We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Devonport Inn

Devonport Inn
The Cleave, Kingsand PL10 1NF, England
01752822869
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Kingsand
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Lovely food, friendly service and a great atmosphere everything you could want from a pub! Ate here while staying for the weekend after being recommended it and wasn't disappointed!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    60
    22
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Very good food, considerably better than you would expect at most pubs. The menu is of the Gastro pub type, rather than the more normal scampi and chips or chicken in a basket. Unlike several other posts, we found the staff to be perfectly friendly and helpful. The atmosphere in the pub was good and it is obviously very popular.

Great beer too.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Great location over looking the bay at Kingsands,very popular so need to book a table to avoid a long wait

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

I have to agree with some of the other comments about the hit or miss service… we popped in for a couple of pints in the afternoon and the service really wasn't great. Only the most basic interaction, no chat and not even a smile. Maybe the lady was just having a bad day? She wasn't rude or anything, just not very welcoming and enough for us to comment on at the time!
However, when we went back in the evening the service was much more welcoming. As for the food, it was absolutely superb and very good value. It does get busy though, so if you want to eat it would pay to book a table.
Oh, and of course there's the location, right on the beach… lovely!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food,lovely location, staff need hospitality training!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Expect good food here, both from the lunch and dinner menus. They can certainly cook well and trade on this and the location which is second to none. However, staff have obviously not been trained to welcome diners, or how to wait at table. We had booked on a busy evening but no menu was handed out, nor a drink offered and we were pointed to our table by a bored looking girl. Eventually, another member of staff put menus on the table but no drinks were offered. We had to ask for the wine list, for water and to place our order. There were several young female staff, all pleasant enough when approached but were far too busy washing glasses and attending to the drinkers to serve at table. Our main courses were good, including pork belly with an over-salted bubble and sqeak and a pea and herb risotto. We waited a considerable time for this course to be cleared and to catch someone's eye to provide a dessert menu. This was handed out at last but the table still wasn't cleared and we had to go to the bar after a further 40 minutes to ask to place the order! This is quite unacceptable service for the prices charged. We would have had further wine if anyone had come near us. Keeping an eye on the tables appears not to be part of the service here. On previous occasions, we have had complaints from friends and family concerning drinks being banged down on the bar and coffee just not appearing at all. There appears to be a certain arrogance here which at the end of the day comes down to good management of staff. A good chef needs a good supporting staff but they seem to rely on the popularity of the location and the fact that the other venues in this village are pretty dire.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devonport Inn also viewed

 

Been to Devonport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devonport Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.