We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good people!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Devonport Inn

Devonport Inn
The Cleave, Kingsand PL10 1NF, England
01752822869
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Kingsand
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food, good people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We arrived later that hoped for our reservation and there were no problems. There had been a heavy storm that day and the water had approached the front door of the restaurant. We saw pebbles upon entering. The 4 our us enjoyed a lovely bottle of wine with our delicious food choices. We started with a Camembert, fresh bread and salad to start and then enjoyed the lamb, beef and muscles. We were enjoying our time so much we stayed and enjoyed a chat with the locals by the fire and had a beer each. The staff was friendly and the atmosphere very welcoming.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    55
    21
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“nice beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We hadnt been here for awhile and wanted to have a look at the storm damage in Kingsand. Made the trek from Cremyll to KIngsand and back, so was lovely to stop and have a couple of cold beers. Had a good selection of beers, we arrived too late for lunch but have eaten there before and would recommend it. A lovely pub, right next to the beach a good place to stop and watch the world go by

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food and welcoming staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I visited the Devonport Inn half way on a long trek from Cremyll to Kingsand and back again, we'd worked up quite an appetite by the time we made it here and it was great to be welcomed by the staff in such a cosy, comfortable setting.

I opted for a baked Camembert with bread and salad, which was absolutely delicious and just what I needed, the cheese was seasoned with Thyme and garlic and went down a treat. It's a really restful and comforting establishment especially if you've been exerting yourself in the elements outside. I was very happy we found it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Strange menu but always good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Been many times and always great quality food. Sometimes it is hard to choose a main course from the extensive but unusual menu which is certainly french oriented. None the less the food is always very tasty. Braised beef when available is superb.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsand, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stunning food, good service and friendly staff what more do you want!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

We live in kingsand and hadn't eaten there for a while but still as brilliant as it was. Food was excellent, our six year old had nearly eaten half of my mussels as soon as they got to the table :) and if you want a decent cheese board certainly the place to go. Everything was cooked and seasoned perfectly we had duck for our main. Certainly if ever in the village the place to go for the best food round here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devonport Inn also viewed

 

Been to Devonport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devonport Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.