welcome by Jo and Mike. Breakfast excellent. Would thoroughly recommend for a quiet peaceful break. Truly a hidden gem!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trussel Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trussel Barn

Address: St Keyne, Liskeard PL14 4QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Liskeard
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Liskeard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Trussel Barn Liskeard, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trussel Barn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.