We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So full of character - story book stuff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puddleduck Cottage

Puddleduck Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lerryn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Puddleduck Cottage
3 Fore Street, Lerryn PL22 0PT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Woking
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“So full of character - story book stuff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed at Pudlleduck cottage on 15th September for a week - with wife, brother & sister in law. The cottage is beautifully clean and well equipped, its cosy and full of character.
The setting in Lerryn is fantastic if you want a break away from the rat race. The pub is litterally two doors away with the local stores two doors past that. Both establishments were friendly and welcoming. The local store had our provisions waiting for us (from a call the week before).

The (secret) garden is probobly 20 yards down the side alleyway and gives lovely views over the river. The local walking is awsome with the early morning riverside producing superb photo opportunities.

Very hard to find fault with anything really - the only thing I would say is that with four bedrooms sleepinh eight people is possible, there is enough living room seating & dining seating to cope but it would be extremely 'cosy' - this is more an opinion and not meant in any way as a critiscism - we had a fantastic week & would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

We had an amazing stay at puddleduck cottage, we were greeted by the owner who gave us a your around the village and the cottage, she was very welcoming and accommodating. He cottage was charming and had everything it needed. The village was lovely and the residence all very welcoming and friendly. We were very pleases that we were able to take the boat out on the estuary. We had a fabulous time, I would recommend to anyone, and we will most defiantly be back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed in Puddleduck Cottage recently and found the owners charming and welcoming. They ensured that we had everything we needed to make our visit both comfortable and enjoyable.

The cottage is cosy, very well equipped, and easy to find one's way around. There is a comprehensive information folder in the cottage describing both the cottage facilities and the places of interest around this beautiful area of Cornwall.

We had a wonderful stay and would not hesitate to recommend this cottage to anyone.

We were bemused by the previous review which did not ring true with our experience, the owners said that it was incorrect and misleading and although they had complained to Trip Advisor about it nothing had happened. It is a pity Trip Advisor does not do more to ensure the accuracy of their reviews as it would be a shame if people were put off visiting this wonderful cottage as a result of such a mean spirited review.

Room Tip: Choice of double and twin rooms - all very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

When we booked with them lady owner quoted a lower figure and when her husband came he appeared to be stubborn with the increased price.
Overall the cottage had all the basic necessities. We had to look around for all the facilities ourselves. With repeated phone calls the owner came to talk to us. he did not seem friendly but said " I have guests, i am busy".
On their website they talk about internet access but guys it is available with a huge cost calculated either per hr or per day basis.
We hardly had any mobile network including popular one like O2, Orange, 3, t mobile. this could be a good thing for some who prefer to be mobile free. definitely we struggled.
we were also lead to believe that the river is right to next to the cottage from the pics on the website. Actually this cottage was atleat 300 yards away from the river.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Still looking for a hotel?
Travelers also viewed these Lerryn hotels
Collon Barton 4.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
View all 0 hotels in Lerryn, ranked by popularity

Been to Puddleduck Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puddleduck Cottage

Address: 3 Fore Street, Lerryn PL22 0PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lerryn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Lerryn
Also Known As:
Puddleduck Cottage Lerryn, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puddleduck Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Puddleduck Cottage to your Saves list